We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Azur - a bit of heaven in Queenstown”
Review of Azur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Azur
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Ever wanted the luxury of a 5 star room with the personal service of a B&B? That's exactly what you'll get at the Azur. Every part of this stay exceeded our expectations. The room is incredible. The views are spectacular. We stayed in villa 4 which was nice and private, but I imagine that all of them are very private. We just didn't have anyone on our right side, just the gorgeous views. The room is so clean, comfortable, with every amenity you can and can't imagine! Floor heaters, de-misters on the bathroom mirrors, soft ground lighting you can switch on from your bed in case you need to get up in the middle of the night for a bathroom run but don't want to blind yourself turning all the lights on. Drinks and snacks in the room and minibar are all complementary. A previous reviewer was right -- they don't nickel and dime you here.
When we first arrived, we were sat in a living room of what was a house before. It was just beautiful, so modern. We were introduced to Maria who makes the most incredible cookies and banana nut bread. In fact, as we were given the tour and we passed the kitchen, I smelled the bread and they quickly offered to have it warmed and sent up to our room after we had our dinner! And they did just that, yum!
Breakfast was awesome -- we sat in their very modern dining room where breakfast was laid out. Then Maria came and asked if you'd like anything cooked -- anything you want! You just name it. I asked for scrambled eggs and chocolate chip pancakes. The best part is that they don't have an 'end time' for breakfast -- they let you come and go as you please and they know exactly when all of their guests have eaten or not (there are only a few villas here!). The fact that they have so few rooms really allows them to be extra extra attentive to all their guests.
Yes, this place is expensive but this is one of the few, if any, places that I would say is 110% worth it. You won't find a place like this anywhere -- I feel truly lucky to have been able to stay here. You will NOT be disapointed. If you are coming all the way to Queenstown for your vacation, make the most of what it has to offer and stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ChefUzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Azur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2009

Azur is most certainly a very beautiful place to stay. The views are stunning and the actual accomodation is very pleasant. Everyone is friendly and really helpful.

However I have stayed in NZ many times and given the Azur is roughly twice or more the costs of anywhere else I have stayed, it was definitely not worth the extra money

The mini bar is free but was not filled up each day, mistakes were made when things were booked. Breakfast was pretty average and the toilet didn't work properly for the whole time we were there

Having the guys drop you in town and pick you up whenever you like is great but the reality is you probably would not stay that far out of town unless they did or you hired your own car as its not a hike you would make each time

Nothing about the place is actually bad at all. However the experience is not in line with the cost. When you pay NZ$1400 a night you expect something that blows you away.

Azur is lovely, Sharon and Tanya were great but there are plenty of places where the view and the accomodation is equally amazing and you can step into any cafe and be greeted by equally lovely people and save yourself about NZ$ 400 a night to spend on your hols

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank evelSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

Only had a few days in town, but felt we had to stay here to due to all the glowing reviews. I will have to admit that I had pretty high expectations (given the user reviews and the price ), the resort did not disappoint, the service was excellent and unpretentious. Gavin, Tanya, Sharon were all great and bent over backwards to make the stay memorable. The views from the rooms were great, and the view from the bathroom was one of the best we have ever seen. Evening drinks/appetizers were all very good, and we wish we would have had more time to enjoy some of the made to order crepes that Maria served for breakfast. The hotel also did not nickel and dime you for every expense (which is nice given the ~ $1400nz / night rate they charge, granted it was the week of Xmas) free mini bar, breakfast, appetizers, internet, and transportation whenever you wanted it. Everyone there was very knowledgeable about the area and gave great recommendations for activities and restaurants, an added treat was the little dog Elvis who was the cutest jack russell we have ever seen. Great spot in a great town.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Chris_Stook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

From the moment of being greeted at the airport by Gavin, we knew we had chosen the perfect place to stay. Gavin was friendly and warm, stopping to show us beautiful sights on the way to the Azur. The Azur was amazing, the staff were beyond amazing. Tania, Gavin, Maria, Sharon, Max, and Sophie saw to our every need, from Tania rearranging excursions (several times), to Sophie coming to town to pick up our shopping treasures and return them to our villa while we stayed in town to enjoy dinner, to Maria cooking any breakfast we ordered, to Sharon chauffering us around town at any given moment, to Max running to town to pick up Monteith's and crisps because we simply felt like staying in for the day, every detail of our stay was amazing. The villa itself was beautiful, heated floors a delight, and the view is breathtaking. Pricey? Maybe, but you get what you pay for, and at the Azur, you get it all. Best place to stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Fregeolle-Burk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

What an absolutely amazing place to stay! As a couple with very high expectations, we were completely blown away by every aspect of Azur.

The service is impeccable, the scenery is divine and the bed is what dreams are made of. Breakfast at midday, cakes for afternoon tea and delightful canapes just make the views even more magical.

Our stay for seven nights was the highlight of our honeymoon, surpassing phase one which was spent in a villa in Thailand. Azur is truly original and totally without pretension.

Max is an amazing host who will do anything to accommodate his guests. He didn't even blink at our request to pick up burgers and deliver them straight to our villa - he even surprised us with hokey-pokey ice cream for dessert!

Tanya is quite possibly the most delightful host that we have ever encountered and will bend over backwards to make you feel relaxed, indulged and a million miles from reality.

Their advice on restaurants, wine and massages was spot on and ensured that every day was pure indulgence.

We can't wait to stay at Azur for our first anniversary. It was such an amazing hotel that it now holds a special place in our luxury-travel hearts.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JeremyRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Staying at Azur is a luxurious experience. The villas are modern and architectural. Service is impeccable -- both warm and accommodating. Breakfast, afternoon tea and evening canapes were all delightful. The setting is unbelievable, overlooking the lake from atop. A truly memorable experience!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JoycePeoria_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

Having stayed at upscale hotels around the world, I have to say that Azur Lodge is amongst the best! Great location and very nice bungalows with one of the best views in the world. Gavin and team made every part of stay very enjoyable. From picking us up at the airport, to recommending all of our excursion-they were fantastic. If you are looking for upscale privacy don't even think about staying anywhere else in Queenstown!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Roman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
4.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azur

Address: 23 MacKinnon Tce | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £691 - £984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Azur 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It would be hard to imagine a perfect view than the one from Azur. Set to best capture the views of both Lake Wakatipu & the surrounding mountains, Azur is a beautiful property set amongst 3.5 Acres of native bush. Featuring the main lodge and nine identical 79sqm freestanding villas. Azur captures the best of both worlds; amazing views and a tranquil setting yet only 5 minutes from downtown Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Queenstown
Azur Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing