We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and convenient”
Review of Blue Peaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Peaks Lodge
Ranked #33 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Blue Peaks lodge in a 1 bedroom unit. This accommodation is the perfect base for seeing all the sights in Queenstown, being just a 10 minute walk to the lake and town through the beautiful botanic gardens and a 20 minute walk to the gondola and wildlife park. The reception and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful and the room was a decent size, very clean, had a comfortable bed and a well equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KattPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

This was a great location for our stay in Queenstown. The rooms are studio style apartments with kitchens and an attached bathroom. Very clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful in arranging for reservations and tickets and it was a short walk through the park into downtown Queenstown. Everything, including the gondola, was within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWtraveller_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Didn't especially like our room here the windows opened out onto the street at ground level but at least it's not that busy a street. Parking was a bit tricky as this isn't the sort of place that had 1 space per unit.
Was pretty close to the lake front and the town centre but as with most places in Queenstown it was a far from flat walk.
On the plus side it was a nice quiet area and a comfy bed so sleeping was easy enough - not that you're supposed to in Queenstown from what I gather!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCMike54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I would like to thank Michael, the Manager, and his team for all his help, great service and friendly services that always make us feel welcomed and at home! If not for Michael, who helped to rectify a problem due to an oversight on the tour company's part, my boyfriend and I would have missed the opportunity to visit Milford Sound and the numerous beautiful waterfalls! Kudos to him and the wonderful staff, who always gave great recommendations for places to eat and visit! Thanks for making our 3-nights stay at Blue Peaks truly memorable and fun! Room is clean and facilities are well-maintained. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Rooms on the next street, behind reception office, are nearer to laundry and small courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrienne312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We were staying 6 nights in Queenstown across 2 stays. We were looking for a 1 bedroom unit in a 4 star motel/apartment, within walking distance of the town centre, and for which we were willing to sacrifice a view of the lake.

No matter what Google maps (or even other maps) might appear to convey, there are very few hotels that are truly within a 10 minute walking distance from the town centre. Most options are so uphill it would take one far longer and far more effort.

We chose this for offering relatively good value for money amongst all properties that we shortlisted. This, too, is somewhat uphill, but very manageable. What we got was what we paid for, and more!

Firstly, we got a room with a view: an absolutely gorgeous glimpse of the lake, the mountains beyond and the Skyline gondola. Apparently, there a few rooms on the property that have such a view (mostly one-bedroom units), are available on request. Ours (201) had the best view and was allotted to us because of the length of the stay.

Secondly, the team at the reception was wonderful. Warm, and very helpful, even helped us evaluate which jet boat ride or which lake cruise to choose. Even before making the decision of where to stay, when I was exchanging emails enquiring facilities and even the difference of their motel vs. their apartments, the responses that I got were warm, friendly, and extremely elaborate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OptimistExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Our stay here was pleasant. The wifi was frustrating because of the high cost, but I just used an internet cafe in the town so it didn't bother me. The rooms were a little outdated as mentioned in other reviews, but again this didn't bother me.
One thing that did bug me was the location. Many people say it is 'an easy stroll', it is an easy stroll INTO town, but not back. It is up a massive hill, and this is not good when you are staying for a skiing holiday and have to walk your rental boots and skis back up the hill from the rental shop! SO if you are staying for that purpose I would stay somewhere closer in town.
Apart from that we had no issues with the service or cleanliness. I won't be staying here again, purely on location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluepeaks, Front Office Manager at Blue Peaks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Thank you for your review of Blue Peaks Lodge. We would just like to point out that ski and snowboards can be delivered each evening by the rental companies and most of our guests take advantage of this service. The skifield transport buses also stop on request, just outside Blue Peaks Lodge. There is also an alternative walking route back from town which misses out the major hill. Just ask one of our friendly staff at reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The lodge could do with an update as the fixtures and fittings were very dated. The room was a good size and in a convenient location making it easy to walk to restaurants etc. I stayed here for 2 nights and probably would not stay here again unless they renovated.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyTravelbug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Whistler Holiday Apartments
Whistler Holiday Apartments
#28 of 59 in Queenstown
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
#36 of 59 in Queenstown
677 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#40 of 59 in Queenstown
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 59 in Queenstown
917 reviews
0 mi away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#47 of 59 in Queenstown
98 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Peaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Peaks Lodge

Address: 11 Sydney Street | Cnr Stanley & Sydney Streets, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#31 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £84 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Peaks Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright, modern motel accommodation in 1 & 2 bedroom or studio units, most with kitchen facilities. All of our clean and comfortable guest rooms have ensuite bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities, Sky Digital TV and complimentary 500mb WiFi internet. Ideal family accommodation and one child under 5 years stays free. Two bedroom wheelchair accessible unit (sleeps up to 4). Blue Peaks has an on-site guest laundry and a friendly reception team available from 07:30 - 22:00 hours. We also offer free off-street parking, free DVD hire, luggage and cycle storage and daily room servicing. We can serve a continental breakfast to your room. Blue Peaks Lodge is conveniently located an easy 5 minutes walk from the centre of Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Peaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Peaks Hotel Queenstown
Blue Peaks Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing