We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What a fantastic weekend. The Proprieter is extrodinarily knowledgeable about the area. If she makes a recommendation carefully consider it. We found her remarkable. She made several suggestions of activities and they were always spot on. Breakfast and Canapes were outstanding and the message is not to be missed. The lounge downstairs was amazing, next time we will spend more time there. We will be back

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon suite and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The breakfast was delicious, the host was lovely, the facilities were excellent! The room was clean and spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. Close to the centre of the town, only a few minutes of walking. I would highly recommend this place. I loved it!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We visited in the shoulder season for Queenstown and I'm not sure if the owners were away, but our welcome was not very pleasant. Similar to other reviewers experiences, no one was really around when we showed up. The host did not speak english very well and it was hard to communicate. We were not given am explanation of any of the amenities. We did not know if breakfast was provided as it seemed to be open some mornings and not others. The rooms were nice, but not as nice as they look in the website pictures. Our first morning we ran out of hot water 2 minutes into the first shower. The location is good and walking distance from anything we needed to do. Also the sheets were very nice and the mattress was ok. However, when we return to Queenstown we will not return. I think we could get better quality for the money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herbit14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralRidge, Director of Sales at Central Ridge Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Greetings from Central Ridge Boutique Hotel!

Thank you for choosing Central Ridge Boutique Hotel for your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings at check in from our new staff when you check in. We take this review very seriously and will share with our new staff for their immediate improvement to our normal high standard of guest service.
We would like to share with you this bit of information, when you book through booking engine to stay with us, you have chosen a room rate without breakfast, when you receive your booking confirmation from the booking engine you have book, you would have received confirmation that the room you have chosen are without breakfast. We would like to apologies also that our new staff who attended to you did not bring this to your attention by offering to you the option of adding breakfast and it is also our custom to find out what activities you may have, so we could accommodate the breakfast request before you leave for your activities.

On a separate note, thank you for the high rating for the hotel’s location and rooms.
Once again, we extend our apologies for any inconvenienced caused and we look forward to welcome you back.

We would like you to experience our good guest service not only at check in but also of our good guest service prior your arrival, which is our custom guest service we are rated very highly for and we do hope we will be able to host you again in future, so you too will experience our good customer service. Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts and experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

It is a short walk to the centre of town, the staff are friendly and helpful, the room we stayed in (G2) is spacious and clean with free wifi. I cannot find any negatives except maybe a broken tv remote?? insignificant..
We enjoyed our stay very much, thanks Ailey & co! We will not hesitate to stay again next time we return to Queenstown

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank omar e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

No one was around when we arrived in the early evening. After much hello-ing a young man appeared and showed us into an office furnished with a shabby, sheet draped sofa. Not a good start. Everything got better after that, our host was very helpful, the room was fine and breakfast was excellent. It's location is perfect , a short walk through a lovely park put it far enough from the center of town to be quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank webaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great hospitality by the owner, Ailey and her family, Yelia and Molly. Owner owned and operated businesses never fail to amazed me as they take extra care and passion in their business as compared to an over commercialized/franchise businesses. Although moonlight room doesn't come with a glass ceiling to view the moon, my room has a great view of the gondolas and mountains (Stayed @ T2 room). Cozy room. Their signature omelet is a must try for egg lovers. Approximately 10 minutes walk to town center. Limited supply of car parks inside hotel compound. Needs improvement with the shower screen whereby it doesn't really block the water from flooding the bathroom floor. Overall a hotel that I will recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The owner was wonderfully warm and friendly upon arrival, helping us with dinner reservations and suggestions for activities. The room was large and sunny (room T3) with a view of the edge of the gardens. Great location for a walk to the city centre. Breakfast was lovely. Room was a bit pricey but overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMO1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Ridge Boutique Hotel

Address: 4 Sydney Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Mountvista Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £147 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Central Ridge Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel (“Central Ridge”) is perfectly positioned right in the heart of Queenstown, and it is a stone throw away from dozens of restaurants, outdoor cafes, and recreational activities that occupy the breezy waterfront and easy-going pedestrian malls. Central Ridge offers well-appointed, cozy and spacious rooms with a comfortable bed and continental breakfast. The team have plenty of local knowledge to guide and advice to you the best restaurants in town, fun filled outdoor activities. The attractions nearer to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel includes:- - Pedestrian mall at Queenstown centre (walking distance 2-3minutes); - Restaurants and outdoor cafe along side waterfront at Lake Wakatipu (walking distance 4-5 minutes); - Queenstown Garden (walking distance 2-3 minutes); - Steamer Whaft for the cruise “Lady of the Lake” to Walter Peak. They said no trip to Queenstown is complete without a cruise to Walter Peak High Country Farm (walking distance 4-5 minutes to Steamer Whaft); - Skyline Gondola (walking distance 10 minutes); - Coronet Peak ski area (driving 20 minutes) - Remarkable ski area (driving 40 minutes) - Vineyard tour activities (driving about 20 minutes) Our boutique hotel offers a very unique experience. We balance the privacy of a large hotel with the personal service of a boutique bed & breakfast. Queenstown accommodation doesn't get any better than Central Ridge Boutique Hotel, with its excellent value for money, and exceptionally high standards of accommodation, in-room massage, cafe and guest customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Central Ridge Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Ridge Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Central Ridge Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing