We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Motel we stayed in”
Review of Villa del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa del Lago
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We spent 2 nights in this motel.It was the best motel we stayed in in New Zealand.It is located about 15 minutes walk along the lakeside into Queenstown and consists of a series of apartments at different levels going down to the lake. Our apartment was very comfortable with everything you could want .All the equipment -crockery,kitchen utensils etc were of a very high standard. There was a laundry room in the apartment with a washing machine and separate dryer and of course washing powder tablets. The standard of cleanliness was exceptional and the owners could not have been more friendly. While in Queenstown we booked a cruise on the lake ,through the motel, organised by Real Journeys.We had used them for our Milford Sound tour and found the same excellent organisation evident.The trip across the lake was to a farm Walter Peak and there were exhibitions of sheep shearing and sheep dog skills. Highly recommended particularly if like us you are past the stage of bungy jumping etc. Queenstown surprised us.It was one of the nicest places we visited in New Zealand and was worth more that the 2 days we spent there. Would highly recommend Vista del Lago

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2011

The Villa Del Lago is a little out of town, on a hill, over looking the lake. Keith and Lyn make you feel very welcome - home from home. We were in villa 8 which over looked villas in front of us but being on a hill we had excellent views. Loved the patio windows allowing a full view of the lake - wonderful! The villa is nicely presented with oven, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer...all utensils you would need and of good quality. (not sure about the blue kitchen cupboards - wouldn't be my choice) The lounge had a gas fireplace which even in summer was appreciated!
We did not have a car so to stock up on provisions was not easy as the nearest super
market was in town. However, we walked along the really pretty walk beside the lake, got to the supermarket, stocked up and returned by taxi. (About 12 NZ dollar taxi ride) The walk along the lake is flat and takes about 30 minutes. We enjoyed the walk into town. Be aware that the walk from the villa to the lake shore is steep.
We had a really relaxing stay. Father Christmas even left a present on our doorstep on Christmas morning - lovely touch!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Spent 3 nights here and enjoyed the location and hosts very much. Keith and Lyn are so helpful with everything...even gave all tenants a gift for Christmas. Service is good & timely. We loved having DVDs available to watch. Our unit just received a new bed so we slept great. Also very quiet. Washer & Dryer and all appliances worked fine. We had one cabinet door that had a broken hinge, but an easy fix. The decor is modern, but the units overall are starting to show some age which is expected. Kitchen has everything most people need. Fireplace is nice. View depending on what unit you're in varies, ours was good, but building tops were partially in the way. Beautiful easy walk to town, some stairs around the apartment complex have a peculiar order...cat pee maybe? Internet access costs extra, but is worth it. Overall, we were very happy and this place is priced very competitively for what you get.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Our unit was excellent, clean, superbly decorated, more than enough room , especially for families, and expansive views to die for. Managers were very friendly. Lovely to be able to walk beside the lake at front of the units. I would love to visit again one day, I couldn't get enough of the view.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deidregillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We stayed at Villa del Lago for a week in October 2010. The location is great – it’s right on the banks of Lake Wakatipu and the views are glorious. Much of Queenstown is very hilly and the area around the Villa del Lago is no exception. The site is very steep and although this means you get a fantastic view of the lake from every room, it also means lots and lots of stairs! Our unit was on the bottom level, and just to get to our designated car parking space was three flights up. The Reception level was another two flights from there. It’s also quite a hike from the town centre, probably a 30-40 minute casual walk, and just 5-10 minutes in the car. However, the steepness and distance from town is completely incidental when looking at all the great things about Villa del Lago.
The Villa del Lago comprises around 20 fully self-contained apartments. We stayed in a 1 bedroom which was lovely and quite spacious for a 1 bedroom. The lounge/dining/kitchen area was one large room, and all the furnishings, décor etc were modern and up to date. The bedroom was a good size and the beds beautifully comfortable. They had electric blankets on the bed and a flat screen TV in the room. The lounge room also featured a large flat screen TV and a ‘pseudo’ log fire which was actually gas, but it looked great and was lovely and warm. The bathroom was roomy with modern fittings, and also had under-floor heating and heated towel rails. The whole apartment was impeccably clean and serviced daily. There are no ‘grounds’ to speak of.
The Villa del Lago does not have a restaurant, but as the apartments are self-contained you can easily cook yourself and if you’d rather not, there is a proliferation of restaurants in Queenstown to choose from. Wireless internet connection is available but at a price. We stayed at several places throughout NZ and this was the only one who charged for internet access
The hosts, Lynn and Keith, were fantastic. We had much more to do with Lynn and I couldn’t praise her highly enough. She was always incredibly cheerful and pleasant, and would happily go out of here way to ensure her quests were happy and had everything they needed. She was on hand to help us with booking tours and other sightseeing options, gave advice on the best roads to take to get to a particular location, gave us much local information without prompting which I found refreshing as with others you need to specifically request it, and even then it is sometimes given begrudgingly.
Overall I loved the Villa del Lago and would happily stay there again should I ever return to Queenstown. I would heartily recommend it to anyone seeking serviced apartments in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blantyreSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We have just returned from a 2 night, a break in between & then a 5 night stay.
All I can say is, do yourself a favour, stop looking at other places to stay and book in here. You will not regret it, Keith & Lyn are the perfect hosts and the location is just beautiful. The walk into town is very pleasant and the unit is extremely well appointed and very comfortable. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bell10_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We had a great stay at the Villa. Lots of beautiful rooms with 3 balconies overlooking the lake. Plenty of room and beautiful views. There's a trail so you could walk into town or it's a short drive. The driveway is very steep, so tough to get into sometimes.
We had a nice stay with lots of exploring so it was very nice to return to our apartment and our fireplace in the evenings. The Villa can also book tours for you which was very handy.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMEWALK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
1.2 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 59 in Queenstown
917 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Lago

Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £161 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing