We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super friendly service and cosy rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haka Lodge Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Super friendly service and cosy rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here for one night and were extremely impressed by the outstanding service. Our room was cosy, clean and comfortable, and a massive step up from a Backpackers we had previously been staying at in Queenstown that was priced the same. We were overall very happy with our experience and would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gem9294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    113
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
129
137
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

One block from all the action making Queenstown easily accessible in all it's glory. Easy walk to Gondola. Very welcoming & spotlessly clean. Main kitchen area has good facilities & additional mini kitchen in 24 hr lounge area a bonus. Was worried by twin room situated over front door & next to lounge but honestly didn't hear any disturbances during night - everyone seemed very respectful of each other. Would always prefer ensuite & had minor wait for bathroom which was irritating but no more. Further facilities are available on the ground floor if desperate! Haka have great customer care standards that wash throughout the business, you'll always find someone to help you out or just share a laugh or two :-) good choice for budget accommodation in such a great place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zymotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My stay at Haka Lodge was not only comfortable, clean, super easy to get to & well organised; but the environment made by the incredible staff was much more than I expected from a hostel in Queenstown. I ended up being great friends with all the staff as it felt like a great big share house - everyone was restpectful of the independent traveller (people who values a good nights rest), but also encouraged the party lifestyle in Queenstown/made sure you had a good time & felt included! I hope to stay at Haka Lodge as soon as I have the funds to do so again! Thank you to everyone working there in June/July for making my trip 'sweet as,' Carolyn xxx

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyngleixner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We used this as a base in Queesntown for early season skiing. It has a good location close to town centre and lake side. It was very clean and the staff where excellent very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms where cleaned every day as was the kitchen and the whole place was well looked after. The kitchen seemed to be the hub of the hostel and this was where most people gathered. At 10.30 the kitchen was closed and all noise stopped so noise late at night was not a problem whatever room you are in . We where above the kitchen and we had no problems with noise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twixbirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Haka Lodge is awesome. They focus on being a hostel where you get a goodnight's sleep rather than being a party hostel. The hostel is clean, friendly and the private abstain rooms are spacious and comfortable. Dorm rooms are a little small but otherwise great. The only thing that would make it better is if it provided breakfast. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I came to Queenstown with no place to live so I booked myself into Haka Lodge Queenstown for 6 nights. I couldn't of had a better first week in Queenstown. George at the front desk is a super friendly, helpful and knowledgeable guy. The other staff is great too. I ended up extending my stay for a 7th night. I felt very at home at Haka and recruited my other traveling friends in town to come stay there as well. I met some great people that I will continue to be friends during my time in Queenstown. Clean spot, multiple private bathrooms on site and warm rooms. Great kitchen. Composting. Great place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ableile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paisley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I recently stayed in the Haka lodge Queenstown with my three friends, we were having a night out in Queenstown and booked the 4 bed apartment which was on the 1st floor of the hostel.
On arrival the gentleman at reception was very pleasant, we arrived slightly later in the evening but he was there, cheerful, informative and happy to show us to our room.
The room was ideal to cater for our needs, spacious living area with kitchen offset, large fridge for our beer and food and a balcony overlooking Queenstown hill and beyond.
The apartment was warm, heated by a heat pump and also had a little heater in the living room.
The bathroom was large and had a great shower.
Id recommend the Haka lodge to anyone looking for a chilled, quiet relaxing weekend as the hostel is just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the town to give you that respite after no doubt experiencing one of Queenies many many activities.
Top notch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigal61080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haka Lodge Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haka Lodge Queenstown

Property: Haka Lodge Queenstown
Address: 6 Henry Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Haka Lodge Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haka Lodge is a top-notch backpacker's hostel in central Queenstown, New Zealand. We have accomodation to suit all budget-minded travellers, from luxury bunks to private rooms. We believe that all travellers deserve a little oasis of comfort, calm and quality whilst in Queenstown, and we'd love you to come and stay! Featuring multiple kitchens, bathrooms and lounges that are newly renovated, you will feel like you are staying in backpacker luxury. We are just a street away from the main intersection in Queenstown (Shotover/Camp Street). This means we are close to the action, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful at night! Our warm and friendly staff are ready to check you in today, and help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown NZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Haka Lodge Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing