We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

3,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    1,424
    345
    76
    30
See reviews for
701
1,406
205
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had 7 nights at the Novotel Queenstown and it was just perfect! The room was lovely although the bathroom could do with an update soon. That aside I just loved the room. The service was just exceptional.. Especially the guys on the activities desk.. Very knowledgable, helpful and they went above and beyond to make our ski trip just awesome. The morning breakfasts were delicious, with a wide array of tasty foods to cater for everyone. The only one thing I think Novotel should be doing is providing free wifi in every room.. Come on Novotel, charging exorbitant rates for wifi in this day and age of cheap broadband plans is just not on!! However this wouldn't stop me from staying there again and again!!

So overall, the perfect hotel in probably the single best location in all of Queenstown!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadb-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Chadb-76

Thanks for staying with us - we always love to hear from people that have stayed for longer periods as by staying for a week or more you really do see a Hotel for all it offers.

It certainly sounds as if you enjoyed Queenstown and that the team on the activities desk were able to offer you solutions that made the most of your time here.

The Hotel offers a free Wifi service to our Silver Status loyalty club members - gained either by staying a number of times at an Accor Hotel or by joining our Le Club Advantage Plus club with all of its benefits. We offer free internet in the lobby and offers in the bar area also as well as 3 free Mac stations for those without a device.

Thanks for the feedback about breakfast and again it sounds like you enjoyed the variety available - something we have tried hard to ensure we get right.

We are looking at a full refurbishment of the Hotel and have started planning this as some of the rooms are in this stage of their life cycle however all rooms had some work done on them in 2008 and 70 of them were new at that time.

We do hope to see you again soon

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We only stayed at the Novotel for 2 nights but you can't ignore the location being beside the wharf in the centre of town! We were on the fourth floor with normal views but neither mattered as we spent all our time out doing things and came back at night, what it really came down to was the amazingly soft bed and the free pillow menu; I ordered all of them and we slept with 7 different pillows to try them all! (Memory foam is where it's at) we did somehow end up with a disabled room but that just meant there was more space and the bathroom was huge. Would definitely stay Novotel again but I wouldn't bother paying for the Wilson's carpark or theirs as there is always plenty of parking free overnight out the front of the hotel - which they failed to tell us and we paid $11 for parking we never used :(

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgetcanfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear bridgetcan fly


Thanks for your review and for staying with us.

As mentioned the hotel's location is second to none and it was good to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.

You are correct that there is parking outside the Hotel which is free from around 6pm until 8am - outside of those hours the parking wardens are fierce and we do not recommend to our guests that they use the meters as this can be expensive and less convenient than the two paid options. There are other free parks outside of surrounds of the Hotel however again these options offer less security and more walking so we do not recommend these either.

Thanks again for the feedback - we hope that you will come back and see us again.


Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a package tour. The hotel itself I have no complaints with. The only thing that was not up to snuff, in my opinion, is their wifi provider, Reivernet. First, the wifi is $15NZ for 24 hours, with a max of 1GB of data transfer per 24 hours, and that's for the slow package. After that, you have to pony up again for another session. If you want hi speed service, it's $.10NZ per EACH megabyte of data, again with a 1GB max - which works to about $100NZ for 1GB - which in today's competitive lodging market is virtually highway robbery. Several hotels in the area offer free wifi - if connectivity is important for personal or business reasons, this may not be your place. If that's not an issue, then this hotel has a great location and is in all other aspects recommendable. I urge the hotel management to consider free unlimited wifi and adjust room prices accordingly.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gcjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear GCJones


Thanks for your review and for staying - it would appear though we have managed to confuse you as to our offer in regards to WIFI.

We offer 2 packages for WIFI on top of the free WIFI that we have in the lobby - 50MB which is enough for most people to answer a few emails as well as 3 Mac stations that are free in the lobby for those without a device - and a service that allows people that have bought a drink at the bar to access WIFI for free for limited download.

In the rooms we have a 2 hour and a 24 hour package - $10 for 2 hours (300MB) and $15 for 24 hours (1GB) both of these options are Ultra Fast Broadband being the fastest speed we get locally - the additional spend you talk about is a charge per MB AFTER you use the above ie excess data - with an option to buy another package if you would prefer.

These limits are not often exceeded unless people are streaming video or the like and are generally enough for people to do what they need to do. On top of this there is a 24 help desk that is manned outside of the Hotel with an IT specialist to help with any issues anyone is having with connections etc which is paid for as part of this service.

We continue to review the systrems that we have but at this stage still feel that the service offered within the constraints that we work with locally gives the best service to our guests at a reasonable cost - something that no doubt will continue to change and be adjusted.

Thanks for staying

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch nz
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A very good hotel.We got snowed in when our plane was cancelled and ended up spending another night there. We rang them from the airport and by the time we arrived back at the hotel had a room allocated and were checked in superfast.As the place was full this was not easy for them to do..Comfortable beds, good showers, good bed lights, good linen ,good location on the flat so no hills to climb. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpro5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Travelpro5

Thanks for staying - I guess your "what more could you ask for" sums up what looks to have been a successful stay for you (despite the fact that you were snowed in!!).

Good to hear you enjoyed your time and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

having stayed in many accor properties I can say that this one is right up there worldwide as being one of the best.
the staff are fabulous and genuinely want to see you enjoy your experience.
We stayed 8 nights and it was fantastic for a father and a 11 year old. Enough to do In the hotel to please everyone.

Cant fault it

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olli7250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Ollie2750


Thanks for your positive review - good to hear that you had some serious father/son bonding time and enjoyed your 8 days.

The team is always pleased to get positive feedback and it really does help to inspire them to keep giving great service so thanks for taking the time to let us know.

We hope to see you again some time soon - Queenstown really is a four seasons resort destination with things to do all year around so make sure you come back soon.

All the best

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Property: Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Address: Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown's iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Queenstown Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
Novotel Gardens Queenstown
Queenstown Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing