We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel right in the centre of Queenstown!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel right in the centre of Queenstown!!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in June and I couldn't fault it! The hotel has one of the best locations in Queenstown right on the lake and just yards from the many bars and restaurants and shops in the town. The room was of a decent size with a small balcony and was more than comfortable with all the facilities you would expect from a Novotel property. The staff at the hotel were very attentive and concierge were able to book all my excursions and activities and charge them to my room, making it very easy! I had room service once during my stay and although it was a tad expensive the burger was very nice and of good quality! I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting Queenstown.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Travellingman1


Thanks for staying with us - like many of our guests you have noted location and the friendliness of our staff which should be key considerations of any stay and are something that we work hard to deliver.

The booking of activities is something that the concierge team take great pride in - being able to match our guests with the type of experiences we know you will enjoy and making the booking process easy - this is all done without a booking fee and often at the best prices due to our relationship with the operators.

It was good to hear you enjoyed the burger that you had in the comfort of your room - just one of many options on the menu and the room service menu.

Thanks again - hope you got home safely and will come back to NZ one day in the future

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,196
    1,423
    343
    76
    30
See reviews for
699
1,405
204
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A great position on the lake and very busy. We went in ski season so be prepared to be jostled by people with snowboards and skis. Comfortable enough although the rooms are small. Kid friendly which I felt was not a bonus as they ran up and down the corridor putting a herd of elephants to shame.

Like all Queenstown hotels, the staff are itinerant, meaning the service could be patchy. The rooms were cleaned well but the bar and restaurant staff didn't seem to cope under pressure.

Worth staying here if you don't have a car otherwise look further afield and get a better experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrye09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Barrye09

Thanks for staying with us and for your review - yes this time of year is very busy all over Queenstown and with all the NZ and Australian schools having holidays at the same time this year there are more children around. The town has a vibrancy around it that we hope to be able to offer to all guests.

The Hotel is child friendly however our aim is to ensure that parents have activities for the children and that their presence is not detrimental on the stays of others - this includes activities such as an X box, kids movie nights and menus as well as being able to give advice and book a whole range of activities outside of the Hotel.

You are correct that the Hotel offers a superb location so anyone not traveling with a car should consider the hotel as an excellent choice however the Hotel is also the perfect base to walk anywhere in town and is central whether you have a car or not so that all activities are within easy reach.

Outside of the next two weeks of school holidays the hotel , while large is generally quiet and well positioned 4 star Hotel with friendly staff and we look forward to wlecoming our guests when they visit Queenstown at any time of the year.

Thanks for your feedback

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for our Honeymoon and our first visit to Queenstown. Found the staff very friendly, helpful and enjoyed the stay here. We were here for 5 nights and it's location was central to the lake, park, shopping and attractions. Booked tours here and found this very easy to do.

Spent most of our time out & about but close to the hotel as it was convenient to everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Glenn R

Great to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us - we hope that you can return for many anniversaries and other events in the future. Queenstown is a special place and is well worth coming to at any time.

Your recommendations are similar to many other reviews with location and ease of access key features - the concierge/booking team are there to assist our guests in booking all things Queenstown and to match the many activities to our guests and what they are looking to experience - without any booking fees and often sourcing the best deals the team is there to enhance the guests experience and it was good to hear that they achieved this in your case.

We hope to see you again soon

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here and it was pretty rubbish, location had potential but was crap overall. Room got flooded because the shower had issues with drainage it was overall a bad experience for our honeymoon.

I'd never stay here again and advised plenty of people otherwise also.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 167benk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Ben K


Thanks for your review - its a shame that you have taken 10 months to review and to give us this feedback - clearly it would seem that having stayed at our Hotel and at Rydges that you were more comfortable at the Rydges an older hotel located outside of town - we respect that this is a personal choice.

We apologise if the drainage of your shower did not work - I am sure that any such issue could have been rectified easily by our team if we were notified of an issue as we do not normally have such problems. We do understand that from time to time things will go wrong with a guest room but it is our ability to manage this quickly and efficiently that counts.

We do use all feedback and while yours was disappointingly somewhat negative and without too many other details as well as being from a number of months ago it will be considered when we review our comments.

Thanks for taking the time to review - we would be happy to discuss ways that we could restore your faith in the Hotel should you be returning to the region in the near future.


Thanks


Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had 3 lovely nights, based at this hotel. our first time in NZ, flew in to Queenstown from Sydney. the hotel is handy for the airport, but so are most. The lakeside location is great, really close to all the amenities, but in a peaceful setting. great for lakeside walks. The hotel staff are all welcoming and friendly. Reception and the public rooms are spacious and well furnished. We had a ground floor room facing inwards to the attractive gardens, leading down to the side of the lake. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with a well appointed bathroom. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but if the breakfast buffet, on a mezzanine level, above reception and the bar, is anything to go by; the standard of food is good. All tastes/nationalities were catered for on the breakfast menu. We were travelling with a biggish group, so appreciated the fact that there are excellent guest laundry facilities (important during a trip of over a month duration!). When we come back to Queenstown, this would certainly a hotel which we would consider again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing into the garden area are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaywardSouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Andrew W

Good to hear that when you return to Queenstown you would stay with us again and recommed us to others.

Location to town yet a quiet location are important factors and many of our guests mention this and the fact that they enjoy being able to walk out the door and be in the Queenstown gardens.

Good also to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and that our team looked after your group.

Feedback is important to us and we appreciate the time taken to give us these comments


Thanks

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We got a good deal to stay at novotel for 4 nights. I have stayed in Queenstown before and know how good the location is of novotel. A few issues we had was the tv kept braking and occasionally would hear people walking around upstairs. Rooms are pretty basic but that's fine as you're out most of the time anyway! We didn't opt to have breakfast because some local places do really good breakfasts. Definitely recommended a few restaurants there Botswana butchery, flame, captains, echiardts, winnies are just a few of some good restaurants there!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abi5096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Abi5096

Thanks for staying and for recommending our location and Hotel to others.

You are correct that tehre are many very good restaurants in Queenstown and that these are all on your doorstep when you stay at Novotel - we rate our breakfast very highly too and believe it to be Queenstowns best buffet breakfast - with items such as a range of Asian dishes, fresh fruit juicer, waffle maker, baked salmon and all the pastries, hot and cold items you would expect. Tapas in the bar and dinner at night also get very good comments from our guests - all without having to leave the Hotel.

Other than the restaurants named there are many others that are equally as good and in some cases better - the concierge team are happy to make recommendations and also to help make bookings for activities without booking fees.

We do hope that you may get to come back to Queenstown soon and that you would choose to stay with us again.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Property: Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Address: Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown's iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Queenstown Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
Novotel Gardens Queenstown
Queenstown Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing