We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cozy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Browns Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cozy hotel”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

An excellent reception by Isura, an employee at this lovely hotel. It provides a peaceful setting in walking distance of the town center. Outstanding and extensive breakfast. The owners, Gillian and Donald, are helpful with advice concerning things to see. We had dinner at "Rata", expensive,but a must. Michelin star- quality ! When in Queenstown, this friendly hotel is the ideal residence.

Patrick and Chris Vanhelmont-Meyers from Belgium

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Vanhelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hey Patrick and Chris, thanks so much for your kind review, our staff are thrilled you liked your reception! It makes our day with reviews like yours, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    128
    37
    8
    3
See reviews for
66
520
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Expensive and well reviewed, we had high expectations of Brown's Boutique Hotel, which, sadly, were not met. Our stay started badly with our promised top floor (of two) room not given to us. The owners were away, which was a pity as they are clearly a major asset to the hotel, and the stand-in team were disinterested (even tried to persuade us that the views were better from the lower floor!).

The rooms are tired, both beds (we stayed in two rooms) uncomfortable and concave. In the case of our first room (No 4), the plumbing from an adjoining room woke us up repeatedly. The bathroom ventilator was also very annoying, noisy and on a timer. the doors cannot be closed quietly. The room was clean and there were some nice touches (biscuits), gaps (no mini bar) and let downs (100% polyester gowns).

Breakfasts are communal, which can work well, but there is a high degree of risk. The food was fine, although we have fared better elsewhere and there was a notable lack of fresh fruit (commented on elsewhere), alleviated by management giving my wife a banana on request.

Parking in the hotel forecourt is limited to four cars (five if considerately parked) so some guests have to park on the fairly crowded street.

The hotel's location is up quite a steep climb above the town centre, so its night time noise is muted. It is a fairly densely populated area, however, and we were disturbed by noisy neighbours on one evening.

Overall, it is overdue for refurbishment. Until that happens, if you do choose to stay there, opt for the top floor and rooms closest to the lake. Avoid No.4. During our trip to NZ, we stayed at Bluestone on George in Dunedin. We suggest that the owners of Browns visit it to see what a really good hotel looks like.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowralman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Oh dear, and we have had such lovely reviews!

We are sorry we were not here to look after you but we do have to re-charge our batteries sometimes. Sadly often relief managers just don't have the same passion as an owner/operator does and for that we can only apologise.
Interesting comments on the various aspects of our rooms and other parts of the property. Obviously we don't agree that our rooms are "tired". Everybody has different expectations and in choosing a property to stay at, decisions are often made from websites, photographs and other travellers reviews. Obviously our style did not suit you and that is absolutely your choice.

We often stay in the Dunedin motel you mention ourselves (its not a hotel) and it is very new, a modern styled self catering property, simply put, it cannot be compared to our classic hosted style of property.

Not sure what is risky about a communal breakfast which incidentally always has fresh fruit every day, it always is a happy time for guests to share experiences. Occasionally we see guests who do not appear to be at totally at ease with this but in the main most love it. There are times when the level of "repartee" in the dining room is so high we can hardly hear ourselves think in the kitchen!

But in the end all we can do is refer readers to previous and later reviews to get a more balanced picture of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful vacation this fall in Queenstown. The Brown's Botique Hotel was terrific; clean and well situated. The owners, Jillian and Donald were outstanding hosts, and offered great breakfasts every morning. Don't think you can find a better place to spend time in this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thanks for your recent review Ken, its great to read that our guests have a great time with us, it makes our job so much easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Gillian and Donald are very warn hosts indeed. Very helpful to help us fill our 2 day visit to Queenstown. Of particular note about Brown's is the warmth, helpfulness and breakfast sittings combined with the little bit of anonymity of a hotel. Some of our B&B experiences, although nice, were just a bit too "close" for us. Brown's is not that way. If you want company, they are there for you -- but, if you want to get a bit away, that is the way the hotel is laid out. It worked for us perfectly.
Easy walking distance from city center, and 15 minutes to the airport, the place is beautiful and very well kept. The breakfasts were outstanding. Everything was great. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichB89600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Such a kind review thank you so much. We are always thrilled when our guests say such nice things about the hotel, and the town. We are always available for as much or as little attention as our guests need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights this month and came to the conclusion what a wonderful friendly place to stay, cant fault the accomdation or the lovely breakfast cooked in the morning. Set very close to the centre of the town but just beware the hill. Fabulous time so enjoyable an area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you Norman for your kind comments, so pleased we met your expectations, its a long way from the UK but great that you enjoyed your time in Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I am concerned that all of the good reviews of this establishment will make it harder to secure a booking on our next visit to Queenstown. However, the reviews are justified. The hotel is perfectly situated, well maintained, very comfortable and has the best views. Jillian and Donald are welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is terrific - you will start each day with a full and contented feeling. We are looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CondaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
We are delighted you found our hotel to your liking and thank you for your recent review. Our Australian guests are such fun sporting discussions at breakfast are a highlight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
290 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The outside appearance of this B & B is one of an Italian villa. The inside is generic European and very attractive.Every room has a balcony and a great view of Queenstown and the lake. POSSIBLY THE CLEANEST ROOM I HAVE EVER STAYED IN. Location is close to town, but far enough away from the noise of the young backpackers who frequent this town. Proprietors Gillian and Donald really care that their guests are satisfied and they genuinely love to help out with recommendations and arrangements for activities and tours. We stayed three nights in February. Would definitely return to Brown's.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank activenretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
From Chicago to Queenstown we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.
Cleanliness is our number one priority at all times and we are pleased you noted that.
So heartening for our staff to read such a nice review, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Boutique Hotel

Property: Browns Boutique Hotel
Address: 26 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly comfortable European inspired Bed & Breakfast is perfect Queenstown accommodation for your next vacation or ski holiday combining the intimate, timeless feel with genuine New Zealand hospitality. Free Wifi, Cooked/Continental breakfast, Sweeping Remarkables mountain views, Free off-street parking, Heated ski storage/drying room, Cosy lounge with open fire, Library /DVD selection, Outdoor courtyard with fireplace, Outdoor giant chess, Central heating, Home baked biscuits and sweets, SuperKing sized beds, Ensuite bathrooms, Complimentary fresh milk, water and fruit juice, LCD flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Browns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Browns Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing