We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southern Laughter Backpackers
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“affordable, great location!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the double ensuite room for 7 nights and the service was great, facilities were basic but functional. The bathroom was clean but wished that the tap was combined and not having the cold and hot water coming out from 2 different faucets. We felt that the heater was not providing much heat and comfort at all especially on the cold days and nights were were there. Staff were approachable and friendly. Location is just 5 minutes walk to the busy street of Shotover where all the information centers and most cool restos / bars are. Overall, the experience was ok and good value for your money considering that most things are expensive in Queenstown.

Room Tip: We also stayed at the Double room on our last night (Room #15a) and it is just beside the shower/toi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NinaSarmiento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    78
    58
    33
    13
See reviews for
5
92
64
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked a twin room and was given a room at ground floor.
The room is so small, we have no space to put our luggage and have to push everything under the bed so that we have space to walk. The toilet is okay but the bathroom needs more frequent cleaning. As the kitchen is just upstairs, there were noises of people walking around, chatting even at night. There was one night there were noises upstairs until 1am as if they are having a party. The only thing we like about this hostel is the location which is very near the town and places to take our tours etc. Other than that, there is no reason to pick this hostel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the room downstairs right behind the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Khiim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Southern Laughter. I will have a word with our night porter about keeping the kitchens quiet after hours. We also have an emergency phone number with 24 hour monitoring by one of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed in this backpacker for four nights, good location reaching the town centre within 5 mins walk. Same as some other backpackers i love the character of the hostel with funny quotations and cosmics everywhere! staffs are helpful and cheerful! also meet some new friends here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cyiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

loved the character of this hostel, loved the staff....theyre super helpful and really friendly :) its really close to walk to everywhere you need to get to, the beds are comfy and you get a yummy bowl of free soup every night which is great for the cold nights!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sophie248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I just read some of the bad reviews for this place and I couldn't disagree more. If you are over 40 hostels aren't going to be peaceful (especially in Queenstown), but the staff at Southern laughter always did an epic job of quietening down the nosiy people. It is a hostel, in a party town and it will be noisy. I didn't party a lot there myself, but room mates of mine did and you just take the rough with the smooth. If you want peace at a hostel, I suggest you pack up and move to a hotel or convent. Simples.
I have stayed at my fair share of hostels and whilst Southern Laughter is full of a lot of young people, it was clean and well kept. There were bottles in recycling bins, a lot of bottles, but people don't choose to stay there because of its librariesque atmosphere. The staff (Rachel, Paula, Cole etc) were great people. I would highly recommend this place to any serious backpacker who wants to;
A) Get great value for money in a wonderful location. It's two minutes from the centre of town and two minutes from the gondola, not to mention ten minutes to the super market!! It's mustard! The beds are comfy and the rooms are clean. So are the bathrooms and kitchens. They get cleaned daily.

Or

B) Meet interesting and colourful people, have a great time and get thoroughly looked after by the best hostel team in Queenstown.

So don't mince about with all the others in town. Come and stay somewhere with people that really care and do their best to look after you. I stayed for damn near three weeks after leaving another hostel in town because it had no soul and just wanted to charge a fortune to stay there. Southern Laughter is the heart and soul of backpacking in Queenstown.
So don't be a mug and put all your belief in bad reviews. If you want a hotel like stay, stay in a hotel or backpack through Narnia. I would recommend that you stay for a night or two and see for yourself. I loved it there and would go back tomorrow just for the people and the comfort level. Enjoy life and enjoy the adventure.
Bosh! Review done.


  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COYS1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed in Souther Laughter for 3 nights while exploring Queenstown, location is spot on only 2min walk to the town centre but its far enough away to not be noisy at night. Supermarket only 5min walk away as well.

Stayed in an 8 bed dorm which had the bonus of having an ensuite bathroom/shower and a little kitchen in it which was nice to keep stuff in the fridge but there wasn't much room to cook. Main kitchen has everything you want though, although as is standard with hostels sometime you've got to hunt a bit to find what you want! Free soup in the evenings is nice but don't expect it to be a full meal, I used it as a pre dinner snack for which it was a welcome addition.

Most of the staff are travellers as well which is really useful as they can give first hand of what they found good in the area, I based most of my activities on their recommendations and wasn't disappointed!

Overall a nice hostel, great value for the price and I'd stay there again if I'm passing that way

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler-Mark-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Brilliant place and great for hens party as we had joining rooms, kitchen, bathroom and balcony. Just remember to take a towel for shower. Amazing location as it was 2minute walk to main part of town. Staff were very friendly and got some good specials for drinks at pubs.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandylawso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Adventure Q2 Hostel
Adventure Q2 Hostel
#18 of 90 in Queenstown
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 90 in Queenstown
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
#1 of 90 in Queenstown
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Base Queenstown
Base Queenstown
#82 of 90 in Queenstown
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Laughter Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Laughter Backpackers

Property: Southern Laughter Backpackers
Address: 4 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southern Laughter Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly toasty warm – backpackers located in central Queenstown within quiet surroundings. We have plenty of off street parking and just a 2 minute walk to bars, supermarkets and shops.Our rooms are configurations of cozy 3, 4, 6 or 8 beds as well as 5, 6 and 8 person self contained units with kitchens. We also provide comfortable private double and twin rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Southern Laughter Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Laughter Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing