We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best- but not the worst!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Black Sheep Backpackers
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not the best- but not the worst!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in a double room!

Pros: good location (5 mins walk to city centre), clean rooms, tv in the room, free wifi, friendly staff (helpful for booking activities), quiet at night.

Cons: there are no private bathrooms and you have to walk outside through the public area to have a shower, no doors (only shower curtains) in the shower, not enough hooks or benches to hang your things in the shower, the kitchen is small, crowded and was the dirtiest I have seen out of 4 weeks in NZ, no sharp knives to use in the kitchen, the housekeeper left our door unlocked while we went out one day (not a huge deal, but could have been).

Overall, the kitchen and bathrooms were a bit of an issue. I probably wouldn't recommend this place to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmat7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    138
    92
    50
    44
See reviews for
20
131
144
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in a double room with shared toilet/shower. The staff was quite helpful and friendly. They stored part of our luggage for 5 days and gave us great tips about the town. The free bike hire was also a plus. Everything was pretty clean. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FernandoeCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Hi Guys,

great you got to stay for a few nights to get a good overall view of our property. glad you found us helpful and friendly. always happy to store luggage and point you in the right direction in town. bikes are great and get well used, next summer we hope to add more to our fleet. we have paid cleaners which do a great job and would love to welcome you back thanks for the feedback :-) .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I had to wait for 20 mins for check -in and the staff was telling us " you just need to wait " . Not professional at all.. very bad front counter customer service. Poor sound system kept us awake through all night when someone flushed a toilet..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliana s, General Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Hi Guys,

sorry you had to wait to check in, 3pm in peak season is the check in time. we have just got a new sound system through reception, kitchen, lounge that gets turned off at night and quiet hours :-) thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Pretty loud(due to type of stayers), smokers claim the out door areas(right in the middle you can't avoid) and their smoke blows up the stairs, doors and windows. Also check out is crowded with only one desk worker.

scrambler330

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrambler330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi Guys,

Thanks we have just added no smoking outside of all room areas top and bottom, and left an area in the garden for this as we agree it was entering the rooms!!! resolved and lots better thanks for help us to rectify this.

As most backpackers of our size we would only have one desk worker. we are a budget accommodation and to be able to justify rates we dont really require more than this 95% of the time.

Thanks for feedback.. safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We travelled with three people and had couple and twin rooms. The rooms are clean, with TV´s, coffee/Tea facilities and towels. Unfortunately it was very load, you´re able to hear every noise on the corridor. Everywhere is (disgusting) carpet, the kitchen is too small for all the people and there were not enough refrigerator. Also at the shower or wash basin were no hooks or anthing like that. If you search a payrty hostel, you´re right here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Guys

thanks for the review we are please you found the rooms clean etc. all the carpets are cleaned regular and new ones in all private rooms over the low season this year, not sure which area you found dirty, apologies for that.

our location tends to cater for a quiet crowd of guests. as we are not right in the middle like some accommodation providers but a relaxed garden atmosphere. sometimes we will have a noisy group we try and control this to the extent that we can. staff are 24 hours on site and do try and keep everyone happy :-)

ps - thanks we have added more hooks to bathrooms, and always looking to improve facilities.

safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nilai, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Very bad front counter customer services. Never met such bad service provider before during our travels. We gotto wait until 3pm ++ to check in but found out that the room was actually not ready, it's messy!! Truely disappointed

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank totoro_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Guys,

sorry check in is 3pm, before if the rooms are ready! we have just changed to a more secure reservations system which did slow us up in Feb and March a tad, but we do have a window of 10am-3pm to get people to check out (usually on time lol) and then get in and clean all the rooms, so this is why check in is 3pm...going into shoulder seasons its easier to get in before :-)

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed just one night, but we were very satisfied. Staff were friendly, shover clean, room also clean with nice towels. We would defenitely recommend it, better than some 4 stars hotel in Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukáš S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Guys,

Thanks for your review, friendly, clean and enjoyed the fresh rooms which we are updateing and improving, sounds like you were happy with these...and rated us close to a 4 star thats awesome...

see you next time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 90 in Queenstown
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
#1 of 90 in Queenstown
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 90 in Queenstown
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bumbles Backpackers
Bumbles Backpackers
#15 of 90 in Queenstown
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Sheep Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Backpackers

Property: The Black Sheep Backpackers
Address: 13 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a home away from home? The Black Sheep Queenstown Backpackers, located beside the historic Queenstown Gardens, offers guests a convenient place to stay in the heart of the stunning alpine resort. Our central location is one of the sunniest in town and offers 360° view of the stunning local mountain ranges including the famous Remarkables. Located just a short stroll from town, The Black Sheep has a lot to offer guests including: An awesome team of friendly staff, comfortable rooms and exceptional facilities – did we mention we have a spa pool? If you are looking for affordable accommodation in Queenstown and think staying in a relaxing and homely environment after busy days spent exploring the 'Adventure Capital of the World' sounds ideal, look no further, we've got you covered at The Black Sheep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Black Sheep Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Sheep Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing