We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good accomodation, friendly & heplfull staff”
Review of Blue Peaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Peaks Lodge
Ranked #33 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We traveled for 4 weeks in NZ this was by far the best accomodation, good cooking facilities, supermarket minutes walk away, centre of town minutes away as well, good location as would be noisy in town Queenstown apears to never sleep.

Room Tip: Did not see pool or restraurant, but many places to eat in the centre of town 5 minutes walk away, n...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Blue Peaks Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Spacious room, with necessary cooking facilities, heater both in room and bathroom. enough parking space. Friendly staff members. Basic facility all available.

Con:

Heater not available in the room. Need to get a portable one from the reception. Heater doesnot heat the room much. Probably a central heater or a wall heater could be better during winter.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Athabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We originally booked here but moved to the Blue Peaks Apartments over the road, which were dearer but but much nicer and suited our requirements better. The rooms are much older than the "Apartments" and in need of a lift - but thats just my view.
A Tip - When booking make sure you're clear which property you are booking into as there is;
A) Blue Peaks Lodge - older, a bit tired but better priced
B) Blue Peaks Apartments. - dearer but much more room and modern

The location is great, right near town and an easy few minutes walk to the shops and restaraunts.

Room Tip: Be clear When booking make sure you're clear which property you are booking into as there is; A...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReidyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed 8 nights with friends staying next door. Accommodation is genuine motel-style, with small lounge/kitchen/dining area and bedroom. Kitchenette was included with microwave and stovetop, also a second bed in the lounge.

For the price we paid, and for a motel, this is as immaculate and as well presented as one can imagine. Floors are spotless, not a mark on the walls, all appliances looked brand new. Chairs and table were in good nick and the bed was very comfy.

Reception area is small but staff were outstanding, Very helpful, professional and knowledgeable. Our flight got cancelled with no notice and the receptionist went out of her way to help our trip get back on track.

Just a couple of downsides from a housekeeping perspective, there was a cloth left in our bathroom one day and the bathmat wasnt replaced on another. Also we left the apartment with the heater and came back to find the heater off and window open! Very chilly!

Location is at the top of a hill, but the camp st way of getting to town is a lot better than the stanley st way, and buses pick you up from directly across the road.

For those looking for cheap, basic accommodation with no bells and whistles, Blue Peaks is as good as you'll find.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are much easier for those carrying skis/boards to room each day.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PGO86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluepeaks, Manager at Blue Peaks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to make such a positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay during your visit to Queenstown.

We look forward to a return visit from you.

Regards
Janelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Perfect place for access to town and shops. The staff gave us lots of good advice and sorted out all our bookings and transfers with a smile. Rooms made up every day. Warm and cosy. Good value. Definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LexiM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The rooms were nice enough and the staff was even nicer. The rooms did get a bit too hot/too cold as the heaters seemed to be super powered heaters. Our view was ok, but the power lines were not so beautiful. We did enjoy the location - very close to downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vashka0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here as part of a bus tour I booked of south island. As I was travelling on my own the apartment I was given was huge. It was for three people, the main bedroom didn't get used. Cleaned every day to a high standard and amenities were given and topped up. Nice service. I used the phone to make local calls and was worried about the price but it came to 20 cents! Location is ok although you have to walk up a steep hill to return from the centre of town. There is a park with a short cut but it is poorly lit and I only used it a night when I saw others walking through it. Walk into town takes about 5 mins. Location is good if you want peace and quiet. Free half an hour internet every day then you paid after that. Seems as though NZ hasn't adopted the free wifi so prevalent across the globe in other accommodation types. I was asked if I wanted skimmed or full fat milk on my arrival and am yet to receive it - my only complaint really. There are plenty of leaflets and pieces of information for Queenstown and the surrounding area, e.g. I ordered a takeaway on my first night here thanks to their takeaway section. Would recommend, but more families.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank massie_le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluepeaks, Front Office Manager at Blue Peaks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you for a lovely review. We promise that next time you come and stay with us you will definitely receive your fresh milk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
#36 of 57 in Queenstown
634 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#43 of 57 in Queenstown
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hurley's of Queenstown
Hurley's of Queenstown
#31 of 57 in Queenstown
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Queenstown
Bella Vista Queenstown
#10 of 57 in Queenstown
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Peaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Peaks Lodge

Address: 11 Sydney Street | Cnr Stanley & Sydney Streets, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#31 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £84 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Peaks Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright, modern motel accommodation in 1 & 2 bedroom or studio units, most with kitchen facilities. All of our clean and comfortable guest rooms have ensuite bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities, Sky Digital TV and complimentary 500mb WiFi internet. Ideal family accommodation and one child under 5 years stays free. Two bedroom wheelchair accessible unit (sleeps up to 4). Blue Peaks has an on-site guest laundry and a friendly reception team available from 07:30 - 22:00 hours. We also offer free off-street parking, free DVD hire, luggage and cycle storage and daily room servicing. We can serve a continental breakfast to your room. Blue Peaks Lodge is conveniently located an easy 5 minutes walk from the centre of Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Peaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Peaks Hotel Queenstown
Blue Peaks Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing