We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Pencarrow”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pencarrow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pencarrow
Ranked #37 of 45 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Doylestown
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Pencarrow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Bill and Kari are the ultimate host and hostess. They know what you need, before you do! A glass of wine, fresh baked goodies in the afternoon, breakfasts that are beyond belief! No request is too big, or too small. This was the end of a three week journey through Australia and New Zealand, and we couldn't have found a better way to end our trip. The views from our room were breathtaking, mountains and lake all in one! They are both so knowledgable about the area, and gave us great suggestions on what to do and see. If you are visiting the Queenstown area, I would highly recommend you stop here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lighthouse room, which had a spectacular view from our private sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    1
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
95
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were a party of four traveling only to the south island of New Zealand. The highlight of our 2 week adventure to New Zealand started when we arrived at Pencarrow. We were welcomed by breathtaking views, outstanding accomodations, food and spirits. The
cleanliness of Pencarrow was impeccable along with the beautiful landscapping. The views from our rooms were like looking in a picture book. Bill and Kari know how to pamper you with evening treats, delightful breakfasts and thoughtful suggestions to area restaurants and attractions. You will not go wrong by selecting Pencarrow in Queenstown, NZ.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldrock5983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is our second time to Pencarrow and we literally planned our entire vacation around it. This place is magical.
Bill & Kari are the definition of hosts. They allow you to experience the combination of being spoiled silly while being at a place that is so comfortable you feel as if you were home. What more could you ask for?
You will not worry for a thing whilst staying here- huge breakfasts, reservations for outings, day trip & dinner recommendations- the list is ENDLESS.
I honestly can not say enough about this place. We will be coming back as long as they are there.
Thank you, thank you, thank you for making our NZ trip perfection!

Room Tip: Are you kidding? They are all GORGEOUS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPBAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I traveled to Pencarrow to have a break from the states with a dear friend of mine, and we could not have asked for a more magical experience. Quite frankly, it would be impossible for me to think of something even remotely negative about our time at Pencarrow, and I left New Zealand wishing we had stayed longer with Bill and Kari. They are impeccable hosts. You immediately feel as though you have been part of their family, all while receiving every amenity of a five star hotel. It is the best of both worlds! I stayed in the Silver Fern suite, and there were always gorgeous fresh flowers in my room. Not to mention how clean everything was on the entire property. Everything Bill and Kari do has some sort of personal touch to it. It feels like the world revolves around you for a few days! And the views: no picture or words do justice to where this bed and breakfast is situated. It is truly breathtaking. I could not recommend Pencarrow enough. Go!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pp656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

From the moment you get out and look at the panoramic view and are greeted by Bill and Kari, you know that you have arrived somewhere special. My suite (Wakatipu Gold) had everything imaginable, and I especially enjoyed the native birds outside my window. An innovative and changing breakfast menu with a surprisingly creative presentation started each day off perfectly. This place has the details and service you would find at a Four Seasons with so many extras that most other hotels would charge for. Be sure to take their advice on restaurants. We loved Amisfield and Fishbone. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were referred to Pencarrow by our travel agent, a New Zealand specialist. Wow! It was so much better than we were even led to believe. The setting is a hillside just out of town along the lake. The views are tremendous. Our room was gorgeous and lacked for nothing. Exceptionally clean, modern and everything we needed and more. The TripAdvisor photos don't do it justice. Everything from the fully appointed kitchen to the bath with its sheepskin rug were over the top. Bill and Kari, the owners and hosts, gave us the best attention and service of any accommodation I have ever stayed in, not just in New Zealand. Truly top-notch southern hospitality (they are from Texas). Kari's breakfasts were too much - literally, we could not eat all of the delicious courses. Bill went out of his way everyday for us, including picking us up at the airport. We stayed three wonderful nights. Thank you for making our stay so magical. We will treasure our Pencarrow memories forever, or at least until we return again!

Room Tip: There are only four rooms or so; you can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anahola, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The perfect spot for enjoying all the attractions of the Queenstown region. Bill and Kari are delightful hosts and great sources of information about the area. They have an extensive library of "things to do" and are more than happy to book excursions to Milford Sound, arrange chauffeured wine tours, or book a table at one the areas great restaurants.
Speaking of wine, Central Otago which is minutes away from Pencarrow, is recognized as one of the top pinot noir regions in the world. March and April are the time to be there when wine festivals abound.
Start your day with Kari's remarkable breakfast feast. It is 5 Star Michelin quality. End it by sitting in front of the outdoor fire place sipping a pinot from Bill's extensive wine cellar or open up that luscious Mt. Difficulty you brought home from your day in the vineyards.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hidden Lodge
Hidden Lodge
#12 of 45 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cherish Bed and Breakfast
Cherish Bed and Breakfast
#35 of 45 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Asure Queenstown Gateway Apartments
2.0 mi away
Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast
12.9 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#3 of 45 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencarrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencarrow

Property: Pencarrow
Address: 678 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pencarrow 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencarrow is an all-suite country estate 2 miles from Queenstown offering 4 acres of elegance with stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables. Suites have sitting room, free WiFi (iPads in every suite), writing desk, magazines/books, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities, homemade sweets, fresh flowers, Flat Screens and Sky (cable) television, iPod docking stations, direct-dial phones, iron/ironing board. En-suites equipped with oversized jet spa bath, separate shower, double vanity, heated towel rail, under-tile heating, hair dryer, bathrobes, slippers, guest amenity basket. Outdoors many sitting decks/patios, fireplace, spa pool, waterfall, tree, plant, and flower species. Indoors plenty of space and privacy. Guest lounge/bar with fireplace, concierge/library room, snooker/games room, incredible views. Breakfast is a 4 course full on affair each morning at your personally requested time. Welcome gift, afternoon “sweet in the suite”, drinks/mini bar, and all taxes included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pencarrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing