We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Court Suites & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very close to the city center (5–10min) and the lake Wakatipu. We stayed in "two bedroom louge" and it is very clean and a great room for family or couples! Hotel offers laudry facilities for just 2 dolars to use the washing machine and 3 dolars for the dryer. Althogh, you have only 500 mb/ day of internet, and wifi password works only in one computer per time. (You cannot use the same password in a computer and a phone for example).

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank João G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    180
    54
    13
    7
See reviews for
128
210
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Chose my longest stay in NZ to be in Queenstown at the Garden Court.

The rooms are truly luxurious, spacious and equipped with literally everything you need. The washer drier is essential for those heading out into the great outdoors. Made a cooked breakfast most days using the great cooking facilities.

My room didn't have a view over the lake but watching the sun set over the mountains was definitely something to remember.

A supermarket (Alpine) is located 5 minutes walk away down in the town - this used to be a rip-off but they have cut their shop prices substantially in response to competition arriving nearby in Queenstown/Frankton over the last five years.

If your arriving by air, Connectabus runs a direct bus straight from the airport every twenty minutes, which is just as quick as a taxi, but a fraction the price. The bus stop is literally outside the hotel reception.

WiFi was excellent value at $1 per night, this covers their overheads of it and is a very fair way of charging without ripping people off like other greedy hotels have done for years. Reception staff couldn't be more polite and helpful, especially a young Irish lady :o)

Queenstown for me is a place I will always head back to. Many of the mountains surrounding the town have some of the most picturesque scenery in the world, and although challenging, many of the walks are all do-able in a day. A true killer of a walk was from Arthurs Point, along the moonlight track-round the back-up Ben Lomond (1800m)-then down into Queenstown (9 hours).

I got an unbeatable price on these truly brilliant apartments, and would recommend them to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake or with balconies are more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobWedekind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of Feb 2014. We were extremely impressed with the 1-bedroom balcony room. We had a dedicated parking space, a really functional and welcoming living area and a great bedroom. I definitely felt that this was a home away from home. The only things that stopped this from being a 5-star review for me are small - the lighting in the bathroom was poor (not great for doing make-up) and there was no body wash (personal preference).

There is a strict no-noise policy after a certain time at night which worked for us as it meant no loud neighbours keeping us awake. It was a quick 10-min walk into town.

Real value for money. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The balcony lake-view rooms are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We had just one night stay but would happily come back. Fanastic quality rooms and really friendly staff.
We even got the hilarious entertainment of an asian visitor reversing out of the car park :-).

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chch_kraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Marys, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Garden Court Suites in November 2013. The location was good and allowed us to walk downtown. We were in a one bedroom suite which was very spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped. Only problem was the washer and dryer. It took way way too long to do a load of laundry and ended up having to hang clothes on drying rack (nice it was there) to finish drying clothes as dryer didn't work well. Loved the balcony to eat outside. Recommend this spot.

Room Tip: Nice to have balcony looking at mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPfromKintore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We recently stayed at Garden Court on the last leg of a 2 week trip around the South Island. The apartment was reasonably priced for the high season and the location was good, however it's a very steep walk home. The two bedroom apartment was very cramped for 5, with hardly enough room to open the sofa bed. The stove top didn't work and the $1 wifi for 24hrs was great value but we could rarely connect or stay connected. EXTREMELY frustrating! Frankton Rd was also very busy and noisy. I'd ask for an apartment away for the road.

Room Tip: If travelling in high season, ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here on our holiday around NZ, 2 bedroom apartment with spa, great facilities and heaps of room. Good location to shops and restaurants being a 5 min walk. $1 for 24 hours wifi was an added bonus. Highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Suites & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Suites & Apartments

Property: Garden Court Suites & Apartments
Address: 41 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Garden Court Suites & Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Queenstown Apartments. Widely regarded as Queenstown's finest luxury accommodation. Choose from our one, two or three bedroom luxury apartments at Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court Suites & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Suites And Apartments
Garden Court Suites & Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing