We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view--good value”
Review of Villa del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa del Lago
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed here in Oct and enjoyed it a great deal. Clean, well laid out rooms, with a separate den/kitchen. amazing views to the lake. really nice to have a washer dryer as well. About a 20 min walk into town along the lake trail.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2010

Where do I begin !!
This was by far the best holiday we have ever had and it was all thanks to Lynn and Keith from the moment we arrived they could not of done enough for us they are the two most friendly people I have ever met whilst travelling and I urge anyone considering queenstown to stay here .
Lynn booked everything for us and knew so much about the area it was such a great help .
I myself am a very fussy person so for my honeymoon I wanted something special well this was the place .
By the time we left I was so sad to say goodbye to these guys (first place Ive ever stayed where you hug the owners on departure )
We are already planning our next trip over and then is no question as to where we are staying see you soon lynn and keith and thankyou so much
Amy and Stephen Paku

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrspux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment at Villa Del Lago and it was absolutely amazing! The decor and styling is modern and tasteful, it was super super clean (and we are fussy!) The view is to die for, it's lovely and quiet, safe, the staff are so friendly and helpful it is an absolute joy to stay here. There is a beautiful walking track on the lakefront (just outside your apartment door!) for a lovely stroll into town or a morning jog if you're so inclined. Sometimes you read reviews on TA and think it can't possibly be that good - it is and better, you definitely won't be disappointed, we weren't and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoppingguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We loved our stay at Villa Del Lago. We were lucky to have one of the lower apartments right on the lake front. The views were amazing and it was very peaceful. The apartments were well appointed, clean and stylish. The greeting was warm and friendly and very hospitable. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sclark50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

From the moment we arrived at this motel the staff (Karen) and another staff member treated us like royalty and nothing was too much trouble. We needed to do some sightseeing and she has booked these, arranged transport and payment before we could blink. Make us feel like we were important customers to her. The owners were away and they were told on our return just how great their staff were, we also found the owners just as helpful. We stayed in 16 other motels which were great also but we felt compelled to buy staff a present here for their trouble which was saying something!!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
Thank Rae1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We stayed right on the front in a bottom apartment.... It was fantastic.. The apartment was clean and fresh with a lovely smell....The view of "The Remarkables was sensational and the heating was great.....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmydperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We (2 adults and 1 toddler) spent a week in a 1 bedroom apartment at the Villa del Lago in August 2010. We never wanted to leave! This place rates as one of the best we have ever stayed at.
In summary:
Apartment - very stylish with modern decor and fittings, clean and comfortable. Very well kitted out and perfect for a week's self-catering. We loved the gas fire after a hard day on the slopes! The layout of the 1 bedroom apartment is excellent, with floor-to-ceiling windows along the entire width of the living room but with a private, cosy bedroom and bathroom to the rear. The view of the Remarkables from the apartment is absolutely incredible - especially from the comfort of a lovely king bed! Bliss! Parking is not a problem and seems safe and secure. If required, you can also make use of an outside locker to store ski equipment etc.
Service - Lynn and Keith are wonderful hosts. Very genuine people for whom nothing was too much trouble. We were so impressed that Lynn took the time to personally show us to (and around) our apartment. She also recommended an excellent local babysitting service to us, which we used in order to enjoy a child-free night on the town!
Location - perhaps not the closest accommodation to the town centre, but only a 15 min walk via the main road or 30 mins approx alongside the beautiful lake (and no issues with parking or late night noise!). This was perfect for us. The apartments are only a short driving distance away from Queenstown and the shopping precinct in Frankton.

The standard of accommodation we enjoyed at the Villa del Lago would definitely be hard to beat. We would stay here again in a heartbeat if we returned to Queenstown.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jejujac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
1.2 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 59 in Queenstown
917 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Lago

Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £161 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing