We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'Must Do' adventure in Queenstown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Expedition X - Packrafting New Zealand - Queenstown

Expedition X - Packrafting New Zealand - Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Changing the way you see the map.... Whether you want to challenge your boundaries or are solely looking for a relaxing and unique way to see areas of our great wilderness that lay off the beaten track, we can cater for you. Our fun packed packrafting trips are created as an overall outdoors experience. Hike, climb, swim, play, raft or simply float and take in the breathtaking scenery, armed with your own paddle, a packraft and walking boots the opportunities are endless. With these lightweight boats you'll be able to access some of the most remote and undisturbed rivers in the Southern Hemisphere, these hidden gems would usually be unreachable with conventional boats and kayaks alone.
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A 'Must Do' adventure in Queenstown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My first pack-rafting experience! Highly recommended trip if you want a day trip that gives you the opportunity to see a beautiful part Central Otago, learn new skills with the pack rafts, is great value, and importantly, is heaps of fun. Our guides, Nick and Sean, were experienced and professional. Lunch was great. Treat yourself to a cheeky wine at Wild Earth at the end of the trip too! I would love to give the multi-day trips a go when they get going.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank HannaQueenstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good company, great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had an awesome day with the guys at expedition X. We spent the morning 'eddie hopping' learning new skills before having a great lunch provided by the team. In the afternoon we hiked through the old mining village before jumping in the river and relaxing downstream.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Packing good time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Absolutely awesome day. Relaxing but adventurous and the views were awesome! The guides are great fun and the two biggest surprises were the amazing lunch and jet boat to finish! Excellent trip Im definitely looking online to get my own pack raft!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Sweet as!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Fantastic day and a great introduction into the world of pack rafting, We were taught everything we need to know about safely navigating the water. Throughout the whole day the guides keep a fun and friendly watchful eye and create this awesome journey down the kawarau. I am still amazed at the equipment at how light and easy it is to use. Well worth the money for a full day activity including an awesome lunch! Thank you guys!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five (minus one) go Adventuring!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

What a fantastic day! Sean and Arno were fab guides and we really enjoyed ourselves all day. The packrafts are really light and easy to inflate, Our morning training was invaluable and Arno taught Jen how to paddle the raft without running into the bankside trees while Dan and Sean played on the quicker water. A lovely lunch and then a short hike up-river with our rafts in the afternoon. We paddled about 12km downstream and it was lovely to look at the scenery and birdlife on the river. It was also good fun trying the 'surf wave'. Sean and Arno made it all relaxed, fun and easy, they were great to chat to... not so good at sail making ;-) The ride back up river was certainly faster!
Thanks for a great day on the river.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danandjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Expedition X - Packrafting New Zealand - Queenstown also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Expedition X - Packrafting New Zealand - Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing