We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent”
Review of Villa Del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Del Lago
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This was our third stay in Villa del Lago. We were a bit concerned that there had been a change of owner since we last stayed there 3 years ago but happily it is still first class.
The facilities in the apartments are great, oven, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. There is no air conditioning but we didn't miss it although if it was very warm that might be a problem but there is an air vent that brings in the air from outside and being beside the lake (with great views) we found the apartment sufficiently cool even after a few 25 degree days. There are steps involved as the apartments go down towards the lake so if you have any difficulty with steps/stairs make sure to get an apartment near the top.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emptyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    76
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
133
308
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Myself and my family stayed here for a week last year whilst travelling to Queenstown for a family wedding. Having been to Queenstown before we knew the scenery was stunning but our breathes were still taking away when we walked into our villa and saw the views we were going to have from the living room! We travelled with my 4 month old son hence the reason we went self catering. Villa Del Lago is not in the centre on of Queenstown but a 5 minute drive from the centre towards the airport. This suited us fine as we had a hire car for the duration of our stay and it was nice and quiet location. You can either walk along the road into Queenstown (uphill coming back so not for the faint hearted!) or walk the gravel path along the lake which took us about 20-25 mins with the buggy. Again there were a lot of steps from the villa down to the gravel path so not ideal if you have mobility problems.

We loved our stay here and family that came to visit also commented on the level of accomodation. The villa was split over 3 levels. One bedroom upstairs, open plan kitchen, living room and dining room on the ground floor and 2 bedrooms on the basement level (master en-suite). Family bathroom was also on the basement level. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowWonderingStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Great place to stay, clean with fantastic views over the lake and only a few steps down to the Frankton Track and lake side. Highly recommend and will be staying here next time in Queenstown, very friendly hosts. Just watch out for parking and steep drive way.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantLarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Views of the lake, quiet, spacious and friendly. Plus good value for money.

Just out of Queenstown, but close enough to walk (15 minutes).

Rooms (we had a king) are apartment style and have cooking facilities if you need it. Better then being in the noise of town, but everything you need.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Excellent accommodation, clean and with the most amazing views, this was a very peaceful place. It was a bit difficult to enter the hotel with an extremely steep drive (watch out for cars around the sharp bend). This was a great base and a lovely place to come back to. The only downside was the smell of sewerage was quite pungent during the evening outside.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyWagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDelLago_11, Owner at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Many thanks for your review. We are pleased to advise that the Queenstown Council have rectified the pungent smell that was wafting along the Frankton Track. This is frustration for us too. We are glad you had a great stay and look forward to having you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stunning outlook over the lake to the Remarkables. The owners were very helpful and informative of the area. The appartment was fully fitted with all of the expected fittings and furnishings 2 LCD TVs with 6 poor reception chanels but a very extensive video library. WI-fi on a $10 scratch card but we got a complimentary one. They are changing systems later this year as I understand to a free one or lower cost.We were in No16 which involves carrying cases down two flights of stairs. There is a flat 25 min walk to town, 2 golf size umbrellas avaiable for rainy weather. On the drive up to Glenorchy we did a side trip up to Moke Lake where ther is a superb walk around the lake with stunning views. The airport is only 10 mins away and a New World supermarket near the airport.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnludkiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The villa is just around <10 mins drive from the airport. Checkin was quick. The staff was friendly &helpful providing us with a map and some guides to the city and things to do around. We had a 1 bedroom apartment. There are steep stairs to the apartments so beware if u have heavy & big luggages. The apartment itself is very spacious, clean & tidy. All amenities are provided. Kitchen was fully equipped. Fireplace to keep the living room warm. Bed is queen size and there's a portable heater. Laundry can be done as well as there's washing machine, basin, dryer though we never used them. There's only a bath with shower attached, I'd have preferred a separate shower box as it might be slippery & dangerous. There's towel warmer and heater in the bathroom which were definitely a plus. The villa is an easy 25 mins walk to town, we enjoyed the daily walk and returned by cab which costs around $12.50. The view was amazing. Overall we fully enjoyed our stay in queenstown and would definitely return with our family in future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Lago

Property: Villa Del Lago
Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing