We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Browns Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Very nice hotel at a reasonable cost. The hosts were nice, the room was big and the breakfasts were just great. 5 min walk to city center. Free parking and free wireless internett. Couldn`t have been better!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernt_ernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2009

10 out of 10 for this great hotel. Our lovely room was on the top floor & was warm & cosy. It had great views over the mountains & lake. The breakfast was yummy and the home made biscuits left in our room & the lounge were simply delicious. The owners Gillian & Donald were very helpful with lots of good local advice. The decor is also very stylish. All in all a brilliant place to stay in Queenstown. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royandangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

All of the good things about this gorgous little B&B hotel could not fit into this review. Owners are friendly and courteous; dedicated to making one's stay the best. Location is right on the edge of downtown Queenstown. Rooms were impeccable, breakfasts were elegantly done. Great eating establishments are minutes walking distance away, as well as are the adventure and snow sports centers. Parking was a bit tight, but "Ginny", as I remember her name, acutually parked the car for us. Free internet service from the parlor, which incidentally was another elegant room to relax in in front of the fire place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffry P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

The warmth of a B & B with the intimacy and special touches of a boutique hotel. Very reasonably priced. Perfect location. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming. We especially looked forward to the communal breakfasts in the morning when we could exchange our sightseeing tips and plans for the day over delicious breakfasts. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seatim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Every place has good and bad points, this was no exception. However, for me, the bathroom layout drove and the so-called internet access drove me so nuts that I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it. This is the only accomodation in New Zealand we stayed at that I wouldn't recommend.

If found the bedroom large, the bed comfy etc. The bathroom was huge too. Then the wheels came off. That cute sink? No counter space to put your HBA bag on. The shower was so small and narrow that my feet didn't actually fit in the bottom of the tub (see photos of my shoes -- they aren't on the bottom of the tub). Then there was the stupid 1/2 piece of glass for a shower "curtain." We stayed two nights neither morning could either of us take a shower without flooding the floor. Then see the nice heated towel rack, every other place had? Yea I didn't either -- there was no place to hang a towel before or after your shower. Of course since the towels were all soaked from the water on the floor, you didn't really need to hang it up after the shower.

The internet was also pretty bizzare. The wireless didn't work (first time that happened on the trip). So they gave us a hardwired connection that plugged into the electrical outlet. It did not make our computer happy so we quickly didn't use that.

It was also sock the tourists on laundry. They said they did it. We didn't ask the price -- and got charged $25NZ for a load.

The parking was also extremely limited and hard to get in and out of.

Breakfast was tasty, location was good, everything was clean, and as I said the room size was excellent but didn't overcome the other issues.

We also didn't much care for Queenstown as a destination. There are many better places to stay in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IndiTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We spent three nights here in July 2009 and loved it. The hotel and the room were cosy and stylish, and the little extras---a balcony with a view of the mountains and lake, homemade cookies, juice, bath salts, DVDs---made it extra special. Donald and Gillian were great hosts, and the cooked breakfasts were of restaurant-quality. A private path makes a quick short-cut to the town centre. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neverkissacactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for 5 nights while visiting Queenstown in July 2009, Gillian and Donald (the owners) are fantastic and very helpful with everything from restaurant recommendations to sites to see. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated with nice big bathrooms and most importantly a good shower. The cooked brekky is great and there is fruit and biscuits to nibble on during the day.
The hotel is very central, just a 2 minute walk to Shotover st. (where all the action is).
Cannot recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 59 in Queenstown
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Boutique Hotel

Address: 26 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £152 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly comfortable European inspired Bed & Breakfast is perfect Queenstown accommodation for your next vacation or ski holiday combining the intimate, timeless feel with genuine New Zealand hospitality. Free Wifi, Cooked/Continental breakfast, Sweeping Remarkables mountain views, Free off-street parking, Heated ski storage/drying room, Cosy lounge with open fire, Library /DVD selection, Outdoor courtyard with fireplace, Outdoor giant chess, Central heating, Home baked biscuits and sweets, SuperKing sized beds, Ensuite bathrooms, Complimentary fresh milk, water and fruit juice, LCD flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Browns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Browns Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing