We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Villa Del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Del Lago
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Great hospitality! It's been our second stay in Villa Del Lago and the services were still outstanding. The living room is spacious with a great view of lake Wakatipu. The kitchen is great so that we could have cantonese food for dinner two out of four nights stay. The location is quite convenient, 3 mins drive to shopping area and 5 mins drive to airport. I was feeling comfortable and relax just like at home again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodschanchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
There are newer reviews for Villa Del Lago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

Out of all our stays in Nzl, Villa Del Lago definitely ranked first. We had an amazing view of the turqoise lake, snow capped mountains and blue skies all in one. The full length glass doors made it all the more magnificient. Our room was 2 stories down from the carpark, which meant lugging of our heavy luggages was needed as well as running down to escape the wind. Nevertheless, this meant: 1) better views 2) privacy + quiet and 3) just a new steps down to the walking track + lake. We loved all of this. The apartment came with a huge kitchen with all the necessary. We enjoyed that bathroom that had a heater and heated heated racks. The bedroom had ventilation (which we did not find in our last few stays). The electric fire place was also great! We drove around queenstown so I have no idea how convenient it is to walk but it sure didnt feel far. Cheers to this great place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

Loved walking up every morning with a mountain view! Really clean beds. Three levels was nice but had to walk down all three levels to get to the bathroom.The balcony overlooking the lake is spectacular. Wonderful staff- more than helpful. We rented Lord of the Rings every night for free.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisJess1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Lovely customer service even though we accidentally set off the fire alarm! Very accommodating, clean and neatly kept apartments with amazing (jaw-dropping) views. Parking available and close to city and mountain ranges (for skiing).

Would definitely book again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedPumpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

A friendly and helpful greeting at reception, and then we were shown to our warm, inviting one bedroom apartment, with an explanation of the amenities. I cannot think of anything that we would have liked that hadn’t already been thought of, and done so very tastefully.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time there (5 nights), it was homely, well appointed, the daily service exceptional, and we thought the rate was very reasonable too.

Our stay was during October, so the cooler weather meant that not being able to have a window open during the night was no issue . . . am not sure that it would have been as comfortable in warmer weather? but it was not a problem for us at all. We occasionally had the sliding door partially open, which was perfectly adequate during waking hours. The rare time other guests strolled in the vicinity, did not worry us at all, but could be an issue for those that desire the upmost in privacy. Also, if stairs are a problem, the lowest floor (closest to the lake) is not for you, but we loved being there and furthest away from the road.

Villa del Lago has some great reviews and comments on TripAdvisor, which is why we chose it . . . along with that we wanted to be central to the local golf courses but in a quieter part of Queenstown, but with a view. It worked perfectly for us, and will stay again when next in the area.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank PaintedSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Not all the rooms are the same. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the middle level and there are considerable issues to be aware of with these rooms. Firstly the good news, yes there are great views, reception is friendly and the units are reasonably well equipped except for the TVs which show a very poor SD version of SKY. The TVs should really be upgraded to SKY HD Digital to reflect the price paid for the units.

But the middle level apartments have awful long steep outside stairs to get to and from the car park and worse the entrance to all the apartments have a path right along the front so that everyone passing can look into your apartment. There is no privacy unlike the top or bottom level apartments. These middle level apartments are built into the hillside and there is no fresh ventilation at night. The only air is from the sliding doors which are naturally closed at night. There is a ventilation fan which you can leave running at night but it is noisy and not very effective. So do your research if you want to get a decent room.

Room Tip: Lake Front rooms and ones at the top offer more privacy and better views and no steep hike to the ca...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We did lots of search for the right property to stay and we always do. Villa Del Lago was absolutely perfect. Its a 20 minutes walk along the Lake Wakatipu to the centre of Queenstown.
Our apartment was fully equipped and in excellent conditions. You wake up in the morning and can see the view from your bed already!
The staff helped us with our tours while we were still in Australia!
This was our first trip to New Zealand and will never forget it!
September is quiter and still has all the snow caps mountains while being warmer.

Room Tip: Contradictory to views, it is actually best to be in the lower part, meaning the bottom near the Lak...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Serge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Lago

Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £166 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing