We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Otago Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious escape”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I'm still dreaming about our romantic getaway at The Spire in Queenstown. The room was so gorgeous I didn't feel like leaving! From soaking in a bubble bath to reading magazines by the in room fire. Great location with loads of shopping and restaurant options. However with the fabulous in house restaurant No 5 with delicious innovative cuisine we didn't need to venture any where. Big thanks to the friendly staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHeath70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review we appreciate the sentiment.
We're trying to create something unique in Queenstown, luxury boutique product with genuinely cool design and attentive service.
The kitchen team are pushing boundries with a variety of dishes styled from local Otago and Southland produce, with enough classics and favourites to keep you coming back again for more.
Look forward to welcoming you back to The Spire Hotel soon.

Best,
James Cavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
108
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I couldn't imagine a more perfect place to stay in Queenstown than this beautiful hotel. The room was spacious and gorgeous and had the most comfortable bed, and an amazing designer chair and ottoman in front of the fireplace for reading and relaxing. The staff were competent and friendly and the restaurant served amazing room service breakfasts (the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were the best I ever tasted) and delicious hot coffees. The location is central to everything but is in a quiet lane, perfect for a great night's sleep after a fun day of activities. Our room had a lovely outlook over the Anglican church and the Queenstown hills. Most highly recommended, will come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review Leslie, I am glad your anniversary week trip to Queenstown was memorable,.
I appreciate your notes on the service and dining, its a big focus of ours along with 'over and above' service. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Spire Hotel soon.
Best wishes,
James Cavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We are so happy we chose spire in Queenstown. It's right in the middle of town so we didn't need a car. All the staff could not have been more helpful. The decor and quality of fittings and our bed was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gjberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for your note, I appreciate the positive feedback.
Service is a big focus of ours and delivering a luxury value for money experience. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
James Cavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If this is not the best hotel in Queenstown I would like to know what is, it really is up there with some of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.

Spacious room with fabulous décor that was contemporary but comfortable (more of a suite than a room) very comfortable bed, great service, friendly staff it really has it all.

After a week at a convention eating complicated food the room service menu didn't appeal but the staff were happy to organise one of Queenstown's famous Fergburger burgers the burger combined with a half bottle of pinot from the extensive wine list satisfied me.

The only niggle (and a very small one at that) was the breakfast bacon which was American style "crispy" and inedible, the staff were happy to cook it again at no charge but as I was pressed for time I declined.

I will be back and highly recommend!

Room Tip: I had a room away from the street as I am not a fan of noise and it was great, I doubt though that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review Anthony I appreciate the positive feedback.
Its a shame we only had you with us for one night, at the end of a full week conferencing you deserved a longer break!
Next time you visit Queenstown I'd love to have you both with us for longer.
Best wishes,
James Cavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Boutique Hotel, tick; incredible location, tick; beautiful design, tick; faultless service with a smile, tick; great bed, tick; concierge assistance, tick... go for it!

We went for a day's drive to stunning Wanaka which was definitely worth while. You must dine at the absolutely INCREDIBLE Botswana Butchery that is literally a 2 minute walk from the hotel as well at the nearby Amisfield Winery...followed by a walk around beautiful Arrowtown. The wonderful Spire staff will make these bookings for you. Best part, is that you then have The Spire to "go home" to at the end of your day. Perfect!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Church Spire are a little quieter than those overlooking the laneway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for your thoughts Georgie, glad you enjoyed your visit to Queenstown and The Spire, it was a pleasure to look after you and Stu.
Looking forward to having you back at The Spire, we've been working on our signature cocktail Le Rouge Coco which I know you'll love!
Regards,
James Cavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spire Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spire Hotel Queenstown

Property: The Spire Hotel Queenstown
Address: 3-5 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Spire Hotel Queenstown 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Queenstown. With just ten carefully calibrated suites, a sleek bar and seriously fine dining room, The Spire is thoroughly modern yet suffused with warmth. Spacious and coolly comfortable, each suite features a fireplace, large balcony and an interactive multimedia system. Iconic pieces of contemporary furniture add pure design punctuation. The bar shimmers and is everything a good bar should be - intimate with a generous dash of buzz. The dining room offers modern New Zealand cuisine in an intimate and stylish setting. Under the guidance of the innovative Will Eaglesfield, let The Spire take you on a culinary journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Spire Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spire Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing