We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic backpackers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Black Sheep Backpackers
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Great service and amenities (wifi actually works) and helpful friendly staff. We arrived early and needed to organise ourselves for work our room wasn't ready but we were allowed to use it and the showers which was great. We enjoyed a hot spa which was perfect for a winters day! Clean and tidy good bedding also. Would definitely stay again :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Amanda2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were staying at the black sheep for 3 nights and had to leave our car on the road. Due to the themperature it wouldn't start again. So the very friendly brazilian caretaker didn't wait a second and helped us start our car. Also very good Location, right next to the gardens and the queenstown Discgolf course (discs were available for free), clean facilities and rooms. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poldi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed two nights over easter weekend. Staff were great room was clean and tidy bathrooms were spotless.
Only wee thing was our latch on window was broken and kept tapping during night lol and the vine is starting to cover window might need cut down. Nothing major at all loved it there we will be coming back

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in a double room!

Pros: good location (5 mins walk to city centre), clean rooms, tv in the room, free wifi, friendly staff (helpful for booking activities), quiet at night.

Cons: there are no private bathrooms and you have to walk outside through the public area to have a shower, no doors (only shower curtains) in the shower, not enough hooks or benches to hang your things in the shower, the kitchen is small, crowded and was the dirtiest I have seen out of 4 weeks in NZ, no sharp knives to use in the kitchen, the housekeeper left our door unlocked while we went out one day (not a huge deal, but could have been).

Overall, the kitchen and bathrooms were a bit of an issue. I probably wouldn't recommend this place to a friend.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmat7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in a double room with shared toilet/shower. The staff was quite helpful and friendly. They stored part of our luggage for 5 days and gave us great tips about the town. The free bike hire was also a plus. Everything was pretty clean. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FernandoeCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hi Guys,

great you got to stay for a few nights to get a good overall view of our property. glad you found us helpful and friendly. always happy to store luggage and point you in the right direction in town. bikes are great and get well used, next summer we hope to add more to our fleet. we have paid cleaners which do a great job and would love to welcome you back thanks for the feedback :-) .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I had to wait for 20 mins for check -in and the staff was telling us " you just need to wait " . Not professional at all.. very bad front counter customer service. Poor sound system kept us awake through all night when someone flushed a toilet..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliana s, General Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hi Guys,

sorry you had to wait to check in, 3pm in peak season is the check in time. we have just got a new sound system through reception, kitchen, lounge that gets turned off at night and quiet hours :-) thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Pretty loud(due to type of stayers), smokers claim the out door areas(right in the middle you can't avoid) and their smoke blows up the stairs, doors and windows. Also check out is crowded with only one desk worker.

scrambler330

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrambler330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hi Guys,

Thanks we have just added no smoking outside of all room areas top and bottom, and left an area in the garden for this as we agree it was entering the rooms!!! resolved and lots better thanks for help us to rectify this.

As most backpackers of our size we would only have one desk worker. we are a budget accommodation and to be able to justify rates we dont really require more than this 95% of the time.

Thanks for feedback.. safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
0.6 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#7 of 93 in Queenstown
251 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#12 of 93 in Queenstown
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 93 in Queenstown
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 93 in Queenstown
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Sheep Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Backpackers

Address: 13 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: £34 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Black Sheep Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a home away from home? The Black Sheep Queenstown Backpackers, located beside the historic Queenstown Gardens, offers guests a convenient place to stay in the heart of the stunning alpine resort. Our central location is one of the sunniest in town and offers 360° view of the stunning local mountain ranges including the famous Remarkables. Located just a short stroll from town, The Black Sheep has a lot to offer guests including: An awesome team of friendly staff, comfortable rooms and exceptional facilities – did we mention we have a spa pool? If you are looking for affordable accommodation in Queenstown and think staying in a relaxing and homely environment after busy days spent exploring the 'Adventure Capital of the World' sounds ideal, look no further, we've got you covered at The Black Sheep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Black Sheep Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Sheep Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing