We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Done the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Laughter Backpackers
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Done the job”
Reviewed 27 June 2011

There is plenty to choose from in Queenstown in the way of hostels and accomodation, we choose this one. Split between 2 buildings a short walk from town. It has a spa, which we didn't use.

Has a kitchen with free soup. We checked in to a private double, where the bed seemed to fold towards the middle and after a couple of days I was itching with bites in a line on my leg, a sign of bed bugs. Walls were thin as we could clearly hear a German contingent drunkenly talking next door at 2am in the morning.

They seem to be able to offer various attractions in the town, but I imagine that is the same with all of the accommodation.

We checked out at half seven in the morning to get the intercity bus onwards, we were told that there would be someone on reception to take our key and give us our key deposit back, there wasn't and we lost it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russellosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    77
    56
    32
    13
See reviews for
5
89
64
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Given the amount of cheap accomodation available (especially as there is no snow in Queenstown at the moment and people are desperate for the business), its worth your while to look elsewhere for accomodation. The girl (avoid the red-head) on reception was rude and unhelpful and couldn't have lower customer service standards if she tried! The kitchen is pretty gross - you don't expect much from a hostel but this is probably the worst communal area we have seen. Go somewhere else, there are loads of much nicer hostels in Queenstown.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoOpEr1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We checked in here after a terrible nights sleep at another backpackers up the road. It looked comfy and relaxed and the staff person was nice. We also stored our bags here when we went to hike the routeburn and it seemed safer than another hostel we had checked out.
So after our night at the other backpackers we asked for a quiet room, and we did get a good nights sleep. We were however woken up at 630 am ( the day of the Japanese Tsunami) by some idiot who didnt think that he needed to use his quiet voice at that time in the morning. It turned out that our room was right next to the common area so maybe we got lucky for our nights sleep?
Anyway pretty average in all other aspects, rooms small but clean, bathrooms a little on the dirty side, Kitchen was clean. No free wifi but did have a spa.
All for $70 which is a good deal in QT.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jctraveller89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2010

The front-desk staff were great - they were very friendly & gave great travel tips & advice... for eg. they could explain in detail the differences between the nevis arc & canyon swing (the i site staff told us they were similar earlier....) & had up-to-date info on the various attractions, such as recommending the most value-for-money deal for milford sound scenic plane ride... Location is great too... 5 min walk from town & to the gondola.
The twin bedroom, however, was very small, with barely any floor space after putting in the 2 beds... but this wasn't a big concern. Main minus point is with the toilet & shower -> only 1 each per floor. We had to wait a long while to use the toilet when someone took a long time. Of course, alternative would be to use the one upstairs -- but, as there's only 1 as well.. someone might be hogging it too. However, still overall recommended for the great location & friendly & knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y0ghurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We stayed here for one night in September. It was cheaper then the YHA central. It Had a weird double room with tv. The room was small with a large glass window and glass door facing onto the tiny corridor! But It was fine! The kitchen was fine but not everyone cleaned up properly, floors were sticky etc. We were woken up early in the morning by the nearby volunterr fire brigade alarm going off! annoying! The guy at reception was very helpful. I would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandybenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights while on a tour and were disappointed with this hostel. Although a good price for a double in Queenstown (Queenstown is one of the most expensive places in New Zealand), the hostel was not good value for money. The communal areas were dirty and unwelcoming. Our room was in a building separate to the main hostel and the toilet and kitchen in this area were both dirty with very sticky floors.

As our room was directly below the kitchen/ lounge area we could here everything that was going on - which was not fun when it was still really noisy at 4.30 in the morning when we had to get up at 6am for a tour to Milford Sound.

The staff were ok although not overly friendly.

One positive was the location - only 5 mins (if that) to the bars/restaurants and the legendary FergBurger. Also got drink deals at certain bars because of staying at the hostel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurmel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol, england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The hostel is in a great location - only 5 minutes walk to the city which is very convenient.
The staff are friendly and provided a good service.
The dorm i was in was a bit cramped and only had 1 small heater for the whole room which wasnt enough! The bathrooms were ok but didnt get cleaned that often unfortunately. The kitchen was nice enough but also got very busy as it was quite small. The TV room had nice sofa's and a big heater which made it comfortable to lounge in!
Overall it is a nice hostel and i would recommend it when staying in queenstown.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
#37 of 90 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Queenstown
Base Queenstown
#81 of 90 in Queenstown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Laughter Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Laughter Backpackers

Property: Southern Laughter Backpackers
Address: 4 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southern Laughter Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly toasty warm – backpackers located in central Queenstown within quiet surroundings. We have plenty of off street parking and just a 2 minute walk to bars, supermarkets and shops.Our rooms are configurations of cozy 3, 4, 6 or 8 beds as well as 5, 6 and 8 person self contained units with kitchens. We also provide comfortable private double and twin rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Southern Laughter Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Laughter Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing