We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, great location”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Novotel's location on the lake and short stroll to the town area is fantastic. Rooms have been lightly renovated so quite comfortable. Our room over the 4th floor also had nice views up towards the mountains. We only had a short stay (overnight) and departed early for a flight so didn't get a chance to use any additional hotel amenities/facilities. Sleep quality was OK.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MangoRacin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear MangoRacin

Thanks for your review - the Hotel underwent a major refurbishment at the end of 2007 - with the 4th floor rooms added new to the Hotel making us the single biggest hotel in Queenstown. Our superior location and the quality of product make us one of the busiest hotels in town also.

The remainder of the Hotel was refurbished with a "soft Refurbishment" with a total of over $13m spent

The 600+ excellent reviews and 800 very good reviews on Tripadvisor and the sheer number of reviews are indicative of the numbers that we have staying and the numbers of happy guests which is always our desire.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    1,425
    345
    76
    30
See reviews for
701
1,407
205
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just returned from staying at the Novotel over the weekend. From the time we entered to the time we left we were so impressed. The staff are absolutely amazing so friendly and helpful.
First surprise was our upgrade then on our anniversary we came back to find chocolates and a card from the hotel congratulating us, such a sweet thing to do.
The room was lovely with a nice balcony and when we did phone to say the fan in the bathroom wasn't working they were on to it quickly.
This is the place to stay in Queenstown if you want to be right in the heart of the town.
Thank you Novotel Queenstown we certainly will be back and have told all our friends about you.

Room Tip: higher floors have lovely balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb4511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Deb4511


Thanks for staying - great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that the team looked after you - I will certainly pass this on.

We hope to see you again soon


Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Well situated near the lake, this hotel has a strange configuration with rooms running off in all different directions. Corridors are narrow and several have elevation changes. Like many places, it had only one luggage rack and we had to put a suitcase on the bed we weren't using. The staff was friendly and helpful -- always a plus.

Room Tip: Some of the higher rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1213pdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear 1213pdg


Thanks for your review - the Hotel has a central core with the Hotel reception and public areas with three wings of accommodation each with approx 100 rooms - each wing has slightly different outlooks that appeal to different people.

The beauty of the hotel is location to town, consistency of the 4 star product and from what people tell us the friendly staff - all as you say very important. It was good to see that you enjoyed the experience.

We do hope to see you again another time

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

What an awesome Hotel. Fantastic staff. We only stayed one night to save time in the morning as we had to get to airport early. but was very pleased with room, location and service we didn't use all the facilities on offer so will have to stay 2 nights next time

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear OdetteB

Thanks for staying and for your review - being a local and choosing to stay with us is much appreciated and we do look forward to you staying longer in the future.

Good to get your feedback - this will be passed on to the team.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innisfail, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

If I rave about the Novotel Queenstown and tell everybody how great it was, then the next time I go over there I won't be able to get a room.The room were lovely and cosy, the food was good the staff were very helpful and the overall view of the Novotel was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jill4499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelMgt, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Jill4499,

"The best holiday ever" review title is great to respond to - thanks for sharing your positive experience from your recent stay with us, it's our pleasure that everything was perfect. We're certainly very proud of our team and the product that we offer and it's great to hear that you enjoyed it as well.

We would love to have you back to stay with us and we'll always find you a room Jill4499!

See you next time!

Sam Sherer
Executive Assistant Manager
Novotel Queentown Lakeside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Property: Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Address: Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown's iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Queenstown Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
Novotel Gardens Queenstown
Queenstown Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing