We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific small hotel with wonderful owner-hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Browns Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael
Level Contributor
150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Terrific small hotel with wonderful owner-hosts”
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Our 2011 stay at Browns reaffirmed that this is a graciously and beautifully run small hotel. Donald and Gillian - the owners - are wonderful hosts - welcoming, informative and
considerate - with wry senses of humor (that are probably essential in their business!). The nine rooms are pretty much identical with views of the town and mountains beyond. Breakfast is offered over a two-hour window so guests don't all have to report in at the same time! A range of menu items are always on offer and are cooked to order and are a delicious start to the day. Gillian especially is a mine of local information but never under-estimate Donald's capacity to add a perspective or two or three! This is a terrific small hotel, made terrific by its owner-hosts!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickmacs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    126
    37
    8
    3
See reviews for
66
519
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

My wife an I stayed two nights at this hotel. Our expectation were high, after seeing the website and the pictures.

In general, we believe this is a nice location to stay. The people that manage the hotel for the owners are friendly and helpful. The breakfast was tasty. The cooked options are limited, but very well served. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The wireless internet works fine in the lounge, the rooms and even on the nice terrace.

The points form improvement, as usual our very personal opinion: The room is rather small for these kind of hotels. The bathroom had the base necessities, but options such as a towelrack or space to put personal items was not there. Even with the rooms to the balcony closed, some noise from partying Queenstown in the evening, as well as the kids next door playing in he day, were creating noise in the room. A little more isolation and a liitle more look for detail in the room would make this an excellent location. Most other B&B's we have stayed in that have a beach so nearby, provide beach towels, not this one.

The location: Trought the private walkway, the city center, the beach and the major attractions are within blocks from the hotel. The manager of the hotel was knowledgeable about the places to eat and where to go, and very helpful in making reservations. There is less private parking than there are rooms, but enough place in the street to park the car.

So overall we think this to be a good to very good place to stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koenbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

If you like small, private hotels with hosts who genuinely care about their guests and lovely, comfortable rooms with views, Browns is the place for you in Queenstown. I was quite worn out after the Milford Track trek and Donald and Gillian were genuinely concerned about me. Their hotel is fastidious and very pleasantly decorated; our room had just been redone. The view from our room was breathtaking, with the mountains and the lake just right there. Breakfast is cooked to order with multiple options each morning. Downtown Queensland is easy walking distance, yet Browns feels set apart and is very quiet. I would not consider staying anywhere else on a return trip to Queenstown. Donald and Gillian are excellent sources of advice about restaurants. Six stars out of five for Browns. Cheers, K&P

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandstoneSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
160 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

pros:
- location: just a short walk to the city centre and the lake
- nice guests, with whom you share a big breakfast table
- view towards the lake from the room's mini balcony

cons:
- value for money for over 200 EUR could be far better, we would not book it again
- very old PC for Internet use
- room: spacious, but very old (furniture, carpet floor, ...), mattress quality could be better; the target groups are definitely not couples, but older and/or retired tourists

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitzideluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us in October 2010.
The first stage of our upgrade of the hotel was completed by December 2010 featuring a new soft toned décor throughout all the guest rooms including the wall colour, new carpets, new curtains, euro pillows and LCD TV’s. Stage two starts in 2011 with an upgrade of some furniture.
Our guest computer is now an Apple Mac, but the real bonus for guests is free wifi internet access throughout the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

This was our second visit to Brown's. My wife and I had stayed there five years ago and were so impressed, we wanted to revisit Brown's again with our son. Doug and Gillian arranged a room with three beds for us. Brown's is a little bit of Europe just blocks from the excitement of the main streets of Queenstown and Steamers Warf. It's a short stroll (five minutes) to the nightlife or to the gondola. The rooms are spacious and the bath's are big and luxurious. Staff are always there to help with arranging dinner reservations or provide feedback from other guests on the number of extreme adventures that are available only in Queenstown. On this three night visit, we had plenty of opportunities to interact with the owners and staff and I have only praise. The breakfasts are tasty and the living room is warm and comfy and the perfect place to relax after a day zlpline, bungie, or whatever else you'll do.

Brown's is moderately expensive, but the service is so very good, that the value received is apparent from the time you check-in to the time you depart. If we're lucky enough to return to Queenstown, there's only one place we'd stay, and that's Brown's.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoMillionMiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2010

This small family owned hotel is gem. The owners are friendly and welcoming, the hotel spotless throughout, and the location (200m from the town centre) is ideal. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and slightly quirky in character, with various European influences apparent on the decor. We only stayed one night while on a driving tour, but would happily have stayed longer. The breakfast was excellent, fine ingredients beautifully cooked and presented. I have read the negative review placed recently and cannot believe it refers to the same place. If you want something just a little different but still want to be well looked after, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiefsfollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

New carpets recently installed and they were still off-gassing. When we mentioned this to the caretaker, he told us it was not a big deal. For $300 per night, we did think breathing in toxic fumes was a big deal. Nice views from the room and the balcony. Please know that the sounds of the youth having fun in the downtown area come right up to the rooms at Brown's Boutique and you will hear them while trying to sleep. Breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemdon, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
It it always disappointing read such negative reviews. We have been rolling out a refurbishment programme this year including new carpets in all rooms. The particular room the guests stayed in has had the carpet down for over 7 months and any residual installation odour has long gone. These carpets are pure New Zealand wool and cannot be toxic in any way. Any evening noise from the town centre is immediately eliminated by simply closing the double-glazed french doors. Our understanding from our relief managers was that despite being offered a full breakfast choice, one of the couple declined it all whilst the other enjoyed it even complimenting the chef. We trust readers will gain a more balanced picture of our business by reading all the other wonderful reviews our satisfied guests have so kindly placed on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Boutique Hotel

Property: Browns Boutique Hotel
Address: 26 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly comfortable European inspired Bed & Breakfast is perfect Queenstown accommodation for your next vacation or ski holiday combining the intimate, timeless feel with genuine New Zealand hospitality. Free Wifi, Cooked/Continental breakfast, Sweeping Remarkables mountain views, Free off-street parking, Heated ski storage/drying room, Cosy lounge with open fire, Library /DVD selection, Outdoor courtyard with fireplace, Outdoor giant chess, Central heating, Home baked biscuits and sweets, SuperKing sized beds, Ensuite bathrooms, Complimentary fresh milk, water and fruit juice, LCD flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Browns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Browns Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing