We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some where to park your van”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Q Box Motorhome Park
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Some where to park your van”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed 2 night the nights we stayed toilets and showers where clean the woffers staying there where really nice. We didn't use the kitchen or dinner room so not sure of what they are like.
The second night we where there people had music pumping at 11pm no management put a stop to it after quite a while an elderly camper man vent over and told them to turn it off very backpacker feeling would be so much better if they where more stricked as it's not a bad set up.
Easy to walk into Main Street of town and fresh choice which it the supermarket only take 10mins max as it's all down hill. Taxi cost $10 to get dropped back all in all would stay again but would be nice to have someone to control what's happening late at night

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    13
    6
    9
    11
See reviews for
5
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
brisbane, australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Everything was unbelievably dirty and when I say unbelievability dirty, I mean that when we sat down at the only clean(ish) table in the dining space a freaking rat ran past our feet! The kitchen was a total mess - clearly nobody cleaned up after themselves and the dining/lounge room had empty beer bottles and mess on every table. The camping grounds were muddy (which can't really be helped). In the morning we actually went to complain and there was a sign on the door saying they'd return in 30 minutes, we waited an hour before decided to no longer bother.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tslashla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff National Park, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

If you want to camp within Queenstown for a decent price, Q box is a cool place to stay!
The place features neat shipping container amenity buildings that house a kitchen, fridges/freezers, TV/living area, coin-operated laundry, shared but gender separated bathrooms and shower facilities. It also has a BBQ and outdoor seating area as well as a fire pit.
The WiFi is free for the first day.
The cleanliness of the facilities is at the whim of the guests as some people choose to clean up after themselves and many don't, although staff do clean in the morning.
Staff are helpful and full of information. This place is better suited for campervans or trailers but there is grass space to set up small tents. It is all one open space so there is no sound or privacy barrier between sites.
All in all, this is a very social place. If you enjoy chilling in the common area or mingling with other guests its a cool place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fofobraselio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Not sure where to start. Facilities are average at best. We showed up late in the afternoon and staff was only interested in filling spots. When I asked about the ammenities, the response was "look, do you want to stay here or not, spots are filling up". Staff was not around after 8pm and partying and VERY loud music ensued at the fire ring until the early hours of the morning. At 1AM, we moved our campervan from our powered spot to a random spot farther from the noise with no power. When I went to approach staff in the morning, they could not be found. A sign stating "Back in 30 min" was on the door, only they were not back for at least 2 hours when we left. I wish I had taken pictures in the morning of the lounge and kitchen, descriptions don't do it justice. It smelled of stale beer which I can understand because there were people sleeping in the lounge and no room on any flat surface to set anything because there was empty alcohol bottles everywhere. More of a college party scene than a holiday park. It appears that I am one of many people who had similar experiences according to these reviews. Also looks like Q Box Management pays attention to these reviews. Its too bad no action is taken to fix this - this site has great potential due to its location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Easy to find and quick check in. We didn't have to go far to find a spot to put our camper. Just over the stream which was far enough away from the kitchen/ toilet area . Loved that it was simply containers converted to living spaces. The view of mountains was awesome and close to QT. We stayed an extra night. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ema_louise84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I don't often feel obliged to post negative feedback for places that we have stayed, but I feel that our night at Qbox requires such a review.

We arrived late afternoon - having telephoned to reserve a powered site a couple of weeks before - to be told that Qbox does not reserve sites. Despite the conflicting messages we had been told, they managed to find us a site at a time that the park was obviously very busy. The reception staff were particularly unhelpful, and I suspect that they had not been working at the site for very long.

The park - The park itself is an eyesore; essentially a large dusty gravel carpark built on a slope. The entrance from the road is worse than some of the gravel roadends to tramping tracks, with a broken wall and old cars littering the entrance. Good luck finding a site that resembles flat land. Our site was essentially just part of the general gravel road/turnaround area.

Toilets - Awful. Dirty and busy - two sinks in the mens' toilets for the whole park. The disabled toilet was out of order, and the hand dryer had clearly not been replaced/ever fitted. Both washing machines out of order.

Kitchen - Awful. Dirty, smelly and cramped. Dirty pots and pans everywhere. The cockroach in the sink made me glad we were eating out in Queenstown.

Given that Qbox advertises itself as the 'newest campground in Queenstown', it seems like it already requires some significant upgrades to bring it up to an acceptable standard. We should have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbtraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I would not say it is the best camp site in NZ but was very cheap, had good hot showers, kitchen facilities were basic but worked and the common area had a few plugs where you could charge things. close to the city center too maybe 7 minute walk.
it is basically the backpackers campsite. would recommend it for people on a budget

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoffog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Queenstown Holiday Park & Motel Creeksyde
0.5 mi away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#76 of 91 in Queenstown
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q Box Motorhome Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Box Motorhome Park

Property: Q Box Motorhome Park
Address: 21 Bowen Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 91 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing