We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turner Heights Townhouses
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best view in town”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed here with my mother, and two teenage sons. This had all the comforts of home including lounge room dining area kitchen and washer dryer bath and shower. Bedrooms are good size and the curtains keep out the light. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and organised a wine tour and other activities for my Mum while the boys and I enjoyed the snow. The kitchen had everything you need and the washer and dryer is really useful after a day on the slopes. A ski drying area as you come in the door from the cover car park is super useful for skis boots and coats. It is a bit of a climb up the hill and it has internal stairs so it would not suite sombody with moblity issues but Mums in her late 60's and had no dramas. Loved staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozkerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    49
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
38
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Rooms have a great view, are spacious and very clean. Also, it is very quiet. Don't be turned off by the hill as it just means you can eat more since you are burning all those calories! Dave, the manager gave us a map and lots of suggestions on seeing the local sights. Also, they have a commercial size washer and dryer which their guests can use and that was vey helpful. Thank you Dave for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms above have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckg1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipley, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and what a great place. The view of Queenstown was awesome from #7. It is quite a hike up and down the hill to town, but totally worth it. Managers and staff were very pleasant and made our stay very comfortable. I would recommend this place for anyone who wants an apartment feel with all the away from home conveniences.
Linda and Alan
Florida

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WolfBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerang, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I have stayed at Turner Heights Apartments twice in four visits to Queenstown and it is my favourite accommodation. Sure it is located at the top of a steep hill, but I found this year my fitness level must have improved as it didn't bother me as much as the first time. You need to be on the hill to get the truly spectacular views and watch the Lady of the Lake as she chugs up and down Lake Wakatipu.

The rooms are clean, but you do need to be mindful that they are holiday units owned by other people and to take care to empty all rubbish and return all items to where you found them before leaving. No great drama, common courtesy really. If you don't want to clean up after yourself then it is best to stay in a hotel.

There are full cooking facilities and laundry facilities in most units. I believe 5A and 6A are the single bedroom units and these don't have a laundry. We used the staff laundry which was available late afternoon until 8pm with no problems for the week that we stayed.

The staff were friendly and helpful, though the wifi was a bit expensive but there are free hotspots around Queenstown.

The security to the unit doors could be a little better, it is just a single lock. Maybe I'm used to life on the Gold Coast with dead bolts and triple locks on all my doors.

I will definitely stay again on my next visit.

Room Tip: I believe the Units located along Hallenstein Street have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bavaria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The appartements have a two floor setup with downstairs bathroom and 2 bedrooms. Upstairs big big comfy living area and fully equipped kitchen.
We had a nice BBQ with the BBQ that is standard at every balcony.
Close walk down to city center and nice views over lake and Queenstown.
Very nice hosts that tried everything to allow us prolongate our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turnerheights, Manager at Turner Heights Townhouses, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We continually strive to provide good value Queenstown apartment accommodation to travellers from all over the world.
Regards,
David Arkell
Manager
Turner Heights Townhouses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Love, love, love Turner Heights! Feels like a home away from home. We stayed at apt 10. The bedrooms were on the basement and the living+dining at the ground floor. You have to watch young children all the time with the stairs. It has beautiful mountain & lake view, but sadly a bit blocked by the property in front of us. The unit is clean, kitchen with provided utensils, homey interior though not modern nor old. OK for us. The location is 5min walk to Shotover st. (city centre). Walking home a bit steep but nothing you can't handle. Very suitable for a family holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aastari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2012

So i read all the reviews about these apartments before I booked and saw all about the hill but never expected it to be as big as it was, ( guess it was good for all the delicious food we ate there) the location was amazing, I don't think you could get much better, to be able to walk into town every day was great. I work in apartments but still found these rooms very nice and spacious, Staff were extremely nice and helpful with everything. I will definalty choose this place again if i get a chance to go back. Only thing is it is self contained but I guess that's good if you like your space :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezza g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turnerheights, Guest Relations Manager at Turner Heights Townhouses, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It seems everyone has a varying opinion on the steepness of Turner St. up to Turner Heights Townhouses. In all fairness it is one short block up, you pass by a motel at the bottom of the street then 3 houses and you are here, takes all of a couple of minutes up. Being up a hill is why we have such great views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,073 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Caples Court
Caples Court
#5 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turner Heights Townhouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turner Heights Townhouses

Property: Turner Heights Townhouses
Address: 14 Turner Street, PO Box 435,, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turner Heights Townhouses 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turner Heights Townhouses is located a short 2 block walk into the vibrant heart of Queenstown. The view from most of our apartments is spectacular. We offer good quality affordable accommodation and are extremely popular with families, groups and independent travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turner Heights Townhouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turner Heights Townhouses Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing