We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic NZ holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Del Lago
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic NZ holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Villa Del Lago for 11 days during our ski holiday. We could not fault the accommodation. Had a 1 bedroom villa which had the best views of the lake and the Remarkables. Was very neat and cosy. The staff were very helpful, often booking us cabs and making reservations for dinner for us in Queenstown at our request. There was a drying room for our ski gear and also a locker for boards/skis. Villa Del Lago is also in a great location close to town (20 minute scenic walk along the lake) Already planing next years holiday. Would defiantly stay here again. Awesome!!!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacko861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    71
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
129
299
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We are staying in a 2 bed villa with 2 babies under 2 years. The reception staff are delightful/ helpful and kind. There is plenty of space, a well appointed kitchen, really nice shower, everything is clean and the view is magnificent! Fires/ underfloor bathroom heating and nice towels.
Negatives; slightly dated and products are non name brand, queen not king bed and it's expensive.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melb2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDelLago_11, General Manager at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Our ongoing programme of decor renewal has seen all the following new items installed within the last 12 months: Villa sofas, all downlights, most bedside lights, all coffee tables and dining tables, valences and duvet covers. We are currently moving ahead with bathroom renovations. All products that are complimentary for guests to enjoy are sourced from leading reputable hotel suppliers and all proudly carry their brands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just stayed for a week in a one bed suite. The apartments was excellent and well fitted out. All of the utensils in the kitchen were of really high quality. Pretty unusual as most apartments have very ordinary cookware. In fact because of the brilliant views we tended to stay at home and eat dinner, drink wine and watch the view rather than go out to eat. No restaurant in town has better views.

All furnishings were excellent and having an actual bath to use after a day skiing is really appreciated.

The walk into town is about 25 minutes. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We go to Queenstown most years so we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brissie-based
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossie
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The villas here are perfectly located on Queenstown’s foreshore, with the most amazingly stunning views in the world, across Lake Wakatipo. The view here changes by the hour, from covered snow-capped mountains with low hanging cloud in the mornings, to a picture perfect view of the mountains at lunchtime with bright blue sky, to the hanging mist over the lake in the afternoons. You can never get too much of the view here, its simply stunning. The villas are large and would suit a family and are equipped with just everything you’ll need for a perfect stay. Nothing has been forgotten. The fire was on when we arrived. There is central heating also. The beds are super comfortable and have a great view too through the open plan lounge room and glass sliding doors onto the picturesque (to die for views) of the alps and lake. Each unit has an allotted car space close by, but you WILL need a car to access town otherwise its a 15 minute walk. There is a great walking track around the water’s edge to town. This was the only hotel in our week in Queenstown, that consistently had a NO VACANCY sign up. The villas were serviced daily and the room service team missed nothing in blitzing and cleaning our suite to the highest standard. They are also very friendly as was the reception staff. I would highly recommend this property and would never consider staying anywhere else. This is a brilliant address, and extremely comfortable. I can't imagine there being anything better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDelLago_11, General Manager at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Wow, thanks for your review. We are so pleased you had such a great stay. The view is certainly magic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We came late in the afternoon we ended up with a much bigger unit than we had booked. An outstanding view over the lake, comfortable beds and large rooms. Staff in reception were bright and helpful. Apartments are serviced daily and are spotless. Although next to the Frankton road it is quiet and peaceful as it is lower than the road. Great balcony to watch planes, helicopters and boats as well as an amazing view of the mountains.

Room Tip: Bookings.com helped us get a great apartment for a reasonable price. Come in later so you might get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurelK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful room with stunning views and great amenities. Very friendly and helpful staff, with owner driving us into town as he was on the way. 5min taxi ride into town. Bus transport to snow fields within 100m of hotel. Fast WiFi with free topping up if data limit reached.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Briarna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed one night in the One Bedroom Suite which was very spacious. It has a living room, fully equipped kitchen, dining room, bedroom, laundry area and bathroom. The living and dining room has an excellent view of the Lake Wakatipu and the mountains. There is a direct path from the suite which leads to the lakeside Frankton walkway. The laundry area has both a washer and a dryer, and it also came with washing powder which is really handy. The interior design of the suite looked somewhat dated though, as you can see from their website. Otherwise this would have been quite the perfect accommodation.

Although we were given a generous 5GB of wifi, the connection in the suite was so weak that we could scarcely get online most of the time.

The property is a few minutes drive from the main Queenstown centre. And depending on which suite/villa you get, you may have to manage a few flights of steps to get to your unit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palliechen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Lago

Property: Villa Del Lago
Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing