We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Queenstown NZ summer stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Browns Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
1 review
“Excellent Queenstown NZ summer stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Gillian was welcoming and eager to help with restaurant recommendations and tips. Donald serves an outstanding breakfast. Our room was comfortable and beautiful with spectacular views. Elegant decor instead of frumpy over-decorating or sterile minimalism. Highly recommend, but it is pricey.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and our decor is to your liking, do come visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    126
    37
    8
    3
See reviews for
66
519
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have stayed at Brown's Boutique on four different occasions. The views are spectacular and the rooms are always clean, comfortable and soothing. Donald and Gillian are always eager to help with dinner recommendations and reservations and to recommend activities for the area. Breakfast is always delicious. The location is fantastic...just a short walk to the center of town. It is my favorite place to stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PammySue52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you Pam for your great review. We think you have the record for the most number of stays for an international visitor! We are just delighted you choose to come back again and hope each time you enjoy your visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Excellent small hotel very close to downtown but a few blocks from the madness. Clean, roomy, with very helpful hosts. It was pricy for what we got compared to other 4 star hotels elsewhere in New Zealand but much of Queenstown seems more expensive that the rest of New Zealand. Only other quibble is that there was a loud party a block away the first night, which is common for Queenstown on a 4 day holiday weekend. Nevertheless it is perhaps two blocks from the busier tourist areas.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write your recent review. We appreciate your kind words, sorry about party noise but it was our National celebration day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

A lovely small hotel, only 5 minutes walk from the centre of town. Rooms were quiet with a side view to the lake. Some nice touches, like complementary juice in your fridge and home made biscuits. Breakfast was delicious. Hosts were very helpful and gave good recommendations for eating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiJim_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Its a long way from Scotland but we are pleased you had a good time in Queenstown. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife and I started our honeymoon in Queenstown. It's a must-see city and we are so happy we spent 3 nights at Brown's Boutique Hotel.

I had done tons of research on Queenstown hotels and decided to go with BBH. Everything was amazing. Key takeaways for me:

- Room was always clean; had a great view from the pretty back patio; AWESOME location - easy walking distance to center of town but no problems at all with noise at night.
- Donald made a wonderful breakfast every morning - he's a superb chef
- Gillian was EXTREMELY helpful when it comes to all recommendations

Regarding that last point, I had done my homework but did not make too many reservations in advance and this turned out to be the right move. She really guided us in the right direction when it came to restaurants, reservations for daytime activities, cruise line for a trip to Doubtful Sound, etc.

The best part about staying here is that they really care about your experience. Don't underestimate how important that is since you will likely be visiting Queenstown for a 'long' day of traveling and will want a great experience every morning and evening. I don't leave many reviews of TripAdvisor but want people to know that this is a true five star accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to post such a kind review. It is quite humbling to receive such kind words, thank you so much. We are delighted you had a nice experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

This was a return visit for us, but this time we also took my parents who were visiting from the UK. They loved it just as much as we do. Everything is just perfect. Donald and Gillian are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are to die for.

I said it last time and I'll say it again - we will be back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mimo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Once again, thank you so much for coming back to stay, and bringing your parents as well!
We enjoyed having you all and look forward to welcoming you back once more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very nice accommodation, well situated for downtown Queenstown.

Welcomed and shown to our very nice bedroom with a balcony and view of town and mountains.

Very nice breakfast served in a lovely dining room and shared with our fellow guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmunro28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review. It is really helpful to have our guests say such nice things about their visit. It keeps us on our toes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Boutique Hotel

Property: Browns Boutique Hotel
Address: 26 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly comfortable European inspired Bed & Breakfast is perfect Queenstown accommodation for your next vacation or ski holiday combining the intimate, timeless feel with genuine New Zealand hospitality. Free Wifi, Cooked/Continental breakfast, Sweeping Remarkables mountain views, Free off-street parking, Heated ski storage/drying room, Cosy lounge with open fire, Library /DVD selection, Outdoor courtyard with fireplace, Outdoor giant chess, Central heating, Home baked biscuits and sweets, SuperKing sized beds, Ensuite bathrooms, Complimentary fresh milk, water and fruit juice, LCD flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Browns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Browns Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing