We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, good value for money.”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Whistler for 4 nights in March-April 2012. It's location is great, only a 5 minute walk from the Queenstown CBD. We stayed in room 19, and we found the room to be neat, tidy, and well presented. The hosts were both very friendly and helpful.
My only criticisms would include:
1. Having a dining table in the lounge room (It's great to have a kitchen area to prepare a nice dinner, it's a shame that there isn't anywhere to eat it other than the couch).
2. The room could have been serviced better (we never had the bed made and the kitchen could have been wiped clean from time to time).
Other than these 2 points, we found our stay very positive and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    71
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
61
163
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for three nights at the end of March. It was clean, comfortable and pleasant.Nice outlook of the mountain and the gondola. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Busy road during the day but very quiet at night. Extremely reasonable rates. Easy flat walk to town.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Movaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The new managers (about 18 months) Wayne and Jan are true gems! And they themselves make sure the rooms are spot on. Easy walking distance over the sport greens to town, there is no parking in town so that is excellent to leave the car here. Nothing is far from there. Road in front is very busy (a main thoroughfare), but not at night, so no problems for sleeping. Apartments are fresh, clean, well maintained, fully equipped (dishwasher, microwave, overn, fridge freezer - yes, Wayne is gradually changing those fridge doors to open more easily), not the best views but still great views (best views elsewhere cost a lot more and are often lower standard rooms for the $s). I sure will be back again, and again, and again.

Room Tip: I dont think they have any rooms "less good" - was well designed that all rooms have reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in early Feb 2012. I had room 18 which was on the top floor and faced the town and gondola. The unit was well equiped with a kitchen, large bathroom and was extremely clean. It had a large balcony with outdoor setting and great views. The road directly out front is very busy but I did not find it a problem, it was quiet at night and the bedroom was at the rear of the unit. It was about a 5 minute walk to both Queenstown Central and the gondola, there was a supermarket very close to buy all the essentials. The management were very friendly and helpful. It's not a 5 star resort with pools, spas and 24 hour reception. It is simply an apartment complex with management reception open from 7am to 7pm. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieGlennB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We have had seven nights at the Whistler in Gorge Road Queenstown. I am so pleased we chose to stay there. Several five star reviews on Tripadvisor helped with our decision. We had room 17. It is beautifully decorated, with a couch and chair, stool, big screen TV and a lovely, well appointed kitchen with full size fridge. Two sliding doors lead to a mid size balcony with stunning views over the Queenstown gondola where we watch numerous tandem paragliders float down from the top of the mountain and land just across the road from the apartment. Stunning! There were peeps of the lake and of course the mountains. Beautiful tiled bathroom, spacious, shower, WC and basin with ledges/ vanity unit as well as a washer/dryer. A separate cupboard in the hall stores the iron and ironing board. I found that on the last day - pity - :0).
The Queen bed is comfortable and cosy - good pillows - there is also a single bed in the room. The couch in the lounge is also a pull out double bed if required. Good sized double wardrobe in bedroom with extra duvet and pillows if needed.

Ideally situated if you want to walk into Queenstown - only 3 - 5 mintues walk max. There is a great supermarket just a few minutes walk away too.

Best of all is the great service. This couple are fantastic. They couldn't be more helpful. My son joined us and had his bike on the roof of his 4 wheel drive. They noticed, phoned us and suggested they would lock it up for him. How's that for being mindful of the guests at a time when they were full and very busy. I like to give credit where credit is due - and I have to say if you are looking for a well priced, immaculately clean, well appointed place to stay - within a very short walking distance of Queenstown - then you would find it hard to beat Whistler.
Susan

Room Tip: Room 17 is excellent. There is a little traffic noise during the day - just as we would expect being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suhatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Lovely people and close to town but there is quite a bit of traffic noise. The rooms are a good size but quite worn and some of the appliances need replacing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

WE stayed here over new year and were extremly dissapointed, There are new owners, who make you pay in full for your stay upfront along with giving your credit card details also. The argued forever with us when we said we had to cancell one night because we had a family emergency and the made us pay so we lost alot of money and left very unhappy. The rooms no longer have the washer and dryers only old washing machines, the couches are extremly uncomfortable , and they do not top up your tea and coffee during your stay anymore. They have also put up their prices by ALOT. Bring back the old owners!!! Will never stay here again very dissapointing as it was always pur go to place. The new owners need to take spme lessons in customer service and manners! dont stay here!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Manager at Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
We are very disappointed to read this review as it is standard accommodation business practice to request credit card information and payment on arrival. Threatening us with legal action for doing this was inappropriate and embarrassing for us and the other guests who were waiting in Reception at the time to check in.
Our policy over New Years Eve is a three night minimum stay requirement which the guests were well aware of when they booked the apartment. They were reminded again of this requirement when they phoned and tried to cancel one of those nights about a month before their arrival date. Knowing this they stated at check in that they would not be staying three nights they would only be staying and paying for two. We advised them again that this did not comply with our cancellation policy or minimum stay requirements for this time of year. There was no mention of any family emergency. We also believe no money was lost as the guests did in fact end up staying for the whole three nights.
The replacement washing machine in the Apartment is a brand new top loader, it is not an old machine. The washing machine/dryer that was previously in the apartment was approximately 10 years old. Most of the apartments still have the combination machine and we also have a commercial dryer on site.
We try to keep our prices at a competitive rate. Our rates have only increased at this time of the year by 3%. The guests were well aware of rates and agreed to them at the time they made their booking.
Had the guests requested extra tea and coffee we would have been more than happy to provide them with it. The reviewer failed to mention that we went out of our way to clean their apartment for their early arrival.
It is also very hurtful and upsetting to read comments on our customer service and manners. As you will see from all our other reviews, this has never been in question.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
872 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 58 in Queenstown
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
1.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
1,535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown

Property: Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Address: Corner Gorge Road | PO Box 221, Queenstown 9999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing