We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location and great apartment”
Review of Villa Del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Del Lago
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fab location and great apartment”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We've just spent 3 nights staying with extended family at Villa Del Lago while on a ski trip. The apartment was warm and spacious, with a marvellous view of the lake and mountains. The owner was very friendly and helpful on our arrival and we were impressed at the amenities provided. It is only a quick trip into town for ski rental, dinner etc (although we ordered pizza to be delivered one night!). The rooms were very clean and the linen, pillows, mattresses etc all of a high quality. We slept very well! Also the best shower that we have EVER had in rented accommodation - truly wondrous. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 12, which was 3 bedrooms with several balconies and a lovely view. I think all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    75
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
131
306
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We booked 2 nights follow positive reviews from TA. Not disappoint at all. Great location, we could spend days just sitting in room looking at view in front of us, you even can see view while you lay down in bedroom.

Great design and very thoughtful. Huge room with couch and dining table. Full kitchen equipments. Love the heather in lounge room. Big and warm bathroom with tub

*We take away Aggy's Fish and Chip and dine in room. Great combination! Why would you spend time and money somewhere else when you have a fabulous view in front of you! Lol

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopycino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Villa del lago
OMG !! This place is just perfect !!
Extraordinary view just beautiful atmosphere all the time ! Rooms are just spacious with all equipment ! Kitchen is perfect ! Sound system Oº°˚˚°ºh yes - bose dock ! You have artificial bon fire which is like a lamp for yu in winter ! Overall must stay and 2000% recommended

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj Nynosvn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDelLago_11, General Manager at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Wow. What a wonderful review! Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Gorgeous warm tidy apartments, furnished with comfort and everything u need to cook a meal.
Home away from home. Very clean and love coming back to a made up room after a hard day on the snow.
Will def stay here when we visit again.
Just beautiful, views topped it off.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleighcuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDelLago_11, General Manager at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thanks. We are so pleased your parents had such a wonderful time. They were delightful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

i am writing this review on behalf of my parents as unfortunately i didn't get to stay here! Excellent value for money. Free wi-fi. Warm, clean and comfortable with the best views on the lakes edge. We booked our holiday accommodation in Queenstown somewhere else as we have a large family and were on a budget. My parents are in 60-70 yr age group and have never travelled overseas so i wanted this to be a perfect experience. I spent hours reading all the reviews before booking them at Vill Del Lago due to all the amazing reviews. they were given the one bedroom room with wheelchair access as i was a bit concerned about all the steps. My parents walked into town most days. Some days they just soaked up the views of the Remarkables from their room. We can honestly say you wont be disappointed! Excellent customer service from Charlotte. She booked our trips to Milford and Doubtful Sound. My mum and dad were well looked after. The staff even came in at night and turned their lights on and warmed the room up ready for their late arrival back from Milford Sound trip. We were so envious and wished we had booked this hotel for ourselves too. Thanks Charlotte for making my mum and dads trip so memorable.

Room Tip: If stairs are a worry or for eldery guests request the room with wheelchair access
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussiehoneymooners12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed at Villa Del Lago recently for 8 nights, and what a wonderful experience it was! Beautiful accommodation that was even nicer than the photos suggested. Excellent location on the lake with spectacular views, and just far enough out of town to keep the place private and extrememly peaceful! Serviced apartments were also a nice bonus. The owners are also absolutely lovely, and gave us some of the best trip planning advice we could ask for, from dining to tours to activities. Will return here every time we are in Queenstown in future!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Token23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I honestly couldn't say enough good things about this place it ticked all the boxes and I'm someone who is very hard to please when it comes to accommodation for family holidays, We will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Lago

Property: Villa Del Lago
Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing