We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really disappointed, dirty bathroom/kitchen, a lousy nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Laughter Backpackers
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really disappointed, dirty bathroom/kitchen, a lousy nights sleep”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights while on a tour and were disappointed with this hostel. Although a good price for a double in Queenstown (Queenstown is one of the most expensive places in New Zealand), the hostel was not good value for money. The communal areas were dirty and unwelcoming. Our room was in a building separate to the main hostel and the toilet and kitchen in this area were both dirty with very sticky floors.

As our room was directly below the kitchen/ lounge area we could here everything that was going on - which was not fun when it was still really noisy at 4.30 in the morning when we had to get up at 6am for a tour to Milford Sound.

The staff were ok although not overly friendly.

One positive was the location - only 5 mins (if that) to the bars/restaurants and the legendary FergBurger. Also got drink deals at certain bars because of staying at the hostel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurmel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    77
    56
    32
    13
See reviews for
5
89
64
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol, england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The hostel is in a great location - only 5 minutes walk to the city which is very convenient.
The staff are friendly and provided a good service.
The dorm i was in was a bit cramped and only had 1 small heater for the whole room which wasnt enough! The bathrooms were ok but didnt get cleaned that often unfortunately. The kitchen was nice enough but also got very busy as it was quite small. The TV room had nice sofa's and a big heater which made it comfortable to lounge in!
Overall it is a nice hostel and i would recommend it when staying in queenstown.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Location is good and the room was clean, the kitchen is poor, not many implements and everyone elaves their dirty plates around. I got bitten by fleas the 2 nights i was there and management didnt seem too fussed.....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyedinburgh_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
459 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Nice friendly staff in good location. Room was nice, but kitchen is poor.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2009

This is a great hostel, especially if you are travelling around on your own, as it is so easy to meet people here! The common rooms are spacious, with a kitchen, dining room and lounge all in one room (there contains two separate common rooms in the hostel).
The dorm rooms are roomy, i stopped in the 6 bed dorm and for the price is was perfect!
The hostel has a free spa pool and free vegetable soup every evening.

As for the location, it is just outside the town, up the hill from the i-site. It takes you 5 minutes to walk into the centre, where they are plenty of bars and shops.

The hostel itself can book any activities that you want to do in Queenstown, from the Shootover Jet to Skydives! Queenstown is highly recommended for adults that still think they are kids!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandErnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Nice backpackers with a very nice whirpool in a terrible town in the most beautiful part of New Zealand. Go check Deer Park Heights (or what was the name :).

Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Faire_Tinkwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here in the double ensuite room. It was clean, though it was underneath the building and the outlook was just at another building. It was hence quite dark and didn't have any windows with a nice outlook or anything, but I guess that's what you get for the price you pay.

  • Liked — it was very close to the centre of town
  • Disliked — the double ensuite room had no outlook and was quite dark
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank smp333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
#37 of 90 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Queenstown
Base Queenstown
#81 of 90 in Queenstown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Laughter Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Laughter Backpackers

Property: Southern Laughter Backpackers
Address: 4 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southern Laughter Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly toasty warm – backpackers located in central Queenstown within quiet surroundings. We have plenty of off street parking and just a 2 minute walk to bars, supermarkets and shops.Our rooms are configurations of cozy 3, 4, 6 or 8 beds as well as 5, 6 and 8 person self contained units with kitchens. We also provide comfortable private double and twin rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Southern Laughter Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Laughter Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing