We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Our stay at The Spire was nothing short of amazing. Throughout our stay we were provided attentive, professional and personalised service from Alex and her team with Alex's welcoming words "Nothing is a problem" being the philosophy of our whole stay. Always friendly, they looked after all the little details and gave some great locals advice to make our Queenstown experience absolutely fantastic. Our room was spacious, well designed and with great interiors. My favorite spot was sitting in the Eames chair in front of the fireplace, book in one hand (from the extensive hotel library) and a good Otago Pinot Noir in the other. Enjoying a delicious breakfast on the rooms balcony, catching the morning sun came a close second.
The location of the hotel is very central, easy walking to all central Queenstown restaurants/bars/shops etc however we did not need to walk too far anyway - downstairs just off the lobby - No 5. Church Lane - the hotel's bar and restaurant provided great food, great service and the perfect spot to relax after a day exploring Queenstown. The bar had a great buzz every evening and a great cocktail list too! I can definitely recommend staying here and definitely enjoy the restaurant and bar No. 5 Church Lane while you are there!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you Sam, your feedback is much appreciated it was a pleasure to have you with us last week.
With the fantastic weather we are having this spring it seems our balconies are THE place to enjoy the sunshine from, with a pinot or cocktail what could be better!

All the team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards,
James Cavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
109
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Location, service, atmosphere. Everything was just perfect for our short stay in Queenstown. Loved the open plan suite, and the fireplace. Room service was delicious, could not have faulted it! Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking the church it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank DiazSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback, much appreciated.
The suites overlooking the church and mountains are my favourite as well, so peaceful and a great outlook. The Deluxe suites are also popular with views over the rooftops to the lake an surrounding peaks, lovely at this time of year with snow caps.
Thanks for your comments on the food as well, we have made a lot of changes over the past couple of months, pleased to see it all come together and get the sort of comments we have been receiving lately. The modern New Zealand focus on food has been popular, with fresh and local ingredients to the fore.

See you again next time you pop over from Sydney.

Best,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We recently stayed 5 nights at the Spire Hotel. It is conveniently positioned to everything Q’ Town has to offer. Alex Fortanier – the Guest Services Manager and her professional friendly team Gemma, Lakh and Zoe make every effort to ensure guests are looked after and feel very welcome at all times. Breakfast was excellent. Our room was very comfortable and the Hotel is of a high standard. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AABTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your review, I appreciate your comments on the guest services team - I know they really do make the difference between one hotel and another. I have made all the staff aware of your posting and pats on the back all round. We wont be resting on our laurels though - this is the standard we expect to deliver to every guest every day.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,
James Cavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

First of all, I am not the type to write reviews, but I am making an exception for this property.

I have stayed at so many properties around the world during my extensive travels and I must say that it is refreshing to finally find a property such as this one.

Located in the heart of Queenstown, it is a very smart property , the beds are extremely comfortable , the entertainment system is good , the gas fire place adds a great ambience.

But what sets this property apart , is the attitude of its staff . Nothing is beyond them. Point of example is our return from Cardrona one day absolutely tired from a hard days skiing.. They offered to go out and get us menus from the local Thai and they were able to get us takeaway thai while we relaxed. Every hotel I have ever been at would never have even contemplated this option.

If you want to be comfortable and have an exceptional time in Queenstown, dont risk staying anywhere else.

Whenever I return, there si only one place I'll be staying :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review Gary, I appreciate the positive feedback on the service.
The team here are passionate about the guest experience and delivering on this level is key.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Spire, and I know we'll deliver this experience for you and all our guests in the future as well.

Kind regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We only stayed one night at The Spire (unfortunately). They were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We have a 3 year old and he was given the luxury treatment as well with his own comfortable bed in our spacious room. We ate room service from the hotel restaurant, No. 5 Church Lane, which was delicious.
I definitely recommend a stay here - even if it just for the night. A big bath to soak in, one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in, a warm room, fabulously helpful staff and all right in the centre of town.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, Manager at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks for your feedback Bridget, great to hear from locals who are enjoying the experience as much as visitors from further afield.
Families are well catered for at The Spire with interconnecting suites giving a spacious villa effect, and we haven't forgotten about the little ones when deigning our new menus either!

Hope to see you again next time you come down to Queenstown.
Cheers
James Cavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

It is a wonderful little sophisticated hotel that will take care of all your needs, including diet. They are like family in that they make you feel like home . The staff is very personal and remember how you like your coffee and what you drink . They could not do enough for us .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to post your thoughts on your recent stay at The Spire, it was a pleasure to have you and your daughter with us.
We find the personal touch is what guests are looking for and we love delivering our unique brand of Kiwi hospitality.
All the very best we look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand and The Spire Hotel again soon.

Regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights the the Spire, food was amazing, staff went out of their way to assist our needs. Nothing was a problem, felt like royalty. Highly recommend staying here, it was an experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: We had a church lane room where were able to see beautiful Lake Whakatipu, just stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisWright2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at The Spire Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Cheers Chris, glad you enjoyed your time with us!
Great time of year to be in Queenstown with snow all around, and tucked up by the fireplace in your Spire Suite.
See you again next visit.

James Cavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,116 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Eichardt's Private Hotel
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spire Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spire Hotel Queenstown

Property: The Spire Hotel Queenstown
Address: 3-5 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Spire Hotel Queenstown 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Queenstown. With just ten carefully calibrated suites, a sleek bar and seriously fine dining room, The Spire is thoroughly modern yet suffused with warmth. Spacious and coolly comfortable, each suite features a fireplace, large balcony and an interactive multimedia system. Iconic pieces of contemporary furniture add pure design punctuation. The bar shimmers and is everything a good bar should be - intimate with a generous dash of buzz. The dining room offers modern New Zealand cuisine in an intimate and stylish setting. Under the guidance of the innovative Will Eaglesfield, let The Spire take you on a culinary journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Spire Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spire Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing