We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whistler Holiday Apartments
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here last August for 7 nights. Overall our experience was very good. Jan and Wayne are very friendly and helpful and provided us with many good recommendations for dining and activities. The room location was very good being a short walking distance to the main road in Queenstown. The room contained basic items which met our needs for the week. Our only criticisms would be the couch is not the most comfortable to sit on as it seemed to slope and the mattress wasn't the most comfortable either. However, we would likely return as the value was good, the hosts very friendly and the location was convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ultigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Great owner really helpful and friendly.
The room has got everything u ever need :)
I will rate it for 5 star

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pacdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Whistler for 4 nights in March-April 2012. It's location is great, only a 5 minute walk from the Queenstown CBD. We stayed in room 19, and we found the room to be neat, tidy, and well presented. The hosts were both very friendly and helpful.
My only criticisms would include:
1. Having a dining table in the lounge room (It's great to have a kitchen area to prepare a nice dinner, it's a shame that there isn't anywhere to eat it other than the couch).
2. The room could have been serviced better (we never had the bed made and the kitchen could have been wiped clean from time to time).
Other than these 2 points, we found our stay very positive and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for three nights at the end of March. It was clean, comfortable and pleasant.Nice outlook of the mountain and the gondola. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Busy road during the day but very quiet at night. Extremely reasonable rates. Easy flat walk to town.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Movaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The new managers (about 18 months) Wayne and Jan are true gems! And they themselves make sure the rooms are spot on. Easy walking distance over the sport greens to town, there is no parking in town so that is excellent to leave the car here. Nothing is far from there. Road in front is very busy (a main thoroughfare), but not at night, so no problems for sleeping. Apartments are fresh, clean, well maintained, fully equipped (dishwasher, microwave, overn, fridge freezer - yes, Wayne is gradually changing those fridge doors to open more easily), not the best views but still great views (best views elsewhere cost a lot more and are often lower standard rooms for the $s). I sure will be back again, and again, and again.

Room Tip: I dont think they have any rooms "less good" - was well designed that all rooms have reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in early Feb 2012. I had room 18 which was on the top floor and faced the town and gondola. The unit was well equiped with a kitchen, large bathroom and was extremely clean. It had a large balcony with outdoor setting and great views. The road directly out front is very busy but I did not find it a problem, it was quiet at night and the bedroom was at the rear of the unit. It was about a 5 minute walk to both Queenstown Central and the gondola, there was a supermarket very close to buy all the essentials. The management were very friendly and helpful. It's not a 5 star resort with pools, spas and 24 hour reception. It is simply an apartment complex with management reception open from 7am to 7pm. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieGlennB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We have had seven nights at the Whistler in Gorge Road Queenstown. I am so pleased we chose to stay there. Several five star reviews on Tripadvisor helped with our decision. We had room 17. It is beautifully decorated, with a couch and chair, stool, big screen TV and a lovely, well appointed kitchen with full size fridge. Two sliding doors lead to a mid size balcony with stunning views over the Queenstown gondola where we watch numerous tandem paragliders float down from the top of the mountain and land just across the road from the apartment. Stunning! There were peeps of the lake and of course the mountains. Beautiful tiled bathroom, spacious, shower, WC and basin with ledges/ vanity unit as well as a washer/dryer. A separate cupboard in the hall stores the iron and ironing board. I found that on the last day - pity - :0).
The Queen bed is comfortable and cosy - good pillows - there is also a single bed in the room. The couch in the lounge is also a pull out double bed if required. Good sized double wardrobe in bedroom with extra duvet and pillows if needed.

Ideally situated if you want to walk into Queenstown - only 3 - 5 mintues walk max. There is a great supermarket just a few minutes walk away too.

Best of all is the great service. This couple are fantastic. They couldn't be more helpful. My son joined us and had his bike on the roof of his 4 wheel drive. They noticed, phoned us and suggested they would lock it up for him. How's that for being mindful of the guests at a time when they were full and very busy. I like to give credit where credit is due - and I have to say if you are looking for a well priced, immaculately clean, well appointed place to stay - within a very short walking distance of Queenstown - then you would find it hard to beat Whistler.
Susan

Room Tip: Room 17 is excellent. There is a little traffic noise during the day - just as we would expect being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suhatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
920 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
#35 of 59 in Queenstown
663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#6 of 59 in Queenstown
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coronet View Accommodation
Coronet View Accommodation
#45 of 59 in Queenstown
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler Holiday Apartments

Address: 15-17 Gorge Road, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £121 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whistler Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Whistler Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing