We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The apartment as very good with good kitchen facilities for inhouse dining if required. Bed was comfortable and the view of the mountains was fabntastic. Owners (Joan & Wayne) were very helpful in places to see and all the good eating places. Would recommend this place to anyone visiting Queenstown. Great time was had.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barra18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    70
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
61
162
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

As soon as we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. We were met by Wayne a (larger than life person) and Jan. Our apartment looked out towards the mountain and the gondola. The apartment was well furnished and equipped with laundry facilities,and well laid out, and very comfortable. Wayne and Jan were helpful in pointing out to us places in the town where we could eat, drink etc. If we had the chance to go back to Queenstown, we would certainly book into The Whistler. The ratings asked for comment on Restaurant and Room Service. The rooms at Whistler are apartments, and there is no restaurant, not that we would really expect one, so by leaving it blank hope that the score is not downgraded. Again, Room Service, Wayne pops into the apartments everyday to take out the rubbish so again 5. By the way, the WiFi is free.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devonshire_Lad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Easy walking distance from town centre. Very friendly service throughout our stay. Clean, tidy and comfortable accommodation. We travelled with a baby and were given a cot and high chair at no extra cost. Will definitely stay again next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w.a
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights during our tour of the south island and had room 18 which we had read bad reviews about the noise from the property behind.Two out of the three night we were there we were kept awake till the early hours from parties at the same property.We found that the rooms were well laid out but had problems with the kettle and also quite a considerable crack in the roof which we thought could collapse at any time.As we had stayed at quite a few self contained places during our trip we were quite shocked that they don't service your room and replace things like coffee and tea.We were very disappointed about the fact that they don't offer free wifi as this was the only place on our three week trip that didn't.On the plus side the views are amazing.

Room Tip: Avoid room 18.If you get this room ask for it to be changed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prissy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Manager at Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for your review – one of the advantages of staying with us is that we, as Managers, live on site. This means we can monitor and hear what is going on around the area and detect and deal with any possible problems. Since reminding the neighbours of their Body Corp Rules about the noise last November there have been no further issues.
Being very “hands on” Managers we take guests to their apartments and explain what to expect regarding servicing etc during their stay. If we failed to mention that you could have the option of either a service without beds made etc or have a more comprehensive service then we apologise if this was not explained.
Regarding Wifi, we do offer Free Wifi available in every apartment for two devices.
From time to time an appliance reaches the end of its useful life and kettles (or electric jugs as we call them) would be replaced with spares we have on hand if any guests let us know.
We think that we offer quite a good range and quantity of teas and coffees and if guests require more, again we would be happy to oblige.
Regards Wayne and Jan
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We loved our stay at the Whistler, and agree with other reviewers. Wayne and Jan were extremely helpful and the apartment was very spacious, clean and well equipped. Free laundry facilities, parking and Wi-Fi always welcome. And Queenstown was a great place to do some walking and relaxing, whatever age you are. We walked up to the top of the gondola, and on towards the Bear track. Stunning views of the Remarkables, and the lake. And a stroll to the park after supper was delightful. Wished we could have stayed longer and would definitely stay at The Whistler again. Excellent value and very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 21, and the bedroom was at the rear of the property and very quiet. It had a singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fids499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placitas, New mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We booked online and were initially awestruck by the lovely kitchen and bath and views of the mountain with the gondolas rising to the Skyline. Wayne was delightful and gave us excellent suggestion for a restaurant (Speights Ale Tavern) which we easily walked to. We spent 2 nights in room 17 and the only criticism we have is that the bed was uncomfortable. Mattress was hard and so was the pillow. Would have preferred a comfy bed and given up the washer/dryer which we didn't need. If you are a 3 person family, staying for several days and want to cook-in and do a little laundry, you couldn't ask for a better place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adobehomesrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here just after Christmas - Queenstown was the first place we stopped where we had trouble finding accommodation. Didn't believe the I-Site when they said there was only one room left in the area, because we had seen plenty of 'Vacancy' signs as we drove in. So we started to look and soon found available rooms, but none were appealing. Turned up at Whistler and a cheery "how are you today" from Wayne was met with "I'll be really happy if you can offer me a room for 2 nights". Fortunately he could and after Jan had made sure it had been cleaned to her satisfaction we found ourselves in a corner apartment at the front, lovely views over the mountains and able to watch the paragliders floating down just across the road.

Lovely apartment, very well equipped including washing machine. Wayne and Jan very friendly and helpful - plenty of good advice on local amenities including walks. Easy stroll into town or across to the Skyline.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
4.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown

Property: Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Address: Corner Gorge Road | PO Box 221, Queenstown 9999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing