We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ahh, luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ahh, luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

After a few days in a campervan, this well-appointed boutique hotel in Queenstown was a very welcome change. We chose Central Bridge based on TripAdvisor reviews and it's relatively reasonable price and were not disappointed. The room was beautifully decorated with many personal touches--clean and elegant design. An incredibly comfortable bed and fabulous bath made the stay feel extra luxurious.

Don't miss the happy hour and enjoy some great appetizers and delicious glass of wine (or beer if you choose). Our conversation with the young lady serving happy hour led us to a delicious dinner in town and some fun stops along the west coast later in our trip.

The easy walk into the town center and huge breakfast made this a perfect spot for a wonderful stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobKat101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    92
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
41
263
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed here for the night of 21 August and had a wonderful time! The room was very comfortable, beautifully presented and had stunning views. We loved the yummy biscuits in the room! The staff were very friendly and the free breakfast included in the price of the room was amazing - they had a full breakfast menu (e.g., bacon & eggs, pancakes, omlettes) and served a great range of really good coffees as well as fruit juices - all for free!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Have just returned home from our second stay at Central Ridge and another very enjoyable experience. On arrival we were upgraded to a luxury room and had a wine and cheese platter delivered to our room since the other guests were out for the nightly wine tasting.

The staff were once again extremely helpful, loved the free wifi and cooked breakfast every morning and an easy walk to town in the evening for dinner. The room was clean, quiet and well furnished/decorated.

Hopefully we will be back in Queenstown next year and I won't hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awetsawdustdemon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We had initially booked a Luxury room for three people at a very good rate, and upon checking in, Kaylene (the hotel owner), offered us a second room (Deluxe) for the third person to stay in at no extra cost for the duration of our stay. We were blown away by her generosity. She was incredibly helpful and accomodating (for example, as I am a vegan, she made sure to let me know there would be vegan options for breakfast, and even enquired as to whether or not I would require vegan canapes for wine testing, which was a nice thought!).

Both the rooms were beautiful and extraordinarily well-kept. The beds were very comfortable and the ensuites were fantastic. The breakfast they serve is great (the freshly prepared fruit salad is amazing).

The Hotel itself is lovely and peaceful, and has a very relaxed, personal feel to it (they even have a resisdent cat - simply adorable!).

As others have mentioned, Central Ridge Hotel is situated in an area which is conveniently close to the heart of Queenstown, so plenty of thnigs are well within walking distance.

We would definitely reccomed this hotel to anyone staying in Queenstown, and would love to return sometime in the future.

Many thanks to everyone at Central Ridge for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZTraveler_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

This hotel is located 2 minutes walk from Queenstown's main streets and beautiful Queenstown Gardens. We arrived after a disappointing reception at the nearby Copthorne Hotel and were warmly received by Kaylene. We were upgraded to a Luxury room at no extra charge. The hotel inclusions are beyond compare - included WiFi internet, included gourmet breakfast, daily newspapers, included laundry service, included parking, and Kaylene even booked our activities at no charge/commission. The breakfasts are delicious - cinnamon french toast dipped in maple syrup, eggs benedict on smoked salmon... divine! The staff made us very welcome and enhanced our enjoyment of Queenstown 200%.

Room Tip: The luxury rooms on the top story have the best view over Queenstown
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We chose this hotel based on the reviews from Trip advisor and were slightly disappointed.

The location of this hotel is good, with just a few minutes walking distance to the town center.

The staff we met was also friendly and helpful throughout our stay, giving us tips and organizing bookings. Also, we had unlimited free access to Wi-Fi.

We found however that we paid too much for what we got.

The room is nice but not special, the same applies to the bathroom. There is no view from the room, and no balcony. As a consequence, we spent most of our time outside, only coming back to take a shower and sleep.

We stayed there as we spent only 3 nights in Queenstown. We would have looked for a nicer location for the price we paid if staying for a longer period.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BYS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Owners of this hotel were wonderful to work with and incredibly accommadating. Due to weather, our scheduled trips needed to be rearranged and rescheduled and the owner was fabulous in helping to get this setup. Our trip would not have been the same without their assistance. The breakfast is great and really handy to have right on site. The location in town is also really handy. We had no car and never missed it. One could walk to everything within 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bikemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Ridge Boutique Hotel

Property: Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Address: 4 Sydney Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Mountvista Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Central Ridge Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel (“Central Ridge”) is perfectly positioned right in the heart of Queenstown, and it is a stone throw away from dozens of restaurants, outdoor cafes, and recreational activities that occupy the breezy waterfront and easy-going pedestrian malls. Central Ridge offers well-appointed, cozy and spacious rooms with a comfortable bed and continental breakfast. The team have plenty of local knowledge to guide and advice to you the best restaurants in town, fun filled outdoor activities. The attractions nearer to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel includes:- - Pedestrian mall at Queenstown centre (walking distance 2-3minutes); - Restaurants and outdoor cafe along side waterfront at Lake Wakatipu (walking distance 4-5 minutes); - Queenstown Garden (walking distance 2-3 minutes); - Steamer Whaft for the cruise “Lady of the Lake” to Walter Peak. They said no trip to Queenstown is complete without a cruise to Walter Peak High Country Farm (walking distance 4-5 minutes to Steamer Whaft); - Skyline Gondola (walking distance 10 minutes); - Coronet Peak ski area (driving 20 minutes) - Remarkable ski area (driving 40 minutes) - Vineyard tour activities (driving about 20 minutes) Our boutique hotel offers a very unique experience. We balance the privacy of a large hotel with the personal service of a boutique bed & breakfast. Queenstown accommodation doesn't get any better than Central Ridge Boutique Hotel, with its excellent value for money, and exceptionally high standards of accommodation, in-room massage, cafe and guest customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Ridge Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Ridge Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Central Ridge Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing