We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience Again at Brown's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Browns Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We love this place. We stayed here last year at the end of our trip around NZ and decided to stay here again this year before we flew off home. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Gillian and Donald have created an accommodation which excels in every area a traveler appreciates. They themselves are congenial and knowledgeable hosts and are willing to do whatever they can to ensure that their guests have the best experience of Queenstown. They willingly shared their knowledge of restaurants, sights, attractions, activities and tours and never steered us wrong.

The property is situated a short walk from town so guests have the convenience of Queenstown without the bustle and noise at night. Off street parking is available, but it is tight. We have had the same room twice (#10) on the top floor at the end which has stunning views of Queenstown, the Remarkables and fabulous sunsets. The rooms are generously sized, immaculate, and beautifully and comfortably appointed. The bathrooms are spacious and modern. It would be nice to have more counter space to put toiletries.

Continental as well as cooked to order breakfasts are provided and the food is excellent. The dining room is set with large tables so that guests are able to mingle and chat and share traveling experiences.

The lounge is comfortable with a fireplace, free internet access and plenty of books, magazines and newspapers for reading and relaxing.

We highly recommend Brown's as a wonderful place to stay to add to your enjoyment of all that Queenstown has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbiehpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2010

Great small hotel right up the hill from the main shopping area in Queenstown. Up a small hill in a quiet area. Very convenient, five minute walk into town. Rooms were very clean, roomy with nice views of Queenstown. Donald and Gillian take good care of you! Highly recommend, great small hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimiloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We chose Browns simply to fit in with walking the Milford track. Gillian and Donald made that aspect a doddle - they're used to having people leave a car and all their gear behind and return later. What a pity we didn't plan to stay longer with them and enjoy the quiet country house atmosphere of their charming little hotel, just above the town. Not cheap, but you are enjoying quality and experience. When you come back at the end from the Ultimate Hikes HQ, get a car to carry the plastic sacks with all your gear. It's not far, but without the 40 litre sack, the uphill walk will just about kill you!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SXDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We stayed two nights in Queenstown at Brown's Botique. Gillian and Donald were very accomodating helping us with our early morning trip to Milford Sound. Since we were too early for breakfast they gave us food for the morning. The room was nice with a great view of the Remarkables and lots of skydivers floating down overhead from the mountain alongside.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Squared_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

I would highly recommend Browns Boutique Hotel for overseas and nz tourists alike. Excellent in all respects. Wonderful hosts with a great knowledge of local events and places of interest.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayeBWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

best place for completing an ultimate hikes trip. very close to the centre of town. Gillian and Donald are the best hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneFreddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

This a really nice place in a fabulous part of the world. The owners were so friendly--really made us feel at home. They made great dinner suggestions, and helped us arrange tours. It was a very comfortable place to spend a few days. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 59 in Queenstown
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Boutique Hotel

Address: 26 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £151 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly comfortable European inspired Bed & Breakfast is perfect Queenstown accommodation for your next vacation or ski holiday combining the intimate, timeless feel with genuine New Zealand hospitality. Free Wifi, Cooked/Continental breakfast, Sweeping Remarkables mountain views, Free off-street parking, Heated ski storage/drying room, Cosy lounge with open fire, Library /DVD selection, Outdoor courtyard with fireplace, Outdoor giant chess, Central heating, Home baked biscuits and sweets, SuperKing sized beds, Ensuite bathrooms, Complimentary fresh milk, water and fruit juice, LCD flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Browns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Browns Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing