We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So thrilling! But skip the scenic tour”

Skippers Canyon Jet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come with Skippers Canyon Jet and experience unbeatable value as you are taken on a spectacular guided tour of Skippers Canyon followed by a thrilling jet boat ride through the narrowest canyons on the Shotover River. Discover a land rich in gold mining history and breathtaking scenery just a short distance from Queenstown. Skippers Canyon Jet is the must do jet boat trip in Queenstown.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So thrilling! But skip the scenic tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were told by our hotel concierge (and read in other reviews) that Skippers Canyon Jet is better than Shotover Jet because for the same price, you also get a scenic drive and commentary down Skippers Canyon. Totally true. Peter drove us into Skippers Canyon and gave great commentary about New Zealand and the canyon in general. I agree with other reviewers - the ride in was almost as thrilling as the jetboat ride itself! Kevin, our jetboat driver, was friendly, and the ride itself was awesome. It started out somewhat tame (somewhat better than those water rides at amusement parks), but that was because he was going upriver. After a little bit, he then did several 360 spins and picked up speed, maneuvering really closely to the edges of the river, which was pretty mind-boggling. And then he turned around and went downriver... which was basically everything we had experienced but 3x as fast! Super fun.

We decided to do both the Scenic Tour & Jet option, which meant that after the jetboat, we visited a "museum" and spoke to a Skippers local, then did some gold panning. For me and for most people, these additional options are not worth the extra cost - just do the Jetboat Tour. For my husband, who has this weird fascination with gold panning (he watches those gold mining shows on the Discovery/Travel channels), it was pretty awesome. So unless you have someone in your family who is curious about gold panning, save yourself the extra cost and sign up for the Jetboat Tour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank emTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodesie, Director of Sales at Skippers Canyon Jet, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Greetings from Skippers Canyon, thank you fro your feedback, the Scenic Tour and Jet is definately designed for those wanting a half day small group tour, and see life in Skippers Canyon as the gold miners lived back in the day, and try a bit of gold panning in the Sainsbury gold claim. On the hal day trip you can include the jet boating if you want or pass on the jet boating experience if it is not your cup of tea.
For pure thrills the Jet boat trip ticks all the boxes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    94
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The ride through Skipper's Canyon on the way to the river was as exhilarating as the 360 turns on the jet boat! Our bus driver Deon and our boat driver Kevin were both great. Deon had lots of interesting stories and made the drive very fun. Definitely recommend doing this!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A spectacular trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This trip includes a drive into skippers canyon and our driver managed to talk us through the history of gold mining in the region and point out some LOTR filming locations (the gates of mordor are down there) whilst navigating the road which can be slightly hairy in places (hire cars are not allowed on that road!). Following this the jet boat ride was very exciting and of course, the scenery still spectacular. Really excellent trip. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoLuMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent package”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed the bus trip to Skippers Canyon. Our driver made the trip enjoyable with very good commentary and local knowledge, and made the rather hair-raising road seem safe and tame. The scenery was awesome. We had lots of fun in the jet boat, once again the driver was a complete professional, making the ride excellent fun with good local commentary.
Highly recommend this activity to all.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank greenaussie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Best Jet Boat Trip in NZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Put this on your to-do-list. This is the best jet boat trip in NZ. The scenery is spectacular driving into Skippers Canyon. The jet boat ride is for about 30 minutes on the Shotover River. Total trip is about 3 or so hours and such good value compared to other jet boating trips in Queenstown. I have been twice now on the two different tours and have been so impressed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank QT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodesie, Director of Sales at Skippers Canyon Jet, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your great response, we have tried hard to keep this a really value for money product, hence we have kept the same price for the last three years. Always great to hear it is appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skippers Canyon Jet also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Skippers Canyon Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing