We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Laughter Backpackers
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not Again”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Homely little place with a nice reception and staff.

Rooms however were a let down. Heaters were half useless as they were tiny and switched off automatically every 30 minutes. Showers were absolutely terrible. The water was freezing cold, easily my worst showering experience in NZ. Living room of the bunk smelt absolutely horrible.

On the plus side, staff are really friendly. The hot soup was glorious as well on a cold winter stay. Beds were fine. Community in the common areas were nice along with free unlimited wifi. However, the heater and the hot water made my stay not as enjoyable as I would have hoped for. I have absolutely zero tolerance to cold showers in cold winters and disgusting rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xunliang_Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0le_SL, Manager at Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Sorry to hear you had issues with the shower in your unit, If you made us aware of it something could have been done to rectify it, The bathroom in your unit had been recently renovated and the hot water runs off mains gas and should provide unlimited hot water, if this was faulty we were unaware of it. I have checked the shower and it is working fine. Happy to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful and you enjoyed many of the free extras we offer at the hostel.
We wish all the best on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    79
    59
    33
    13
See reviews for
5
92
65
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

the location is amazing, only a couple of minutes walk into central Queenstown. It's also quite cheap which is great. Staff were friendly.

We had a double room for a couple.

Problems
- a bit dirty
- night-time noise (to be expected at backpackers)
- it smells... like a toilet at times
- pillows were terrible, twice the size and twice as hard as regular pillows
- showers not very good
- no sink to clean teeth etc... only those little ones in the toilets which is just disgusting to expect all guests to use that for more than washing hands.

Thankfully all these things except noise can be fixed. If they were I'd go back there, but if not then I'd spend $20 extra a night and get somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank el_paulo_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for your feedback. Some of our bathrooms are currently under renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Amazing staff, especially Kayleigh and Cole! Everyone was very accommodating and flexible, which was a HUGE help considering the hostel was very busy during my time there, and my travel plans were very up in the air. They always found a way to help fit me in to a room somewhere even when I had no reservations and was looking to extend my stay. Great for short or long term stays. Cozy and comfortable common areas, a great environment, plenty of room, free soup, wifi and awesome people. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geneva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks for the awesome review! We were glad to have you stay with us. Thanks for adding a great vibe to the place :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The staff were friendlu and a definite positive yo our stay. Our room was just a bed and small tv in the corner which was all we were after (not the tv). There is so much going on in Qtwn I've never wanted to hang out in my bedroom. Facilities were sweet although one shower was crap but in all honestly I could have just used the one next to it. Loved it and would def stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks for the review. We are glad to hear you found your room comfortable and our facilities satisfactory. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time here in New Zealand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great stay, in a private double room. Bed was a bit average but definitely sleepable and fine for the price. Spa looked great but didn't get a chance to enjoy it. Very friendly and fun staff :) Good location, nice and close to town so could walk everywhere

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephineburrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks for the great review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Southern Laughter and hope you continue to enjoy your time in New Zealand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Basic hostel but decent value for money, easily the cheapest we stayed in during our time in Queenstown. Wifi was very poor and the cleaning is done by residents which wasn't great - they did a basic clean and took your alcohol if it wasn't clearly labelled. Very lively social place to stay and an excellent location.

Room Tip: Wifi was terrible - couldn't connect at all in our room which was no. 23 (a few doors down from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jonny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Sorry Southern Laughter did not fully live up to your expectations. Our free and unlimited wifi is available all around the hostel but definitely works best in the lounges. During peak hours the wifi can be a little slow as it would be at any hostel. There are notices saying that any food and beverage stored in the communal fridges must be labeled. Other than that, I'm glad you enjoyed the environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Pilah, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights,and the room is near spa area.traveller make lot of noise when using the facility.the twin room r small compare to others we have stayed during our trip.but the staff r friendly and helpful and with wifi at our room.if can just look for others backpacker hostel

Room Tip: Try not to stay at the room near spa area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacktan1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Sorry Southern Laughter did not fully live up to your expectations. In regards to your concerns about noise coming from the spa, we lock it up every night at 9pm so the noise shouldn't have been a problem after then. I'm glad you enjoyed some of the amenities we offer such as the free unlimited wifi. Hope you have a great trip for the remainder of your time in NZ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 92 in Queenstown
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 92 in Queenstown
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Base Queenstown
Base Queenstown
#82 of 92 in Queenstown
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#21 of 92 in Queenstown
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#17 of 92 in Queenstown
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Laughter Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Laughter Backpackers

Property: Southern Laughter Backpackers
Address: 4 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southern Laughter Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly toasty warm – backpackers located in central Queenstown within quiet surroundings. We have plenty of off street parking and just a 2 minute walk to bars, supermarkets and shops.Our rooms are configurations of cozy 3, 4, 6 or 8 beds as well as 5, 6 and 8 person self contained units with kitchens. We also provide comfortable private double and twin rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Southern Laughter Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Laughter Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing