We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

3,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    1,433
    346
    76
    30
See reviews for
708
1,419
205
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Location on lakefront lifts this hotel to higher standard...good staff...food actually pretty good..especially deserts...rooms maybe missing wow factor...but it is a 4 star so great for what it is...nice clean...good service..so good value

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMgt, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Bryan S,

Thanks for your review of our hotel. It's always nice to read that our guests have enjoyed the hotel and it's superior location near the lakefront.

It's great to read that you enjoyed the food, and in particular the desserts - I agree, they are pretty amazing and our Chef's do a fantastic job.

Thanks again and we wish you a Happy New Year.

Sam Sherer
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our 7 night stay here was fine. We were very disappointed in the way our bed was made up. The bottom sheet was not fitted nor was it properly secured so every night we had to make our bed so we weren't sleeping on the mattress cover. We were also disappointed that the hotel doesn't offer an a la carte breakfast either in the restaurant or via room service. Fortunately, there are a number of places outside of the hotel where you can get breakfast but on mornings when we had early morning pick-ups scheduled, it would have been nice to not have been able to eat in the hotel. Having to pay for a full buffet breakfast when all we wanted was coffee and a piece of toast is ridiculous. We also found the lobby busy and at times, chaotic, given the number of large tour groups who often milled in the lobby. If I returned to Queenstown, I would stay elsewhere even if it were a bit more money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jam2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMgt, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Jam2005,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel following from your stay with us in December.

With relation to how your bed was made, I'll certainly pass on your feedback to our Executive Housekeeper as this seems to be an oversight to how we should be making our beds, please accept our apologies for this.

We do have alternative breakfast offerings available to our guests, unfortunately we don't offer an a la carte option as most mornings we serve hundreds of people. We do though have express breakfasts, continental as well as full breakfasts to suit everyone. It seems like in this case you were in need of one of our express breakfasts.

December and January are busy summer months for not only our hotel but for Queenstown and our hotel is running at full capacity over this time and often the lobby can be extremely busy, something you might find at similar hotels in town as well.

Sam Sherer
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Many thanks to Novotel for the wonderful accommodation. We found the staff very helpful and easy to deal with. Restaurant and bar highly reccommended and comfortable room/bed. Fantastic location with everything you need with in a minutes walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 50Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMgt, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear 50Susan,

Thanks for the glowing review of the hotel and for taking the time to write your first review on Tripadvisor!

It's great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and that you found our staff helpful and friendly - I'll definitely pass on the feedback to them as they enjoy knowing they've made a difference!

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future given you live so close.

Sam Sherer
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We went to queenstown in Dec 2013 and stayed here for couple of nights. This hotel is very friendly, nicely located with cozy and clean rooms. It didn't have free wifi, but couple of computers near reception areas for our needs.We got a room with 2 queens and Kids were comfortable too.
The Hotel concierge was very helpful and had answers to all our questions. We took Milford sound Tour Bus which picked us up from front of this Hotel.
We did not try to Breakfast buffet.
Every thing is close by and one can go/get everywhere by foot.
One comment we had was, we didn't see exhaust in the Bathroom, so that was a little wrinkle to our stay.
Will recommend staying here and would stay again! Happy vacationing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashprag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMgt, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear ashprag,

Thanks for your positive review of the hotel.

It's always a pleasure to read when our guests enjoy their stay with us, it's great to read you found the staff to be helpful and you were able to enjoy our location being so close to the town center.

We trust you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in NZ!

Sam Sherer
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We just returned form 7 nights staying at this hotel. Our action packed trip was altered at the last minute due to my partners unexpected surgery so we ended up spending a lot more time in Queenstown and the hotel itself than we had originally planned, It was the perfect choice. A lovely hotel to spend time in...our room looked across the gardens to the mountains. Did not need to hire a car for the week or even use a taxi - we could walk to everything and enjoyed the great restaurants, cafes and all on offer. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking gardens and over to mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelManagement, Director of Sales at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Nicnag
Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your view, our facilities and our ideal location.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Mia McGregor
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and had a great time. The hotel is very comfortable and in a great location, so easy to get around town by foot. And the breakfast buffet was an excellent start to each day. We got a great deal with accommodation & breakfast. The staff were very helpful and happy to help with any requests. Free wifi would have been nice, but not a deal breaker. Just wish the weather had been more cooperative!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMgt, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Zanna W,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us - it's always pleasing to read from someone who has enjoyed their stay like yourself.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings, we're currently making some more improvements so will be even better next time you stay with us!

Hope the weather improved for the rest of your trip - we've certainly had a very slow start to summer!

Thanks again for the review.

Sam Sherer
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Property: Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Address: Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown's iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Queenstown Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
Novotel Gardens Queenstown
Queenstown Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing