We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of rules”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Court Suites & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
261 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Lots of rules”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were taken aback by the house rules. They featured no spitting and warned that if the motel deemed the alcohol in the room was excessive it would be confiscated and only returned on your departure. There we no wine glasses in the room and only two of everything including cutlery and plates. There was a dishwasher which rather undermined the claim to be eco friendly as you could never load it appropriately. We used the room maintenance form to report a faulty bedside lamp, initially to no effect. When we followed up the manager implied that we had not provided any such form. It was subsequently located in the pocket of the repair man! The organisation of the car parking was chaotic -some rooms had nominated spaces others did not. That said the motel was well located with easy walking to downtown, albeit a steep climb back. The room was spacious with a good view. Would avoid until the management was revised.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCManager, Manager at Garden Court Suites & Apartments, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hello and thank you for your review.
As you have addressed a few issues, I will respond to each point individually:

*House Rules - I apologise if you thought our house rules for noise and parties was excessive. The reason we have this policy in place is for the benefit of all our guests. We do not want the disruptive behaviour of the few to spoil things for the many.
We are a small property and most of our guests are families, couples and corporate guests who expect to have a quiet, calm environment in which to stay. Queenstown can be a bit of a party town, especially at peak times such as Christmas and New Years and this is our way of ensuring that everyone knows the rules and to be respectful of one another, so that we all have a nice time.

*Not enough amenities in the room - The room you booked was a Studio Suite which has an occupancy of 2 persons, which is why there is 2 of everything in the room. If you had needed extra things we would have been more than happy to supply you with more if asked.

*The Dishwasher - The dishwasher in your room is a 1/2 size dish drawer, which is an appropriate size for the room based on the occupancy, not a full size dishwasher which I would agree would be excessive in this room type.
We are caught in the middle of an age old debate of guests expecting modern facilities like dish drawers and by a need to respect our environment.
We would hope our guests would use good management in regards to the use of the dish drawer... we supply enough powder daily for 1 load only, which would, when you think about it be your dishes from the day and any pots that you use.
There is of course the option to not use the dish drawer at all and to simply wash the dishes by hand in the sink if any guests found the use of the dish drawer excessive or offensive to their eco leanings. But we leave that choice in the hands of the individual guest.
*The light bulb not being replaced - yes, this was a mistake on the part of our Maintenance Man. He picked up the card to replace for you and he simply forgot. When you came to the desk asking for this to be sorted, we did react immediately and the bulb was replaced. I apologise that at any time you thought that we were doubting you.
Our maintenance man also received censure and a reminder on the need to always act promptly to maintenance requests.
*Parking - I totally agree with you that the parking situation needs to be addressed. While most are numbered the Studio Suites are not. Taking your comments and others on board this will be addressed in May (our quiet season), where we will look at car park sizes and numbering across all room types.
*Location - We are a 5 minute walk from the town centre.
We are also located in an alpine area, which does mean hills.
In our case we have one hill on the way back from town.
So while this is inconvenient, it is not something I can change.
Some guests embrace the hill as a way to work off their dinner, but I can see that this is not for all.
* Avoid till Management revised - unfortunately I will not be leaving Garden Court in the foreseeable future.
Queenstown is my home and I love Garden Court and the people who work here.
My staff are amazing people who every day go out of their way to make people happy and to exceed expectations.
Sometimes we don't get it right and for that I am sorry.
But we learn from our errors and every time we get a review... good or bad, we learn from it.

So thank you for all your comments and I can only hope that your stay at Garden Court did not detract from your holiday in beautiful Queenstown.

Kind Regards
Sheena Salter
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    180
    54
    13
    7
See reviews for
129
210
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Booked a standard studio via Hotels.com (pictures of studio suites, no mention of the noisy road, got refund about 35% of the price from hotels.com). Altogether price paid was exceptionally low, nevertheless would never come again even for the same price. Hotel's own website had all correct information about the rooms, unfortunately I have checked it only four days before, requested an upgrade via email and didn't get ANY response at all! On arrival we got what I believe the worst room in the whole property, even for standard studio. In addition there was a construction going on just in front of our windows (no notice of that even on check in from reception staff!!!).

1. Chek in fast.
2. Staff effective, but unfortunately not friendly from the start.
3. Management: apparently manager didn't find us important enough to meet us in person due to the above mentioned issues although it was requested.
4. Room: number 342 by the road noisy, spacious, furniture a little shabby, modern bathroom. Fast WiFi (no extra charge). Little space for two persons' clothes. Lack of privacy (e.g. some kind of gardener hanging out in front of our window on our arrival for 15 minutes or so).
No cleaning, just "daily maintenance", which in this case means making the bed and changing towels. We stayed for six nights, no vacuuming, cleaning of bathroom average.

Conclusion:
room all right for the price. Inflexible management and staff, unfriendly (comparing to other places we have been to in NZ).

Recommendations: avoid, I believe there are better places in Queenstown.

Room Tip: Anything else but standard suite would be a better choice. Book directly unless you get a significan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilulkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment that was clean and well maintained. The Irish lady on the desk was incredibly helpful and polite and made us feel welcome immediately. We hired 3 bikes for the day which only cost us 15 NZD each, a third of the price of some of the other options in Queenstown. Town was only a 5min walk through the park making it an easy after drinks stumble to get home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0P5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We've just returned from two nights at Garden Court Suites & Apartments and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We had a 2 bedroom courtyard apartment which was clean, tidy, well appointed and comfortable. The free WiFi was a bonus. The apartment had a view to the mountains which was lovely. We were able to walk 5 minutes to the cafes and bars in town and it was an easy stroll back to Garden Court. Our daughter stayed on for an extra night in a studio unit which was excellent. Garden Court phoned her at 10.45am to advise that her room was ready and she could check in early. First class service! We would highly recommend Garden Court and will definitely stay there again when we are next in Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Situted a short walk from the centre of Queenstown this is a clean and comfortable motel. Our room was not the biggest we had stayed in but offered everything we needed including a small balcony with views to the mountains.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAHEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We visited Queenstown in February 2014 and spent two nights at the Garden Court Suites and Apartments.

We stayed in a one bedroom with balcony unit and couldn't fault it. The place was very clean and tidy and had all the amenities you would need if you were going to self-cater. They have the option for continental breakfast each day but there is no option for lunch, dinner or room service.

The location is on Frankton Road and is only a five minute walk into the centre of Queenstown. There is a bus stop directly outside which will take you to the township, or in the opposite direction to Frankton and the airport.

In February 2014 the prices for getting to the hotel from the airport were as follows:

Bus $8
Shuttle Service $20
Taxi $33

WiFi is now free and we could have up to four devices. We had no problems with WiFi service.

The rooms have complimentary tea, coffee, milk, shampoo, conditioner and make-up remover pads. It might pay to bring your own moisturiser if you like using it.

We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZGal_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed three nights in the perfect hotel. All amenities are there. Nothing needed at all, laundry facilities, all kitchen equipment. The apartment was pristine, fantastic view. Beds so comfortable, I will return all staff so helpful and a very special thank you to Sheena for making my reunion with my dear friend so pleasant you certainly go the extra mile. Thanks until I return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Suites & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Suites & Apartments

Property: Garden Court Suites & Apartments
Address: 41 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Garden Court Suites & Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Queenstown Apartments. Widely regarded as Queenstown's finest luxury accommodation. Choose from our one, two or three bedroom luxury apartments at Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court Suites & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Suites And Apartments
Garden Court Suites & Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing