We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it very much”
Review of Villa Del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Del Lago
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Enjoyed it very much”
Reviewed 22 February 2009

My husband and I just returned from a 7 night stay at Villa Del Lago and really enjoyed it. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment (#9) and had a wonderful view of the Remarkables mountain range. The apartment was VERY clean and bright and the managers (Clare and her husband John) couldn't have been nicer. One entire wall of the apartment is glass, so you'll want to pull the curtains closed at night for privacy, but the view is incredible. I wouldn't classify Villa Del Lago as a 5 -star accommodation (I reserve that for the Ritz), but it certainly would rate 4-stars. Daily cleaning is included and we had the local paper delivered every morning. The kitchen had everything you'd need if you decided to cook one evening (we did). All in all, it was a great location and very nice apartment for 2 people (it might be a bit tight for more, but the sofa did open up to a bed if more people stay overnight).

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    75
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
131
306
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

My husband and I went to Villa Del Lago with the intention of staying only 4 nights. We ended up staying 6 nights! We stayed in apartment #8, a one-bedroom apartment. It had a gorgeous view of the lake and mountains (see pictures). It is a very clean apartment with a fireplace, fully-stocked kitchen, washer & dryer (which was great for the extended stay), heated bathroom floors, heated towel rack, and comfortable bed. The lodge is actually located on the side of the mountain so you have to go down steep steps to get to your apartment. The beauty of the scenery makes it worth the extra steps though.

You can access a path into town, going down the hill towards the lake, and walking beside the lake, if you are up to a 20-minute walk into town. On a nice day, it is a good way to get familiar with Queenstown, but you need to be somewhat fit for the walk. I recommend you drive closer in to town to eat meals. If you are new to Queenstown, like we were, we found it easy to drive to the park, and park along the street. That way, you can access restaurants located by the lake in downtown Queenstown and avoid the traffic directly in town. We were traveling the South Island for two weeks so we actually enjoyed cooking our breakfast in the apartment. The grocery store we used was in a nice shopping area located close to the Queenstown airport.

You can pay extra for an internet connection, through a wireless network called SurfSpot. I paid $20 for 120 minutes of internet usage. You can purchase 30 & 60 minutes at another rate. SurfSpot is also available at the Queenstown airport if you have leftover minutes.

Claire and her husband are excellent lodge managers. They went out of their way to assure we had everything we needed. They helped us with arranging tours and giving directions. They even allowed us to check out late since our plane did not leave until 3 in the afternoon. Claire suggested it without me having to ask. That shows how in-tune they are with their guests. The young lady that cleans the apartment each day is also very pleasant and conscientious. Overall, our stay was very nice at this location.

  • Liked — The view, the kitchen, and the washer & dryer
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank baatraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to stay with Villa Del Lago for 2 weeks. It was a brilliant decision, the positive reviews on this site are true.
We were impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the mint condition of the kitchenette and bathroom.
Our room kept us warm throughout winter and the view just right on the doorstep is fabulous, especially when it snowed for 3 days!
Cooking was also easy as the kitchen is fully equipped.
Overall, we felt totally at home and it is one of the most pleasant accommodation we've had on our holidays!

  • Liked — like a home
  • Disliked — steps
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2008

We stayed at the Villa Del Lago apartments in March 2008.

We were very happy with our accommodation. The staff were very courteous and friendly, and our apartment (#16) was lovely and clean. It had everything you really need for a longer stay (e..g bath, laundry).

I would recommend these apartments to family and friends. If I am travelling to Queenstown in the future, I would look to stay here again.

  • Liked — nice and clean, good amenities
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2008

Stayed in this establishment in Nov 07. We had villa No 17 or 18 (I think). They are the closest ones to the lake.
As others have mentioned, the views are just great, the apartments are nice and comfortable. The proximity to the lake means you can hear the waves at all times. We loved the little fireplace in the loungeroom, it was really cosy. The kitchen had everything you would need to prepare a meal and the bathroom was well equipped as well. There was separate washer/dryer room. The bedroom was oh so peaceful and quiet, great for a good night's sleep. You don’t share any walls with any neighbours so it’s really nice and quiet. The bedrooms don’t have a window, but plenty of natural light comes in through the living room if you leave the doors open). By the way, 10 points for installing appliances made by a NZ company! Most, if not all, I noticed were Fisher & Paykel.
All in all, it was lovely, EXCEPT for the sewer pipe that ran just down the stairs from our apartment. Every now and then (more often than not, especially in the evening) you would get a really pungent smell of you know what. Especially disturbing when you're sitting out on the patio eating your meal! I know, not much can be done about this. In all fairness, I think they were trying to grow some flowers down by the pipe to camouflage the smell but it wasn't really doing anything. So there, if you do book the villas right down by the lake, prepare for some lovely views, quiet and isolation, but not so lovely smells. In my opinion, maybe they should charge a bit less for these villas.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Ohrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2007

We stayed at the stunning Villa Del Lago for 7 nights in August 2007. The hosts, Sue and Gemma, were very accommodating with our ever-changing plans before we arrived and made us feel very welcome when we actually got there. As we were a group of 4 adults and 2 toddlers, we booked a 3-bedroom 2-bathroom villa. The 3-level villa was very spacious and well-appointed, with floor-to-ceiling glass sliding doors making the most of the spectacular view of the lake and mountains. Luxury details such as fully equipped kitchen and laundry, gas fireplace, underfloor heating in the bathrooms, 2 balconies and a courtyard made our stay very special. Sue and Gemma were also very helpful with suggesting and booking tourist attractions and restaurants. Sue even went "beyond the call of duty" and lent us her own electric beaters so we could make bread for our wheat-allergic son!! An unusual level of service!! Very highly recommended if you're looking for more than just an impersonal hotel room for your Queenstown stay!!

  • Liked — The spectacular views
  • Disliked — No real problems!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneyTraveller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2007

VILLA DEL LAGO APARTMENTS, QUEENSTOWN

249 Frankton Rd., Queenstown
[---]
Host on the property: Sue Singleton
My rating: 9/10 Excellent

We booked a 1-bedroom apartment at Villa del Lago for 3 nights for $240 NZ per night, high season. I wasn't sure what to expect since Villa del Lago apartments aren't in a lot of guidebooks. We were delighted when we arrived to find our apartment was attractive and roomy!

These are Qualmark 5-star apartments. They are serviced daily and are comfortable, classy, and well-appointed, with the bonus of your own kitchen and laundry in your apartment. Small washer and small dryer. We had a cute gas-operated fireplace in the sitting room which added a romantic touch in the evenings.

It is a 20-minute brisk walk from Villa del Lago, along the lakefront path, into Queenstown town centre. You can also drive into town and deal with parking if you want. The area felt very safe, but don't plan on walking back in the dark, as the lakefront path isn't lit, unless you have a flashlight.

Sue and Gemma were very helpful and friendly by e-mail. We booked the lakefront apartment, as it is furthest from the road and had more privacy. Between our apartment and the lake there was only a footpath and some trees. (The trees partially block the lake view but they also increase your sense of privacy.) Our apartment was very quiet, clean, and serviced daily.

If you want the lakefront apartment you do have to descend some steps with your luggage from the parking area. But I was pleased with our choice. If you don't like stairs you can book an apartment closer to the street.

I can highly recommend these attractive apartments. Villa del Lago is very well-managed. There is an office if you wish to book any tours or if you need restaurant reservations. Our apartment was nice and quiet. Queenstown in general is an expensive area, and Villa del Lago is a great find, as you get a comfortable apartment for less than the price that you would pay for a single room at some of the hotels and b&bs in Queenstown! We would happily stay in the same apartment again. Thank you, Sue and Gemma, for taking great care of us.

  • Liked — Convenience of doing laundry right in our own apartment; Attractive and comfortable rooms.
  • Disliked — It's a 20-minute brisk walk into Queenstown town centre.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Melissa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Lago

Property: Villa Del Lago
Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing