We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and interesting retreat in ideal location”
Review of Tussock Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tussock Cottage
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a charming, well appointed, very clean cottage, in excellent condition. We fell in love with the unusual adobe style architecture, with rich furnishings and interesting works of art. Total privacy, very attentive host, we didn't want for anything! The bike trails are amazing-- and two great bikes were provided. A highlight of our month-long adventure in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RecentlyRetired2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Thank you Jaap and Lee for another unforgettable stay at Tussock Cottage. This little haven is so special and we love staying there. Quiet, comfortable and charming this little piece of paradise is made extra special by the lovely hosts! They are quite simply experts in providing caring and helpful assistance. This place is a gem!! Thank you Jaap for helping us with the car!! We would have still been there had it not been for you! All the best for 2014.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

December 2013 - January 2014
This is our third long stay in Tussock Cottage and we always receive the warmest welcome from Lee and Jaap who are the most friendly, helpful and generous people we have ever met.
Everything has already been said about the idyllic location of the cottage, ideal for a quiet and resourceful holiday and yet very near Queenstown for the hustle and bustle of city life. But we would like to emphasize the fact that you are not treated as “normal” guests but as members of the family whenever you come and stay in Tussock Cottage.
You are fully independent and the cottage is very well equipped but should you need help or advice you can rely on Lee and Jaap.
We highly recommend this gorgeous place “far from the madding crowd” but near all the most successful water and air activities of the area, too.
Jean and Brigitte from Reunion Island (France)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

An absolute gem only 20 min. from Queenstown but worlds away from the busy energy of the city. Two minute walk to Lake Hayes and a beautiful track around the lake. The cottage was cozy, comfortable, and beautifully decorated, and the hosts were delightful and helpful. We would certainly stay there again if we were in the Queenstown area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philandmarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

What a wonderful relaxing cosy cottage to come down to after a hard days skiing. Underfloor heating throughout large drying room and the most comfortable bed. The linen smells devine and beautiful . Our hosts are truly hospitable. Will definately come back actually we didnt want to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We have stayed at Tussock Cottage on numerous occasions and we love it. Cosy in winter (with underfloor heating) and cool in a hot Central Otago summer, this is the perfect year round holiday home. The straw bale construction and the added touches of home grown honey and eggs (in season) along with home baked cookies, cool water and milk in the fridge make our stay special. The location is perfect for us, with beautiful Lake Hayes just a stones throw away, we recommend the lake walkway which takes about 2 hours. Lee and Japp couldn't be better hosts, there when you need them but also giving guests plenty of privacy. The cottage has a kitchenette but is also a short drive from the fabulous Amisfield Winery and Restaurant. What we particularly appreciate though is being able to bring our whippet who as an 'inside' dog is also welcomed by Lee, Japp and their friendly black lab.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennya805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We booked two nights into the Tussock Cottage and could have happily stayed longer. The cottage setting is excellent, tucked away from traffic and noise with peaceful country outlook. The cottage is mud brick and therefore was very cosy in spite of the cool weather. It is nicely furnished with plenty of space for two.

The bed was comfortable with good linens. Reading lights are a plus, and not always provided outside of hotels. The bathroom is spacious and well set up with a large walk in shower and plenty of toiletries. The wardrobe has room for all your bags.

The lounge/dining/kitchen is also good, plenty of room to spread yourself out. We enjoyed the eggs that were provided, nice and fresh. They were only provided the first night of our stay, which did confuse us as we thought they were included every day. Also, the website says home baking but that is not bread or anything to have with breakfast so we popped into Arrowtown to buy bread for the morning.

It is nice and peaceful on the property, but the hosts are worth chatting to. Jaap was very friendly and looked after us very well. We will be back!

Room Tip: There are eggs provided, and milk, coffee and tea. Don't forget to bring bread, butter and anyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluegoldhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
0.9 mi away
Speargrass Rise Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,031 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,201 reviews
8.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,477 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tussock Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tussock Cottage

Address: 48 Rutherford Road | Lake Hayes RD1, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: £1 - £1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tussock Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tussock Cottage is located at beautiful Lake Hayes, close to both Arrowtown and Queenstown. The setting is private and tranquil and offers stunning lake and mountain views. The cottage is self contained with a queen size bedroom and a separate large living area with dining and cooking facilities. The lake is great for fishing, kayaking and swimming . Golf courses, skifields, wineries,restaurants , great shopping, it's all on your doorstep when staying at Tussock Cottage! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing