We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here just after Christmas - Queenstown was the first place we stopped where we had trouble finding accommodation. Didn't believe the I-Site when they said there was only one room left in the area, because we had seen plenty of 'Vacancy' signs as we drove in. So we started to look and soon found available rooms, but none were appealing. Turned up at Whistler and a cheery "how are you today" from Wayne was met with "I'll be really happy if you can offer me a room for 2 nights". Fortunately he could and after Jan had made sure it had been cleaned to her satisfaction we found ourselves in a corner apartment at the front, lovely views over the mountains and able to watch the paragliders floating down just across the road.

Lovely apartment, very well equipped including washing machine. Wayne and Jan very friendly and helpful - plenty of good advice on local amenities including walks. Easy stroll into town or across to the Skyline.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    70
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
61
162
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
265 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We had an apartment overlooking the mountain and park which was lovely.

It was exceptionally well equipped - including our own washing machine - and spotlessly clean and we couldn't have wished for more - other than a longer stay!

There is under cover car parking but quite a few steps up to the room - though well worth the climb for the view!

The managers/owners were very friendly and helpful and we were very pleasantly surprised how nice Queenstown is.

One or two people had warned us off Queenstown and all the marketing is aimed at the youth sector and adrenalin fuelled sports advertising 70 ways to hurl yourself off the mountain.

However we really enjoyed it. There are some lovely buildings and restaurants and a beautiful park where we watched Queenstown Bowls Club in action. The lake and mountain scenery is sublime.

There are indeed a lot of young folk there but all well behaved and the whole place had a nice relaxed feel. We are certainly glad we went and only wish we could have spent a bit more time there.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

The Whistler is a terrific and affordable lodging option in Queenstown. The location is excellent - just a short 5 minute walk outside of the main town, which means that you can easily get to the action and restaurants and bars of Queenstown, but then be able to return to your apartment and enjoy the peace and quiet!

We spent two nights and really appreciated having a laundry machine in the unit. The washer function of the machine worked well, though the dryer left much to be desired. Fortunately there is a large drying rack that did the job for us just fine.

Wayne and Jan were delightful hosts and full of helpful information. Overall an awesome place to stay if you find yourself in Queenstown!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a great place to stay in Queenstown for under $100 a night. The self catering apartments all have balconies with table and chairs; ours overlooked the hillside with cable cars.
It was very well appointed with huge comfortable bed, luxurious bathroom and very well equipped kitchen, including real coffee and a cafetiere which was a welcome change.
We even did our laundry in the very fast washing machine, hung it out on the balcony using the drying rack supplied and it was dry before bed time.
The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly - overall Top Marks!
There was ample car-parking space and we easily walked into the centre of Queenstown and the waterfront in a few minutes.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs it would be best to ask for a ground floor apartment: many of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here over the New Year break, we had 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay.
The apartment was wonderfully clean and tidy. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed. We were even able to make use of the extensive DVD collection at reception, due to the poor weather!
The apartments are in a great location from town, it was easy to walk to and from town (when the weather wasn't terrible). The one evening we had some sun (NYE), we had spectacular views of the surrounding mountains and were able to enjoy the sun on the balcony whilst enjoying some celebratory bubbly, it was perfect!
The service was over and above wonderful, Wayne and Jan, really made us feel welcome and at home. We were pre-warned that the surrounding Back-Packers could get a little bit rowdy in the evenings however we did not notice any noise whatsoever.
You really get what you pay for at The Whistler and although it was a bit over our budget we were happy to pay as we enjoyed our stay so much!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The apartments are very very nice. Full kitchen, which is great. Grocery very close. Wonderful Wonderful Views of the mountains. WOW! And the owners are just beyond belief nice - Wayne and Jan. You should not look anywhere else for your accommodations in Queenstown.

Room Tip: I had two rooms, #17 on the first two days before my routeburn hike and then #18 on last night, afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profwho88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at The Whistler for 10 days over the New Year 2013/2014 period. The unit is modern and has all the features you could possibly need. It is also very close to the town centre, restaurants/bars and supermarkets so it's location is fantastic. Also the free parking for our hire car was a bonus. We have to admit, the highlight of our stay at The Whistler was its management. Thank you to Wayne and Jan, such beautiful people, so incredibly friendly and helpful, nothing was ever too much trouble for them. We will definitely go back there to stay when we visit Queenstown and would recommend to anyone to stay here whilst visiting Queenstown.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cato_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
4.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown

Property: Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Address: Corner Gorge Road | PO Box 221, Queenstown 9999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing