We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for a family”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed with our two boys in the July 2013 school holidays. The room was a home away from home. We had the family suite it had two separate bedrooms with lots of extra blankets and heaters. The kitchen is well equiped and views were really interesting the kids loved it. The location is a short walk to the town even for our 5 year old. The service was friendly and we would stay here again. We would recommend the place for a family its not five star but still a high standard. Many thanks

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingston4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    73
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
165
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

The Whistler Apartments are very clean and modern, with great finishes. Two couples in a two bed apartment were toasty warm all week in negative degree weather. The apartments are a very short 2 min walk to town. Undercover parking was great. Apartments are very convenient to get on the road to the ski resort. Along with being in a great location and being well fitted out, the hosts/owners are so lovely. They assisted enthusiastically with all enquiries and made the stay so comfortable and easy!!! Thank you :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Fabulous accommodation that has all you need. The one bedroom unit we had perfectly suited our 2 adult and 1 child combination. Jan and Wayne go above and beyond and could not have been nicer. Towels are replaced every day and the bin is also emptied. Nothing is too much trouble for this pair and they make your stay more enjoyable. The video collection available in reception is a bonus.
Wayne - keep up the practice of weather forecasting.

Danny, Tanya and Lachlan

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dglavicic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Jan and Wayne were so awesome! What a great place to stay. We left overnight to do a cruise in the Milford Sound, and they just kept our stuff in our room for when we came back. Wayne went down to the store to get milk for our breakfast! :)
The rooms were quite spacious, with a separate living area, kitchen and a washing machine/dryer. It was just outside of downtown Queenstown, so totally within walking distance of everything. We really felt like we were guests in their home. Rooms were clean, as well.
Cannot say enough good stuff.
There was someone in the apartments behind our room who were talking super loud at 5 in the morning (which was not our hotel's fault at all!). But once I told them to be quiet they were. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseSC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

i booked this place after consult with the wife - a warm welcome on arrival & very pleasant almost new in appearance unit very well appointed & for queenstown was great value - surprisingly quiet for a main road location great out look over to the gondola - short walk to fresh choice supermarket - would be a place i would stay at again & recommend to others

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Well equiped two bedroom apartment. Loved the heated floor in the bathroom on the chilly mornings. Lots of good heating. Good kitchen and balcony to go out on to with out door setting. Looking up to the gondola rides and paragliding never a dull moment. The owners were very helpful and nothing was a problem always with a warm smile. Booking out Doubtfull Sound trip and finding out information for us was perfect. They sofa sleeper that we used as a couch is a tad uncomfortable to sit on that is the only thing we could find fault in. Hightly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The living room in our 1 bedroom apartment was a bit small than others we've gotten in NZ. The couch was one of those fold-out-bed ones, which meant it was typically bent, giving the couch an ugly lump. The light also shone into the main bedroom from the hallway. A better blind would be good. The heaters also didn't heat the room well.

Having said that, the managers were excellent and very helpful. This more than made up for the inadequacies in the room.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank droyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Manager at Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Droyad
Thanks for your review. Good to hear you found us excellent and very helpful. It is our aim to make guests feel they are being looked after and leave with a positive and enjoyable experience.

Just to clarify a couple of the matters you raise, it’s a shame you may not have realised that the apartment (and all our apartments) have in fact three heaters, a panel heater, an oil filled heater and a fan heater, plus under floor heating in the bathrooms, a heated towel rail and electric blankets on the beds. We normally get comments from guests that say they are very cozy and warm.

The light shining into your bedroom could have been easily remedied. As far as the couch is concerned none of them are in the condition you describe. It may have been that the sofa bed had not been folded back correctly if this was the case we are sorry it was uncomfortable. We work hard to find ways to improve our apartments but without knowing what apartment you stayed in, makes it very difficult for us to make improvements.

Thanks for bringing these matters to our attention, however we would have liked the opportunity to rectify your concerns (or any guests concerns) during the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 58 in Queenstown
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hurley's of Queenstown
Hurley's of Queenstown
#31 of 58 in Queenstown
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown

Property: Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Address: Corner Gorge Road | PO Box 221, Queenstown 9999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing