We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Q Box Motorhome Park
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I would not say it is the best camp site in NZ but was very cheap, had good hot showers, kitchen facilities were basic but worked and the common area had a few plugs where you could charge things. close to the city center too maybe 7 minute walk.
it is basically the backpackers campsite. would recommend it for people on a budget

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoffog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Q Box Motorhome Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here just two nights and already it felt kinda like home!! A very relaxed campsite, friendly staff, good value for money with clean kitchen, toilets and showers. The views were pretty gorgeous too and I loved the river through the centre....so tranquil.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckyleprechaun07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week in our rented campervan! 10min walk into town, liquor stores very close and supermarket 5 min walk away. Nice kitchen and lounge area. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely BBQ area and the gas BBQ is free to use! Good value for money. There's a fire pit which is great to have social drinks around and warm up in the night. Made lots of friends of all ages and backgrounds. There's a stream running through the middle of the site which is nice. Absolutely great site would definitely stay again! :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Location wise, Qbox is situated right in the heart of Queenstown. only about 20mins walk to the town. The facilities are basic but we get all we need here. The price is also reasonable (NZD65 for 5 adults).

The owner (Uncle Pete, as we called him), is a very nice man and he helped us in any way he could. Even, he lent us the extension wire for the motorhome since ours was quite short and could not reach the power outlet.

All in all, it is a valeu-for-money property. If you are looking for something more luxurious, you would not be staying in a motorhome, would you? (or you can opt for Top 10 holiday park next to Queenstown cemetery & Skyline Gondola Station)

Room Tip: Those powered sites near the reception are a little bit slanted. Go around and find a really flat on...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank am1097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Unlike the other camper van options in the centre of Queenstown, the Q Box is about 5 mins drive from the town centre and has a gorgeous view of the hills. The main benefit however is that it's location helps reduce the crowds slightly during the off season and therefore, unlike the other sites, it is not like staying in a car park and there is adequate space between the vans, however I'm sure this may not always be the case in peak season.

The onsite facilities include a kitchen, lounge room and fantastic showers and toilets (shower pressure and temp was as good as being at home!). There is also internet available (at a small price) with good signal across the whole site.

We would definitely stay at Q Box again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here in our 4 berth campervan with 2 preschoolers for one night. It was only $35 for 2 adults, plus $10 for our 2 children. This was by far the cheapest powered sites in Queenstown Central - we didn't want to pay $80 for the 4 of us just for a powered site overnight!
The facilities were all clean - the showers were included in the price - and were hot with awesome pressure! The communal lounge was cosy and had comfy couches to hang out or watch tv.
Our 2 girls loved the little treehouse we parked next to! No rush to leave in the morning with a checkout of 11am.

Room Tip: We could choose where we chose to park up. All are convienient to the shared facilities.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Really liked this place. stream runs through the property which gives a really nice aspect.
quite handy to town.about a 10 minute walk.
Would recommend it for any motor home. Plenty of space. Power, good amenities.
wifi available.
Can book attractions

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank panacea9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.9 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 58 in Queenstown
631 reviews
2.5 mi away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Queenstown Holiday Park & Motel Creeksyde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q Box Motorhome Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Box Motorhome Park

Address: 21 Bowen Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: £40 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Q Box Motorhome Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing