We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - beautiful lobby and rose garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent location - beautiful lobby and rose garden”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Especially well located steps from the lake and shops. The lobby is very modern and appealing as is the rose garden. The room was on the main floor (138) and had everything you need although we did find it a little tight fit - mot a lot of leg room based on North American standards but otherwise very acceptable - would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank souriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelManagement, Director of Sales at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Souriz
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Queenstown in the future.
Kind regards
Mia McGregor
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    1,433
    346
    76
    30
See reviews for
707
1,419
205
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great location in QT, comfortable room, friendly staff!
It would be nice to have wifi and parking fee included in the hotel room price without extra charge!
But truly understand that Novotel is running purely as business operations.

Room Tip: Lake side room is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelManagement, Director of Sales at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Peggy C
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location and friendliness of our staff. Peggy, we are pleased to offer 50mb or 30 minutes complimentary WIFI in our lobby for guests as well as a range of paid option in-room. We also have complimentary use of our Mac stations in the lobby.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside.
Kind regards
Mia McGregor
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Don't be fooled when they say you have upgraded and paid for a lake view. . .you only saw the lake if you stood on the balcony and leaned over the side!
In addition, when we asked for information about tours re Milford Sound, we were given very incorrect information.
There appears to be many possible accommodation options in Queenstown and we will not return to Novotel, despite the benefits of our Accor membership as they weren't worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank WMA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMgt, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear WMA007,

Thanks for your review of the hotel and it's especially always pleasing to hear from our loyal Accor members. It's disappointing to read that you wouldn't return to the hotel following on from your membership benefits and inclusions that you receive whilst staying at our hotels.

In regards to our rooms that face the lake, we are somewhat restricted in terms of a view from the local council park and trees that are hindering the view. Our approach to this for some time now has been to not sell these rooms as 'Lake View' but as 'Lake Side' to try and remedy this situation. Whilst we appreciate the great location of our hotel, we also understand that our rooms don't have superior lake views and as such we don't advertise them with views.

I'm sorry to hear that the information you were given in relation to tours in Milford Sound was inaccurate. Our Concierge team work very closely with all our tour operators to provide accurate information to be able to sell these tours on behalf of these operators. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the team for this.

If you would like to discuss any of the matters in any further detail then please do not hesitate to contact me personally at h5308-fo01@accor.com

Sam Sherer
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at the Novotel Lakeside in Qtown for 3 nights. One of our friend's had recommended to go for this hotel considering the location, view and proximity to almost everything within walking distance. This was true. The hotel is centrally located facing the lake. All restaurants, sight seeing booking shops, cafes, bars are within walking distance. To be noted that the hotel remain packed at all times and because of which we had to wait for 2 hours to get to our room. The breakfast spread is good (better than having outside). The rooms looked way different than the picture on their websites. Upon complaining, they were kind enough to show us other rooms.

Room Tip: Opt for a room on higher floor with unobstructed view of the lakeside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satyamjuneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelManagement, Director of Sales at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear satyamjuneja
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside. It's great to hear that you stayed with us based on a recommendation from a friend and that you enjoyed our ideal lakeside and in-town location.
We look foward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the future.
Kind regards
Mia McGregor
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Property: Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Address: Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown's iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Queenstown Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
Novotel Gardens Queenstown
Queenstown Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing