We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Accomodation”
Review of Shotover Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shotover Lodge
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good Accomodation”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Located just 2 minutes from Shotover Jet, and 10 minutes drive to Queenstown. Very comfortable beds and roomy, had a balcony with great views despite the dead bird n the balcony. Disappointed with their Wi-Fi policy, where you had to pay $3 per hour to use the internet.
Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew h, General Manager at Shotover Lodge, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hi, thanks for your review. Yes we do have a great location and what ever time of year great views of different seasons. Very sorry about the bird on your deck, this is due to spring, unfortunately some of the babies that are nesting around the property get knocked out of their nest. We are trying to keep on top of this. Fortunately only lasts a week or two. With regard to the wifi we have two options. 1st. Not everyone wants wifi and as we are trying to keep the $98 per night rate for all, we have a user pays system for this room rate. 2. The other option is a deluxe room which is $140 per night and includes among other things free wifi. Much the same as a hotel would charge if you had free wifi. Regards, Matt and the crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    101
    49
    12
    7
See reviews for
49
128
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Had an awful stay. Kids were yelling and screaming around the premises until 1:30am in the morning. The room had no table and chairs, so there was nowhere to sit. We had to bring in chairs and a table from outside.
The room is only properly serviced every 3rd day. and we continually had to ask for the tea, coffee and hot chocolate to be replenished, as well as the little coffee milk pottles.

No free WIFI and what you pay for does not reach the rroms so no signal anyway.

The price, even discounted, was more than our friends paid in the middle of Queenstown, and the Shotover Lodge is 10 minutes out of town. They had better service and rooms. :(

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 113Unhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew h, General Manager at Shotover Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Unhappy113, I guess we cant please everyone. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay, thankfully most of our other guests do. To keep the nightly rate as low as possible for you we service the rooms every second day. While we don't have chairs and table in the room, we do have the sofa which is generally comfortable enough for most. If you do require chairs and tables, then as you discovered they can be brought in from outside quite easily enough. I hope your Tripadvisor name doesn't suggest you are generally unhappy. Come and live in Queenstown life is great! Regards, Matt and the happy Shotover Lodge crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

You'll need a car as it's out of Queenstown, but it's very cheap, and very good for the price. It's very quiet, spacious, clean, comfortable, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and we had a good time there. Thoroughly recommend it. Nice view as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docbebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew h, General Manager at Shotover Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi Docbebar, Thanks for your great feed back, yes we love to pass on a great deal to our guests. We are a great location for those with a car and want to set up a base with us while they explore the beutiful area. regards, Matt and the Shotover lodge crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Worth the money. It was on the way to Queenstown. The shotover river was near by which offered many activities including rafting.
The rooms were clean and had a small kichenette and a patio if its groundfloor. You could park your car near the patio.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neelovna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a rental car and were on a budget which made this hotel great for us. We also stayed for 10 days, which meant our room was serviced. It is about a 10 minute drive into Queenstowns city centre (while some think this is far, The Hilton is also about a 15 minute drive on the other side of town). Its in a nice quiet area, and the kitchen came into great use. Sometimes we had almost no-one in the kitchen which was great, but one night there was a large group which made it very difficult, they probably should have their own kitchen.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 1st floor, which was good for bringing skis in and getting to and from the car. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie0172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Seems a good option for families but as a couple leaves much to be desired. Noisy and cramped. We were on ground floor and the noise from everyone above us was terrible all hours of the night into the early hours of morning- not lodges fault but still not cool. The basic room service that Shotover provides was missed all together for us and we were there three nights, which was supposed to include atleast one basic service. I guess for the money its okay and location is good but I wont be going back.

Room Tip: Dont get stuck on bottom level all the shower pipes from rooms above are very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew h, General Manager at Shotover Lodge, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Hi Sarah, thanks for your feedback, sorry to see we didn't meet your expectations. I apologies for your room being missed in the mid service and have spoken with the houskeepers to ensure they are following lists correctly, this definitely should not happen. We do pride ourselves on cleanliness and the great value for money that we provide. Usually the comments are complete opposite so I am surprised that you didn't fully enjoy your stay. Hope you had a great time in Queenstown, summer is just around the corner! Pretty exciting for all. Regards Matt and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here for only a few days, can not fault the place. Quiet at nite, clean, has everything you need as far as cooking meals. The staff are fantastic all were full of advice on what to see and where to go. Only 10 minutes by car out of town, so for families a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravellers075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew h, General Manager at Shotover Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hi Happy travelers! Great to see that we kept the happy in your travels! Great feed back, really appreciated by our team. I hope the rest of your holiday was just as good. Now you need to come and visit us in summer. See you soon! Thanks, Matt and the Shotover team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.9 mi away
Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park
3.9 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 92 in Queenstown
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 92 in Queenstown
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak
Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak
#47 of 58 in Queenstown
240 reviews
3.8 mi away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#20 of 92 in Queenstown
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shotover Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shotover Lodge

Property: Shotover Lodge
Address: 157 Arthurs Point Road | RD 1 Arthurs Point, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shotover Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In beautiful mountain scenery just a few metres from the access to Coronet Ski Field, a short drive from five golf courses and within walking distance of hot pools, Shotover Lodge is a perfect all-year-round base for exploring the adventure playground that is the Queenstown area. Sporting types searching for adrenaline and adventure will find opportunities for skiing, snow boarding, mountain biking, kayaking, bungee jumping and much more. This quiet retreat is also ideally situated for a spot of sightseeing in historic Arrowtown. An old gold rush town, Arrowtown now caters for visitors from around the globe. Just minutes from Shotover is Queenstown, nestled on the shore of Lake Wakatipu and offering a great choice of shops to browse in and restaurants to try. New, stylishly furnished, clean, friendly and affordable, Shotover Lodge offers a choice of comfortable rooms to cater for the needs of independent travellers, families, groups, wedding parties and corporate get-togethers. Facilities also include a communal kitchen and lounge room, a guest laundry, an outdoor fireplace and barbecue, fully equipped guest kitchen and ample parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Shotover Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shotover Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing