We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food haven near Nugget point!”

Cavells Cafe and Bar
Ranked #5 of 6 Bakeries in Queenstown
Price range: US$2 - US$17
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Food haven near Nugget point!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were staying at the Distinction boutique hotel & Cavells cafe was the only proper cafe nearby. It's a longish walk specially in the cold but was totally worth it for us! We had almost all our meals there (Breakfast was great! Lunch was good! Pretty good menu). Do have low expectations on the service bit (e.g. no one greeted us whenever we visited, the waitresses are a bit untrained :P) but the scenery & food will well make up for it! :) We noticed that this could be a great place for you to stop by for a meal after your shover jet boat ride or river rafting as the end point is at the cafe. We loved our meals Cavells and will def visit again if we come to NZ again! :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter-Saabrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice Open Fire Great Location”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Very inviting. Great food and service overlooking the river and snow covered mountains could say all day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavells_NZ, Manager at Cavells Cafe and Bar, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hello Griffin Family,

Many thanks for your visit, Cavells is in a pretty magical location. This time of year with the snow on the mountains it is just fantastic. Not at all difficult to get out of bed in the morning to come to work. Come back during the summer and experience the blue skys and fresh flowers and the sound of the V8's on the river. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohope, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sit beside the warm fire ...”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

... and enjoy a glass or two of fabulous mulled wine. I spent a quiet snowy afternoon tucked up beside the fire, with a mulled wine and a few mags. The food was superb, homemade generous cafe fare, and great friendly staff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavells_NZ, Manager at Cavells Cafe and Bar, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Hi Cindy B,

Many thanks for your visit, there really is nothing better than sitting next to a warm fire with a glass of mulled wine. Especially when it is snowing outside. Except maybe our new Hot Chocolate De Lux made with real chocolate and cream it is just velvety, smooth and delicious. next time you come and see us you will have to try one.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, not a fan of the coffee”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

We had a grab one voucher for two all day breakfasts. The wait staff were lovely, and the chef was very accommodating when I wanted to swap out one of the components of the order. The food was just what we wanted, and the size was just right. I have never had the coffee brand that the cafe uses before, but either the coffee beans are not to my liking, or it was burnt during the making of the coffee. This is a pretty small thing, and it did not ultimately over shadow our experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank the_kiwiroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavells_NZ, Manager at Cavells Cafe and Bar, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Hi Pooks76,

Many thanks for your feed back, we do try and accommodate our guests requests as much as we can. We try and provide the type of cuisine and surroundings that most people would like but we realize that not everyone has the same tastes, so we are more than happy to make the changes where we can to suits the needs of the diners.

Thanks for your comments on the coffee, Zee is a brand that features quite strongly here in the south. I take on board your comments about the bitterness of the coffee, we also felt it need some tweaking. We have just installed a new grinder with a bigger, stronger motor. This will grind the coffee faster and the motor won't get as hot reducing the risk of burning the coffee before it gets to the machine. All of the staff were also brought in today and retrained by the owner of our coffee supply company. I am confident the next time you come and enjoy our breakfast it will be enjoyed alongside a tasty, well espressed coffee.

Thanks for your visit, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“friendly, social staff, good good”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We bought a grabone voucher, and turned up an hour before our booking, however the staff were lovely and accommodating, and nothing was a problem for them. We really enjoyed our all day breakfast and coffees. Would recommend this place happily.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ToowoombaBilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavells_NZ, Manager at Cavells Cafe and Bar, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Hi ToowoombaBilby, (wow that's a mouthfull)

Many thanks for your visit, we had a great response to the Grab one Promotion. Many travelers are coming down and enjoying the chefs soon to be famous "all day breakfast". We have just introduced some new dishes that I'm sure will become popular also. Pop in next time you are in town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cavells Cafe and Bar also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Cavells Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing