We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asure Queenstown Gateway Apartments
Ranked #19 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 March 2013

It was somewhat far from downtown and you have to drive in if you want to go downtown (which you definitely want to do). We made a reservation online, and when we got there, it took them about 20 minutes to even find our reservation. Then they realized they had already given our room to someone else. So, luckily another was still available, otherwise we would be screwed. Room was ok. Nothing extraordinary. Dryer did not work. Hot water ran out after one shower. The owners tried to help, but not much could be done for the dryer. So wet clothes all over the place waiting to dry... not much fun.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spideymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayApartments, Manager at Asure Queenstown Gateway Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Hi, thank you for your time to review our apartments, we would like to clear up a few of the issues you have outlined within this review.
In regards to the distance, we have clearly stated that we are 6km away from the town centre on the Jason's website.
We apologise for the mix up with the rooms, unfortunately these things happen from time to time, and as we explained to you at the time you checked in, it was a honest mistake which in the end result you got the room that you required.
After all departures we check all appliances including the dryer to make sure they work correctly, this dryer was fixed promptly after your departure, and we apologise for the inconvenience it caused you during your stay. We have had no other complaints regarding the hot water in the apartment you were staying, however thank you for bringing this issue to our attention, we shall check this and make sure it is working to quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

Like that the place comes with an equipped kitchen, washing machine and dryer, alongside with other standard stuff we could find in other apartments. We managed to cook a couple of meals there (we just had to cook with the fresh produces we shopped at the markets!). Felt at home staying there. Probably would choose an apartment facing the mountain next time, I stayed in the room facing the road, found it a bit harder to fall asleep. And my parents wasn't too fancy the stairs, none of the rooms are on ground floor. But all in all, enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiowHuei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Spent 2 nights here early Aug 2012. The location is very good. Burger King, McDonalds and gas station is just around the corner. Only 5 minutes drive to city center. New World Supermarket also 5 minutes away. Rooms were clean. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We had 1 room facing the highway, it was fine with windows closed but if I were staying again, will request units facing the mountain.

Room Tip: Request room facing mountain side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygoing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed july holidays 2012 with 3 children in apartment 13 - 3 bedroom. Apartment was standard quality a bit tired but ok for money paid. Location is fantastic and what made the trip fabulous was the 5 star service of the managers. One night when the heating was not working properly they went and bought us a stand alone heater so we could stay warm. Colin's attention to detail is what made this a fabulous place to stay. My tip go to the restaurants at Remarkables shopping mall - right next to airport for dinner dont bother with trying to park at night in Queenstown. Alternatively if u dont have a car there are plenty in walking distance right across the road. Our kids loved the kids menu at Hamills restaurant at the Remarkables shopping mall.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbey_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

What a great base.. stayed here last week during winter festival. Spotlessly clean, the most comfortable beds (and pillows) ever. Apartment very well equiped, Tv in bedroom, electric blankets etc... Great location away from the hustle and bustle yet near to some take aways and airport. Really freindly staff... I will be back here again no doubt!!

Room Tip: Apartment number 4 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was our 2nd Asure motel on South Island and was recommended to us by the motel in Te Anau. Whilst the price was slightly higher than we like to pay, it was worth every cent. We had an apartment with lounge, dining area and kitchen downstairs and bedroom and bathroom upstairs. The unit had its own washing machine and tumble drier which is very useful when travelling. Everything was clean and comfortable and the host was welcoming and helpful. The apartments are 6km outside Queenstown but there are local restaurants within walking distance and the location is quiet. We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Excellent value for money. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waggersting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
0.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 59 in Queenstown
1,627 reviews
3 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
11.7 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#2 of 44 in Queenstown
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asure Queenstown Gateway Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asure Queenstown Gateway Apartments

Address: 1066 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: £117 - £545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Asure Queenstown Gateway Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asure Queenstown Gateway Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing