We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is just excellent at Villa Del Lago”
Review of Villa Del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Del Lago
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything is just excellent at Villa Del Lago”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stunning views! Mini apartment - large kitchen lounge area, washer/dryer in room. Bed very comfortable and all very clean. Free wifi too with no restriction. One of the best places we've stayed in NZ. Five minute drive to town. 30 minute leisurely stroll along lake to town.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    75
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
131
305
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have booked a suite but when we arrived there was no vacancy so they have given us a 3 bedroom villa . Breathtaking ! Very , very nice ! There are 2 balconies with the most beautiful views . The apartment is very spacious , well furnished , comfortable and clean . The attendance is friendly and pleasant and a full daily housekeeping . We loved the trail bordering the lake . We intend to return .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent 3 nights here and were very happy with our choice. The one bedroom apartment is very spacious, comfortable and had every thing we needed for our stay. The underfloor bathroom heating was great as was the cosy gas fire and the internal laundry was a bonus. The apartment had a lovely view over the lake. Reception staff were most pleasant and attended to our needs including supplying umbrellas and videos. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lachie255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mollymook, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very spacious,modern apartments, close to town. Easy walking distance along the waters edge to restaurants and gardens. Beautiful views from all rooms looking across the water. Beds very comfortable with bathrooms for each room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama-machi, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Forget about everything else, if you are looking for an amazing panoramic view of Lake Wakatipu, then you won't do better than the Villa Del Lago. This is not one of those places with an "ocean view" where you can only see the water if you twisted your body over the balcony and saw it from the corner of your eye. The water is your ONLY view. It is so serene and pristine and you're amazed that you can wake up to something so majestic.

PRO's:
1) Great staff and owners. I made a mistake in regards to our arrival date and didn't pick up on that until less than 7 days before my trip. The owners refunded the money without any hassle. Their understanding set the tone for the trip…They could have easily said "no" because I was past the change notification time period. We were really grateful!
2) Loved the washer and dryer. I had clean clothes everyday and left our trip with clean clothes.
3) Great water pressure and water quality.
4) Great recommendations on tours from the owners. They are the most knowledgable of all the staff…stick with them.
5) The location. It's a 20-30 minute walk into the town center. However, it's less than 7 minutes by car. It's also less than 10 minutes away from the airport and Remarkables Shopping Center. Also, it is so easy to get to Arrowtown, the wineries, and bungy jumping/ziplining from here.
6) Wifi was reliable most of the time.
7) Did I mention the view?

CON's:
1) The bed in the second bedroom felt lumpy. It reminded me of the only mattress I could afford right out of college.
2) I wouldn't say the kitchen was immaculate…but it was cleanly enough.
3) Oh, the television…remotes hardly worked, the DVD collection at the front desk is dated, and the only channel worth watching was CNN. I guess you're not supposed to be in Queenstown to watch television though.
4) No fitness center. However, there is a walking/running trail right in front of you.


If we went back to Queenstown, this is the only place I would stay at!!! I saw some of the other hotels that looked so amazing on the internet, but then when I saw them in person they were far from being waterfront.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuvetsforDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked this place based on the previous good reviews on tripadvisor and I must say that all the good comments are all true. We booked 3 bedroom apartment and it's spacious, comfortable, spotless, full modern facilities with fantastic view of the lake. The staff are all very helpful and gave us (1st timer in Queenstown) some very good advice on activities and how to plan our days.
The place is around 20 minutes walk to town center along the river walk, perfect for me. But if you prefer not to walking so much, you can always drive which is 3 minutes drive to town center.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I made this our first stop on our recent visit to South Island. What an ideal place! The view from our large windows in the living room and kitchen was stunning. Some of our best photos from our trip were taken right from our balcony. The place was spotlessly clean and the people who worked there were very helpful. We were impressed by the amount of space we had - a living room with a cozy gas fireplace, a well equipped kitchen, bedroom, bath and washer/dryer. We had an unobstructed view of the lake and the Remarkables. We also enjoyed the 25-minute walk into Queenstown, which was on a walking path right along the lake.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDelLago_11, Owner at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thanks for this, and for posting your gorgeous sunrise and sunset photos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Lago

Property: Villa Del Lago
Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing