We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Spot in Queenstown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Del Lago
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot in Queenstown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Villa del Lago is just the right fit for my wife and me -- great location a short walk away from town away from the rowdy late night backpacker areas, large, lovely rooms all with beautiful views of the lake, and great kitchen if you want to save money on food (we spent $26 on a burrito in town). For the price, there's no better place to stay in the area.

This is our second visit to Queenstown and, after staying at Villa del Lago in 2013, there was no question where we'd stay on the return trip. The owners have great restaurant and activity recommendations in the area -- in the summertime (the only season we've visited Q-town) there are an endless supply of great picnic spots, hikes, and other outdoor activities in the area, and they seem to know them all.

Suggest checking out the Boat Shed Cafe, a nice walk east from the hotel on the lakeside path, and play frisbee golf at the course inside Queenstown gardens -- one of the only free things you can do in the city (well, excluding the $5 disc rental charge).

Room Tip: Lowest level rooms (we stayed in unit 16) have best views -- must descend 2 flights of stairs, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joetaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    71
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
129
299
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was by far the best accommodation we had in our 2 weeks trip in South Island. Great, well appointed apartment with spectacular views and everything you need to feel at home far away from home. We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 nights stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IoanaDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Aroha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Wonderful scenery and the walking track was 50 metres from our room. The layout and the furnishing features were out standing. We were part of a wedding group and we could not fault the service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
435 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We booked this accommodation for 2 nights having explored Trip Advisor and other searches and were very with the choice. From the time of arrival we had a great stay. The reception staff were most welcoming and our largish unit overlooking the lake superbly fitted out, separate bedroom and lounge (with a gas fire - effective and nice ambience). The bathroom is of good size and toiletries first rate. The unit contained a kitchenette if one wished to cater; eating out for us was the preferred option on a holiday sampling the local restaurants. The location is quiet and the views especially at sunset superb as it faces easterly over Lake Wakatipu. Our bed was very comfortable and that plus the quietness and night air made for a great sleep. Would certainly recommend the Villa. One challenging note is the entrance, off the main Frankton Road. Even knowing where the Villa is located, the sharp turn in and the steepness of the drive requires some care. The Villa is located about a 20-minute walk or 5-minute drive out of the CBD area of Queenstown. Views of the lake and mountain ranges in the late afternoon are fantastic and the units have a deck from which you can enjoy the quiet and perhaps sample that wonderful Otago wine.

Room Tip: If you have room 8-9 you have to carry bags down stairs, parking a little way away. Great views howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilthetravellerXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Had a wonderful stay in January 2014 for 7 night. Nick & Charlotte are great hosts. During our stay we were in a couple of Units. The lakefront one bedroom had outstanding views and very handy to the lakeside walkway. The 3 bedroom Villa was very spacious and also had good views. Kitchens in all the Units were very well appointed. We stayed one night in Unit 10 which did not have a great view and is more suited to disability visitors. Only a couple of negatives and that is if you do have mobility issues there are a lot of stairs on site particularly from the lakeside units up but wasn't an issue for us. The other negative was not many Sky channels for my sports mad other half!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment (an upgrade from a one bedroom) and couldn't have asked for anything else. The kitchen had everything we needed, a comfortable and spacious lounge area and our own washer and dryer. We also had two balconies with amazing views over the lake. Even though it is on the main road into Queenstown you couldn't hear any traffic. Recommended!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gecco009Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This resort has fabulous views of the lake.
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, which had a separate living room and kitchen.
The facilities are extremely modern.
The resort isn't exactly centrally located and is about a 8-10 minute drive from central Queenstown.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDelLago_11, General Manager at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your review. Google Maps accurately locate Villa del Lago 1.7kms or 4 minutes by car to central Queenstown. Guests are welcome to check this with their smart phones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Lago

Property: Villa Del Lago
Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing